Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Nap and sleep

家长问答:地板床和婴儿床的不一样

星期四, 九月 1st, 2011 10:07 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

问:读了你的部落格之后,我也在考虑做个地板床给我的15个月大宝宝。可是,只是把他放在那里,等到他睡觉就可以了吗?因爲跟他的婴儿床很不同,我怕他会睡不着。而且他已经会走路了。现在开始会不会有点太迟了呢?这个年龄把他转睡到地上床垫上有什么益处呢?

答:地板床是没有“太迟”这回事的!您在考虑给他一个地板床是一件很好的事!在地板床睡觉当然会和在婴儿床里睡觉的感觉不一样。一开始,因爲新奇,他会需要您在房里陪伴着他,帮助他适应。您需要把房间设计成有睡觉的地方(放床垫的地方)和玩耍的地方,在玩耍的地方铺一片特定的玩具地毯,把玩具都放在上面。这里应该是他一起身就看得到的地方。另外就是绝对不可以让他的玩具错落在床上或地上。帮他们收拾的时候,请把玩具都放在玩具地毯上。您必须让孩子知道房间里的秩序:“睡觉的地方在这里,起床玩玩具的地方在那里!”

地板床最重要的益处就是给於孩子们的自由和选择的馀地。什么时候起床,什么时候睡觉,都完全由他自己决定。婴儿床和高椅等的问题是,它们使孩子觉得无助, 进进出出都得依赖大人的帮忙。然后,他们唯一能够告诉您他们要出来的方式就是向您大声哭。所以向您大声哭其实是他们因爲感到无助而逐渐学习到的行爲。

把宝宝放在地上床垫的话,他们就不需要再向您大声哭才可以做他们想要做的东西了。现在,决定权在于他们。通过这样的自由,他会学习到自律。如果凡事都是由家 长帮孩子做决定的话,他的纪律都是从别人得到的,不算是真正的自律。如您所知,自律这种东西,孩子长大后会比较难学习,所以我非常鼓励您从小就开始把这个 品质灌输给孩子们。这也不会难到哪里去。只要尽量让他们自己选择要怎么去做他们要做的事情就行了!爲何不从让他们选择起床时间这个小小项目开始呢?

简单方程式:更多自由=更少哭泣+更加自律的孩子!

地板床的益处

星期二, 七月 5th, 2011 3:50 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

我强烈推荐您考虑给宝宝一个地板床!它会有助於发展宝宝的行动能力,也会让您保持理智!早上可以自己自由移动的话,孩子们就不会七早八早就跑来吵 醒您们。我们的M和B早上起来之后,会在地上床垫上自己玩个30到45分钟才出声呢!这是因爲她们要拿玩具的话,随时都可以自己过去拿。而且如果还想在床 上翻滚的话,也随她们的意哦!

该不该轻摇孩子睡觉?

星期四, 六月 9th, 2011 12:37 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

Brooke和Mackenzie已经4.5月大了!两个星期前,我聘请了一位有5年经验的保姆帮我看孩子。她来后的第3天,Brooke在早上小 睡之前吵了一下。保姆马上把她抱起,然后轻轻地摇到Brooke在她的手中睡觉爲止。我当时虽然没对保姆说些什么,不过有在心里记住了一下。毕竟,我们在家里是从来不会轻摇孩子们睡觉的。

又有一次,她告诉我宝宝喜欢在睡觉前喝点奶。那么Brooke一开始在小睡前吵的话,保姆就会喂她喝奶。以我看来,这并没有停止或缩短她吵闹的时间,不过因爲我看得出保姆非常有经验,我又再次保持了沉默。

因爲保姆星期天和星期一休息,那两天,家里就只有我和孩子们。Brooke又在小睡前开始吵闹了,不过我没做什么,就让她继续吵闹到终于开始大哭。给她哭了3分钟后,我进去把她抱起来,拍拍她,直到她冷静下来,再把她放下。不出我所料,她又开始尖叫了。我狠下心头让她继续哭个3分钟后再进去重复刚才的动作, 总共重复了4次她才终于睡觉了。

隔天,她又在小睡时间吵闹的时候,我又重复了同样的动作。这次,她第2次就睡了。下午的时候,她还在玩具垫上自己安安静静地睡觉了呢!

有趣的是,保姆回来的时候,Brooke又来了。其实宝宝是很聪明的。他们清楚了解谁会宠他们,还有谁会比较严格。我告诉保姆,Brooke就由我来应付。知道是妈妈的时候,Brooke不到三两下就自己睡觉了!完全不需要轻摇还是喝奶!

我不得不和保姆坐下来讨论这件事。以她的观点来説,既然她在收我的钱,她不希望我以为她在故意让宝宝大哭大叫。我就告诉她,请别担心!毕竟,这是我的家,所以我不会介意她在孩子上使用我的方法的。如果宝宝在睡觉前吵闹的话,而也不是因爲尿布湿湿,肚子饿了,还是需要打嗝,就让她哭几分钟,再抱她起来安慰她一 下。不过之后就要马上放她下来,不可以轻摇还是给她喝奶。如果她还是继续哭的话,就重复动作直到她停止。两天后,Brooke又回到保姆来之前的老样子 了:一个会自己在床上睡觉的宝宝!

我的目标是抚养独立,开心的孩子们。学习怎么自己入眠的宝宝也同时在学习怎么自立。这也将会使他们感到更加开心!

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Nap and sleep

Parent Q&A: Floor bed vs Crib

Thursday, September 1st, 2011 10:07 pm | By Stephanie Woo

Q: After reading your blog, I’m thinking of putting my 15-month old in a floor bed. Do I just let him stay in there till he falls asleep? It’ll be so different from his crib, will he be able to fall asleep? He’s already walking, is it too late to put him a floor bed? What are the benefits of a floor bed at this age?

A: First of all, it’s great that you are considering putting him in a floor bed. It is not too late! The first couple of nights will be very new and exciting for him, so stay in the room with him and help him get used to it. Being in a floor bed is very different from being in a crib. Design the room in such a way that there is an area for sleeping (where you put the floor bed) and an area for playing. Designate a toy mat or a toy area where you keep all his toys.  It should be an area he can see when he wakes up. Make sure his toys are not strewn all over the floor or all over his bed (after he plays with them, they will get everywhere, all parents know THIS, but when you tidy up, put them all on the toy mat).  Let the child know the order of the room, “Over here is where I sleep. And when I wake up, I get out of bed and come here to play with my toys.”

The most important benefit of a floor bed is the sense of freedom it gives your child. He gets to decide things for himself.  He gets to decide when he gets into and out of bed. The problem with containers like cribs, high chairs, etc, is that the child is helpless and dependent on the adult to get him in and out. The only way he can get out of these contraptions is through CRYING. Therefore, crying becomes a learned behavior – it is due to HELPLESSNESS.

When you put a baby in a floor bed or give him a small child-size table and chair for eating that he can get in and out of by himself, HE DOESN’T HAVE TO CRY TO GET ANYTHING. He can decide for himself and do it by himself. Through this freedom to decide for himself, he develops self-discipline. When everything is decided for him, the discipline comes from the outside. He doesn’t learn self-discipline till he is older and, like we all know, it is much harder to learn it when you’re older, if at all! Self-discipline is a skill that you want to teach your child from a young age, and miraculously, it comes from the freedom they get to choose for themselves….starting from something as basic as when he gets out of bed!

Simple Principle: More Freedom = less crying + a more self-disciplined child.

Benefits of a floor bed

Tuesday, July 5th, 2011 3:50 pm | By Stephanie Woo

If your baby doesn’t sleep in a floor bed, I highly recommend it! It is SUPERB for developing their movement and excellent for your sanity. They’ll be independent and free, which means they won’t disturb you quite so early in the morning! M&B will play in their floor bed for 30-45 minutes in the morning before making a peep because they have easy access to their toys AND they can roll around and entertain themselves!

How To (Not) Rock Your Baby To Sleep

Thursday, June 9th, 2011 12:37 am | By Stephanie Woo

Brooke and Mackenzie are 4 ½ months. Two weeks ago, I hired a new nanny from China who has been nannying for five years in the US. On the third day she started working with us, Brooke fussed a little bit before her morning nap. My nanny immediately picked her up and rocked her to sleep. Brooke fell asleep in her arms. I didn’t say anything but I made a mental note because in my house, we never rock our children to sleep.

Another time, she told me that babies like to drink milk before sleeping, so as soon as Brooke started fussing before her nap, the nanny started feeding her some milk. In my observation, this did not shorten the fussing time. I could tell that the nanny was experienced and I didn’t say anything once again.

Sunday and Monday came (nanny’s days off) and it was just me and the kids. Again, Brooke was fussy before her nap. I just let her fuss and eventually it became full-out crying. I let her cry for 3 minutes and then went in, picked her up, patted her until she became calm and then put her down again. Lo and behold, she started screaming again. So I let her cry for another 3 (LONG, it’s so hard to listen to your baby cry) minutes, went in and did the same thing. I did this 4 times in total, till she finally fell asleep.

The next day, she was fussy AGAIN at nap time. I did the same thing. This time, she fell asleep after 2 times. And then that afternoon, I left her on the play mat and she fell asleep by herself, no fussing at all.

The funny part, when the nanny arrived the next day, Brooke did the same thing again. Babies are smart, they know who’s around – who will spoil them and who will not. I told the nanny to leave her to me. It was clear it was just gonna be mommy! And she quickly fell asleep – no rocking, no milk.

I had to have a conversation with the nanny about the whole thing. From her point of view, she, being my employee, didn’t want me to think she was leaving the baby to cry. I reassured her that in this household, it was okay to employ our strategy: if the baby fusses before sleeping (and it’s clear she is not wet, hungry or needs to be burped and that she is really just tired or fussy), let her cry for a few minutes, pick her up to comfort her, then put her straight down. No rocking, no milk, nothing. Just put her down and repeat if necessary. A couple days later, Brooke was back to her old self: we put her down in her bed and she puts herself to sleep.

I want to raise independent, happy children. When babies can put themselves to sleep, they are learning to be independent, without needing an adult to fall asleep. And this makes for happier babies.