Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

关於蒙特梭利

很多人一聼到“蒙特梭利”,就会认爲是指一种幼儿园或托儿所。

其实,蒙特梭利是一种全人教育理念以及方法,影响深远。

全球有上百万人證明,使用蒙特梭利的理念和做法,帮助孩童们更有自信,更加独立,拥有自己的意识。同时,也帮助家长减轻压力,不至於负担过重,导致过度疲劳,被生活压倒。

现在有很多人称其为“蒙特梭利教学”,创造人为玛丽亚•蒙特梭利,她观察儿童并且通过自己的直觉所发展出的方法。1907年,她在罗马创立了她的第一所学校。

玛丽亚蒙特梭利以及延续传承她工作的蒙特梭利专家,认为,“教育”对於6嵗以下的儿童(尤其是3嵗以下的幼儿)行不通。试图这麽做的家长可能会使孩子的发育和行爲失调。

因此,蒙特梭利的方法帮助家长和老师们 1)通过有智慧并且敏感的观察孩子以确定他们真正的发展需求,2)创造一个能够让孩童乐意自然学习的完备环境;以及3)给予孩子们足够的自由﹐培养他们的独立性,让他们脱颖而出。

小小历史:玛利亚•蒙特梭利的生活与工作(1870年至1952年)

玛利亚•蒙特梭利出生於1870年8月31日。以当时的历史背景来説,她的母亲算是一位受过良好教育的女性,而她的父亲为政府官员。玛丽亚从小就非常好奇。当她快上中学时,她决定要修读当时并非欢迎女性入学的工程科。她顺利的学习工科,可是很快的她改变了主意,立志想成为一名医生。

当时的意大利,没有任何女性能够进入医学院,更不用说要从医学院毕业了。之後虽进入医学院就读,却遭受种种困难,譬如:在那个年代,因爲男女在同一间房里解剖屍体被视爲不妥当,所以玛丽亚得聘请保管员,晚上帮她开门﹐独自一人在教室解剖屍体。然而最後1896年,玛丽亚不但完成罗马大学医学院学业,并且以荣誉学生毕业。因爲玛利亚的父亲并不赞成她学医,他们之间的关係多年来并不 良好。当她以优等成绩毕业,父亲也见證了她的种种成就时,两人最终达成和解,终於是个圆满的故事。

蒙特梭利对神经系统及它如何影响精神病等议题非常感兴趣。毕业後﹐她在罗马的健全心智诊疗所执业,那是一个治疗精神疾病的诊所。当她探访当地精神病院寻找病人时,她接触到了一群精神缺陷的孩童。医院里的护士告诉玛丽亚说,这群孩童每当用完餐後便会趴在地上找面包屑,噁心极了。但是蒙特梭利并不这麽认爲。她看到这群孩子没有任何玩具或道具。正因爲他们想要动手做东西,所以才会在地上找面包屑和其他小物件。她决定把这些孩子们都带回诊所,医治他们。

1898 年,玛利亚与诊所的联席主任蒙特沙诺医生生下了个儿子,叫做马利欧。她并没有和蒙特沙诺结婚(当时可是醜闻呢!),在母亲的要求下,把非婚生的孩子送到住在乡下的亲戚家养大。同年,因爲她发表的公共演讲给当局留下深刻的印象,政府设立了“Instituto Ortofrenico﹐”一所由蒙特梭利来负责指导的教师学校。在演讲裏,她提到教师的角色是协助与指引学生唤醒沉睡在他们心里的潜能,而不是专注於纠正他们所犯的错误。她也讲説,只要选择适当的时间﹐提供的活动与孩子的兴趣一致﹐就算让孩子进行脑力劳动﹐他们也不会感到累。

蒙特梭利继续医治与教导健全心智诊疗所的精神缺陷孩童们。过了一阵子,他们参加进入小学的国考,出乎意料地及格了。虽然媒体对她的成就讚不绝口,但是对於玛丽亚自己来説,当大家都在把精神缺陷孩童们能够考试及格的事小题大做时,她一而再,再而叁地质问,“为什麽那些在普通学校读书,又健康,又幸福的孩子们会与我不幸的学生们在智能考试上不相上下呢?”(蒙特梭利的一生和她的工作,Standing,第30页)

蒙特梭利内心从此有个想法,想教导一般孩童,终於在1907年如愿以偿。 政府在圣洛伦佐区给了她一房子。这区域里有许多较贫苦的家庭﹐父母整天在外工作﹐而孩子没人看管。在1907年1月6日,儿童之家(Casa dei Bambini) 正式开幕﹐而这群孩子们有了上学的地方。Casa dei Bambini非常成功,受到媒体的广泛报导。因爲孩子们的成就前所未有,世界各地的人们 纷纷来到Casa探访,看看这到底是怎麽一回事。短短2年之间,她在这所学校里创立的系统已传遍了全世界。

蒙特梭利在1909年开办了她的第一届教师培训课程,参加者包括一些对她的教育方法最热诚的学生,如Adele Costa Gnocchi和Anna Maccheroni等。两位年轻女子深深受到蒙特梭利打动,拜她为师後,对推广蒙特梭利工作不遗馀力,贡献良多。

蒙特梭利的第一届国际培训课程在1913年举行。此时,马利欧已搬来跟母亲同住,也变成了她的忠实支持者。在1915到1917年的期间,她周遊了美国2次,在哥伦比亚大学给了演讲,也参加了世界博览会。博览会上展示了一栋用玻璃墙建造的蒙特梭利课室。

当法西斯主义崛起时,蒙特梭利还居住在罗马。墨索里尼问她,“我想使用你的方式来教导我的理念。”她回答,“不行。”之後,墨索里尼就把意大利所有的蒙特梭利学校关闭。蒙特梭利离开意大利,移居到西班牙。1936年,因爲内战﹐她离开西班牙,搬到了荷兰。在那,皮尔逊家族在给了她一个住宅。今日,这住宅便是 Association Montessori Internationale /AMI(蒙特梭利国际协会)的总部。

1939年,她被通神论者邀请到印度去演讲。抵达後,因爲她和马利欧都持意大利护照,因世界大战关係,印度与意大利分属两不同阵营,两人被视爲国家的敌人,受到限制不能离开印度。因此,在1940年到1945年的期间,她留在印度﹐然而在这段时间她训练了从印度和斯里兰卡来的数千名学生。

1945年,二次世界大战结束後,她回到了荷兰。1946年,她又再次拜访印度。1948年,又返回荷兰。之後﹐她花了许多年的时间帮助兵连祸结的欧洲国家重新设立学校。在1952年的5月6日,正在与马利欧商量去非洲训练教师的蒙特梭利离世,享年82嵗。

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

About Montessori

When most people hear “Montessori”, they think of it as a type of pre-school or kindergarten.

In fact, Montessori is a holistic, comprehensive, wide-reaching philosophy and methodology of childcare and education.

As millions attest, Montessori theories and practices may result in more confident, independent, well-adjusted children, while at the same time leaving their parents feeling less stressed, overwhelmed, and overworked.

What we now call “Montessori” was developed through observation and intuition by Italian educator Maria Montessori, who opened her first school in Rome in 1907.

According to Maria, and the experts she trained who now continue her work, children under 6 (especially young children under 3) cannot be taught or educated—and that trying to do so may lead to developmental and behavioral maladjustments.

The Montessori method, therefore, teaches not children but rather parents and educators to: (A) more intelligently and perceptively observe children and determine their needs; (B) create environments and opportunities where children learn willingly and naturally; and (C) provide children with the freedom and autonomy necessary for excellence to emerge.

A Little History: Maria Montessori’s Life and Work (1870 – 1952)

Maria Montessori was born on Aug 31, 1870. Her mother was a well-educated woman for her time and her father was a government employee. As a young child, she had a very inquisitive mind. When she approached middle school, she decided she wanted to study engineering, a profession that did not welcome women at the time. As a late teenager, she changed her mind and decided she wanted to become a physician.

Entering medical school for a woman was extremely difficult. Staying in was even harder. For example, because it was deemed inappropriate for women and men to be in the same room while dissecting a cadaver, so Maria had to hire a custodian and dissect corpse by herself at night. In 1896, Maria became the first woman to graduate from the University of Rome Medical School. Her father did not approve of her studying medicine and their relationship was strained for many years. When she graduated with honors and her father witnessed her many accomplishments, they reconciled.

Montessori was very interested in the nervous system and its effect on mental illness. She was given employment at the Orthophrenic Clinic, a clinic that dealt with mental illness. When she went to the local mental hospitals to look for patients to bring back to work with at the Orthophrenic Clinic, she came in contact with a group of mentally-deficient children. The nurse in the hospital told Maria that these children were disgusting because they would throw themselves on the floor looking for bread crumbs after meals. But Montessori saw it differently. She saw that these poor children had absolutely nothing to play with; nothing they could use to manipulate and work their hands. That’s why they went looking for bread crumbs and little pieces on the floor so they had SOMETHING to do with their hands. She decided to take these children with her to the clinic and started working with them.

In 1898, she had a son, Mario, with Dr. Montesano, her co-director of the clinic. She did not marry him (scandalous for her time!) and at the request of her mother, sent her son born out of wedlock to be raised by relatives. In the same year, she gave a public speech that impressed the authorities so much that the government created the “Instituto Ortofrenico” – a preparatory school for teachers that Montessori was put in charge of training. In her speech, she said that the role of any teacher is to help guide the student and awaken something that’s sleeping inside of him/her, rather than focus on the mistakes that he/she makes. She also said mental work will not exhaust a child if it’s given at the right time. Our mind is designed to KNOW if the information is presented in a way that aligns with our interest.

Montessori continued working with the mentally-deficient children she brought over from the Orthophrenic Clinic. After she worked with them for some time, they took the state exam and PASSED. The press made a big deal about her accomplishment. But for Maria herself, she questioned over and over, while everyone was making a big deal about these mentally-deficient children passing an exam, “I was searching for the reason which could keep back the healthy and happy children of the ordinary schools on so low a plane that they could be equaled in tests of intelligence by my unfortunate pupils.” (Maria Montessori: Her Life and Work, Standing, p 30)

Montessori’s newly-ignited desire to work with normal children became possible in 1907. She was given an apartment in the San Lorenzo Quarters, which housed a large group of children whose parents were away at work during the day. On Jan 6, 1907, the Casa dei Bambini was opened. Casa dei Bambini was hugely successful and received tremendous press coverage. The results produced by these children were so unprecedented, people from all around the world came to see what this Casa was about. In just two year’s time, the system she created in this school spread around the world.

Montessori gave her first training course in 1909. This course was attended by some of her most enthusiastic students, like Adele Costa Gnocchi and Anna Maccheroni. Both of these young women were very impressed with Montessori, became her disciples and have made tremendous contribution to the Montessori world.

Montessori’s first international training course was given in 1913. At this point, Mario came to live with his mother and became her ardent supporter. From 1915-17, she did two tours of the US. She did a lecture at Columbia University. She also attended the World Fair, where a Montessori classroom constructed inside a glass house was put on display.

Montessori was still living in Rome during the rise of Fascism. Mussolini said to her, “I would like you to use your methodology to teach my philosophy.” She said, “No.” So he closed all the Montessori schools in Italy. Montessori left Italy and moved to Spain. In 1936, she fled Spain due to Civil War and moved to Holland, where the Pierson Family gave her a place to live (now the headquarters of Association Montessori Internationale AMI).

In 1929, her supporters started Association Montessori Internationale. In 1939, she was invited by the theosophists to go to India to give lectures. When she arrived in India, because she and Mario had Italian passports, they were considered enemies of the state and could not leave. So between 1940-1945, she stayed in India where she trained thousands of people in India and Sri Lanka.

In 1945, when WWII ended, she went back to Holland. In 1946, she went back to India. In 1947, she went back to Holland again. For many years thereafter, she was very active in helping school start up again in war-torn Europe. On May 6, 1952, while discussing plans with Mario to train teachers in Africa, she died. Montessori was 82 years old.