Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Nap and sleep

宝宝的床

星期四, 六月 9th, 2011 12:35 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

我们的家族不相信宝宝一定要睡在婴儿床里!婴儿床的小空间会影响到孩子们的发育和动作。而且旁边的木板会阻挡他们的视觉,让他们看不清楚外面的东 西。能够看得就只有无聊透顶的白色天花板。这也难怪宝宝会整天看着自己的床挂玩具–因爲实在是没有东西可以看了!很多家长认爲,床挂玩具会有助於发展宝宝的视力,不过那也是因爲床上激励他们视力的东西,只有床挂玩具而已!

晚间床

我们的宝宝到4个月大的时候都是睡在婴儿睡篮里或辅床(co-sleeper)类的床上。主要原因是我们的房子当时才400平方尺,没有太多位置给我们布置些什么。睡篮和辅床虽然很适合给小婴儿使用,我看得出它们限制到了宝宝的行动。

搬 到1200平方尺大的新房子后,我们就给了她们一张单人(成人用)床垫。这时,我们发现,宝宝在睡觉的时候,是需要很大的空间来移动的!没有亲眼目睹 Mackenzie在睡觉时转了个360度的话,打死我都不会相信的!如果您不给他们空间移动,他们就不会移动。不过一旦有足够的空间,他们就会运动身 体,促进自己的发展!

自从她们开始在地板床上睡觉后,她们的整体运动能力进步了许多。有个早上,我们发现5.5月大的Brooke既然自己 ‘爬’下了床垫,趴在床垫旁的厚地毯上呢!我想,应该是她先把一只脚放下,接着就被重力拉下去了。无论如何,她不但没有在哭,反而还在努力地爬到别处去 呢!如果她的目的地是糖果店的话,真遗憾,因爲在她还没有成功之前,就已经被我们给扣留了!

日间床

宝宝出生后的前两个月不是在我们的床上就是在客厅的沙发上。她们3个月大,开始越来越活跃的时候,我们就想到要给她们一个铺在地上的‘床’(地垫)。这个‘床’的构造是:厚厚 的毛毯2个,一些毛巾,上面铺着一个普通的床单。大小应该差不多5英尺x3.5英尺吧?她们醒着的时候,我们都会把她们放在地垫上趴。随着她们的年龄增 长,这个地垫也逐渐地扩大,现在已经有8英尺x3.5英尺大了。有这么大的地方,就不会怕她们不够空间自由移动了!

Mackenzie在4个月大的时候就可以从地垫的一边滑倒另外一边了!总共有5英尺长的距离哦!Brooke呢,在5个月大的时候会一直绕着地垫的周边滑圆圈。我不觉得我的孩子会快到哪里去,不过我真的认爲,让孩子们有足够的空间移动的话,他们会发展地比较快。毕竟,这个年龄的宝宝通常不是还卧在母亲的 怀里,就是还在窄窄的婴儿床里过活,很少有机会接触到这么开放的平地。要让他们训练怎么移动的话,这是少不了的。

怎么让宝宝睡一整晚

星期四, 六月 9th, 2011 12:33 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

以下描述的方法最适合8个星期以上的婴儿。

因爲她们是女孩子。因爲她们是双胞胎。因爲你幸运嘛!这些都是我通常会听到别人告诉我,爲什么我的宝宝都可以睡一整晚的理由。不过请让我说一句话哦:我的兄弟姐妹抚养长大的6个侄儿侄女,全都在2个月大的时候就会自己睡一整晚的觉了。他们的指南来自我们非常有经验的母亲Ms. Lam。我亲眼目睹他们使用的方式一而再,再而三地成功,所以知道这不可能只是运气。要让孩子们自己睡一整晚是有可能的。更重要的是,这是我需要的!我非常珍惜也需要我的安眠时间,所以我知道一定要让宝宝能够自己睡一整晚的觉。那我该怎么办呢?先开始做个好学生吧!

头6个星期的时候,我一直照着医院所教的方法做:宝宝一哭就得喂奶。Brooke从第一天起就是个饭桶(奶桶?)。在她3个星期大的时候,她开始密集喂哺–就是宝宝会在4到6小时之间一直需要喝奶的一种习惯。宝宝喝了奶后会睡觉,不过5分钟后又会醒来,吵着要喝奶。所以每天上午5点到12点之间,我知道我得一直为两个孩子们哺乳。算起来,我那时候平均一天会需要花16到20小时为孩子们哺乳呢!连超人也会累吧!我上网查询关于密集喂哺的资料时,大多的文章都说“对婴儿来説这是很正常的。”“到了3个月就会停止。”3个月?!我读到眼泪都快流出来了。这样的生活,还得再继续3个月吗?

后来哥哥和大嫂来拜访,也调整了我的想法,给了我一些很好的劝告来帮助我马上改善宝宝的哺乳习惯。

规则#1:等到宝宝非常饿的时候才哺乳。

大嫂Cynthia告诉我,Brooke把我当成一间随时都可以拿到小吃的便利店,尤其是在傍晚的时候!一个人整天吃薯片的话,相信他们到了吃饭时间也不会觉得饿吧?

“可是我的宝宝饿了就会哭,”我问。“那时候我应该怎么做?”

怎么做?

首先要转移他们的注意力。

如果您能够转移他们的注意力,使他们停止哭泣,这就代表他们其实并不是真的那么饿!这个时候喂他们喝奶的话,他们只会喝一点,然后不到一下子又会跟您要奶喝了!所以如果您等到他们真的很饿的时候才喂奶的话,他们不但会养成一种更有效率的喝法,也会在喝完奶后睡得更久。要训练孩子能够睡一整晚的觉的话,您必须学习怎么转移他们的注意力哦!当Brooke开始因爲肚子饿而哭的时候,我的哥哥就做了一个很好的示範。如果您的孩子也因爲肚子饿而哭的话,请试试以下的一些或所有方式:

  1. 换个姿势。抱他们起来,直抱,横抱,斜着抱,往内,往外,等等。抱着他们的时候,可以试着站站坐坐。
  2. 换个环境。走到别的房间去,或者出门也可以。我们家有个后院,每次抱他们出去时,他们一定会因爲外面较低的温度停止哭泣。
  3. 给他们洗澡。
  4. 拿个又会出声又亮亮的东西(例如钥匙)吊在他们面前
  5. 拿个玩具或摇铃吊在他们面前
  6. 向他们做鬼脸
  7. 和他们説话
  8. 唱歌给他们聼

一旦他们习惯其中一个方式,又开始哭的时候,就换成别的方式。如果一个宝宝真的非常饿的话,不管您做什么他们都不会停止的。孩子一直大哭大叫的话,就是您该喂他们喝奶的时候了!

我的做法

我第一次试着做的时候是在晚餐时间。我把安静的Mackenzie拜托给爸爸,自己负责照顾Brooke。这个小瓜一饿就会尖叫,所以您可以想象,要应付她是多么有挑战性的一件事。不过我坚持到底:她哭的时候,我就移动,抱着她,轻摇她,换了很多姿势,出门,然后又轻摇她,换姿势等。不错!转移了她的注意力整整25分钟!也就是说,我成功地把喂奶时间延迟到25分钟后。这是个不错的开始!不过好戏还在后头呢…Brooke通常会哺乳差不多10分钟左右就睡着。这次呢,她可饿得不得了!拼命地一直吸一直吸,比平常吸了多5分钟的奶(是母亲的都会知道,这是件非常不得了的事!)。之后,她既然睡了足足3个小时!我的天啊!奇迹出现了呀!通常在傍晚只睡5到10分钟的Brooke既然睡了3个小时!

结果

一天之内,宝宝就停止密集喂哺,开始在每3到4个小时之间才会喝奶。我们并没有帮她们定什么时间表,不过通过这样的喂法,久而久之,她们就会很自然地制定了自己体内的时间表。

记得两天前,我才刚刚在想:哇!我不用哺乳,突然空出这么多时间。我该怎么办?!我还把这个心思放在我的Facebook状况上呢!不过想了过后又指着自己说,你在想什么啊!现在你应该做的是去睡个大头觉,回复你的精力啦!

规则#2:不要让宝宝在喝奶的时候睡觉。

怎么做?

把灯都开到完,脱掉他们的所有衣服,轻轻拍他们的脸颊,按摩他们的脚,让他们保持清醒。Cynthia说,他们摄食的时候,周围应该像晚上的都市那么明亮。虽然难免他们一定会睡着,我们应该做的就是尽量让他们醒着。

规则#3:喂到他们饱满爲止。

怎么做?

哺乳后,可以又给他们一瓶预先抽出的母奶或冲好的奶粉。

我的做法

我的母奶比较稀,一次无法制作出太多。如果给孩子们喂奶到不会饿但是又不是很饱的程度的话,她们会提早从睡眠中清醒。所以在她们6个星期大的时候,我就开始补充她们的营养。首先会哺乳到她们满意爲止,让她们打嗝后再给她们预先抽出的母奶或冲好的奶粉。

结果

一夜之间,宝宝在6个星期就开始摄食比平常多的奶,而且每隔6个小时才需要喂。这真的是一个巨大的进步。

其他建议

  1. 如果宝宝有一天突然间睡得比平常久,不要像我一样,认定他们一起来就一定会肚子饿。我的母亲和Cynthia再三地提醒我,只有在他们真的饿到什么东西都不能够吸引他们的时候才可以喂他们喝奶哦!
  2. 两个月以下的婴儿有种天生的本能,知道自己什么时候饱了,不需要再喝奶。所以请尽管喂他们喝奶,一直到他们不要喝爲止。之后,帮他们打嗝,再把奶或母乳拿给他们。如果他们真的饱了,他们会让您知道的。
  3. 每次喂奶会一次过喝很多奶的宝宝的体重,会比一天内一直小食的宝宝增加的比较快。我的双胞胎出生时一个5磅,一个6磅,而在她们8个星期时就一个11磅,另一个12磅了呢!目前3.5月大的她们已经都14磅重了。

如何停止半夜喂奶

我的9个星期大的孩子已经定时在每6个小时喝奶了。不过这也意味着,我还是得三更半夜起来喂她们喝奶。母亲就分享了以下的建议:

规则#4:停止半夜喂奶

怎么做?

不想宝宝在晚上起来吵着要和奶的话,请先把晚上喂他们喝的奶冲淡。先是75%,隔天50%,再隔天25%,一直到您在晚上其实都只是在喂他们喝水而已。晚间的时候,请只用奶瓶,不要哺乳!晚上的宝宝有时候会起来也只是因爲他们想要得到安慰,而不是因爲他们饿了。记得把奶或水冲得冷一点。不要说话,喂了他们就马上帮他们打嗝,让后把他们放下。行动如果有点刻板的话,他们就渐渐地停止晚上起来喝奶的习惯。最重要的是,千万不可以在晚间为他们哺乳!

我的做法

因爲方便,我以前都会在晚间为孩子哺乳。毕竟,我可以躺着一边睡觉一边哺乳。对一个缺乏睡眠的新妈妈来説,这简直是个梦寐以求的安排!不过这也是爲什么宝宝那么喜欢在半夜里起来的原因–因爲他们可以在温暖的被窝里舒舒服服地喝妈妈的母奶!妈妈也喜欢,宝宝也喜欢,没什么不好的,对吗?如果您觉得这个方式很适合您,请别担心,继续做下去吧!这个建议是特别献给那些希望孩子能够睡一整晚的母亲们的。

我是在孩子们9个星期大的时候开始的。如果她们半夜(早上12点到6点之间)开始哭的话,我没为她们哺乳,而是给她们一点冲淡了的配方奶。过程中没对她们説话,喂完后帮她们打嗝,就把她们放下,自己也躺下来睡着了。她们早上6点过后起来的话,会受到完全不同的待遇–我会为她们哺乳,不然就是给她们温温的奶瓶母奶,而且也会笑着称赞她们,和她们一起玩!

结果

冷冷的配方奶,加上无声的待遇,一定很难受吧…因爲差不多3天后,她们就不再半夜起来了!10个星期大的她们能够从晚上9点熟睡到早上6点。12个星期的时候,睡觉时间延长到从旁晚7点半到早上7点半呢!这也已经成为3.5月大的他们的常规。所以我说,这绝对不是一件不可能的事!

如果宝宝好像需要常常哺乳…

星期三, 十二月 29th, 2010 3:51 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

宝宝需要常常哺乳的习惯是可以阻止的!先等到他们非常非常饿的时候再喂他们喝奶,然後尽量确保他们喝到饱。也记得不要让他们喝到一半就睡着哦!详情 请 看这里。我只需要2天的时间就能教导我的4个星期大的孩子们减少哺乳次数,而且在每次哺乳的时候喝得更饱!自从孩子出生後,这可是我第一次觉得我的情况真 的有所改善了呢!自由万岁!

1個月大的Brooke和Mackenzie

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Nap and sleep

Baby Beds

Thursday, June 9th, 2011 12:35 am | By Stephanie Woo

In our family, we don’t believe in cribs. I’ve never seen any of my 6 nieces or nephews in one. Cribs confine babies to small spaces and hinder their movement and development. It also restricts a baby’s vision because they cannot see clearly past the wooden poles. All they have is an empty white ceiling to stare at. No wonder babies will stare at a mobile all day long, because they have nothing else to look at. Parents believe mobiles are great for developing their baby’s vision – it is, if that’s all they have to look at!

Night bed

Up to four months, our babies slept in baskets and co-sleepers at night mainly because we lived in a tiny 400 sq ft house and didn’t have much space to work with. The basket and co-sleeper were fine when they were tiny infants, but I could tell it was cramping their style. And it wasn’t until I put them on their own mattress that I saw just how cramped they were. 

As soon as we moved to our new 1200 sq ft house, we put them to sleep on a twin mattress. I saw just how much space a baby needs to move around, even in their sleep. I couldn’t imagine Mackenzie turning 360 degrees in her sleep until I witnessed it! When you don’t give them space to move, they don’t. But when they have the space to exercise, they do and it really helps their development. 

I have found that since they’ve been sleeping on the low floor mattresses, their overall movement has increased and improved. The other morning, we found Brooke (5 1/2 months) had ‘crawled’ off the mattress (we put a thick rug next to the mattress so it wouldn’t hurt if they fell). I figure she probably put one limb down and then gravity helped the rest of the way, but, in either case, she wasn’t crying, instead she was working hard making her way somewhere (we think perhaps to the candy store) but never made it there before we caught her! 

Day Bed

The first two months, the babies spent most of their time in our bed or on the living room sofa, which is where I spent most of my time. At 3 months, as they started moving more and more, we devised a day ‘bed’ (mat) on the floor for them that consisted of two thick wool blankets, some towels and a regular bed sheet on top. It was about 5’ x 3.5’. Whenever they were awake, we would put them on this mat on their tummy. As they’ve grown, their mat has grown to 8’ x 3.5’. This mat gives them ample room to move around.

At four months, Mackenzie had slithered 5 feet from one end of the mat to the other end. At five months, Brooke slithers around the perimeter of the mat in a circle. I think having room to move helped their development whereas many babies at this age are still confined to mother’s arms, cribs, swings or baby car seats and never get a chance to move much on a open, flat, hard surface, which is what they need to move properly.

Sleeping Through The Night

Thursday, June 9th, 2011 12:33 am | By Stephanie Woo

The methods described here are best for infants after they are 8 weeks old.

Some say it’s because they’re girls. Some say it’s because they’re twins. Some people say I’m just lucky. What I know is this: in my 20s, I watched my siblings and their spouses raise my 6 nieces and nephews. All of them slept through the night on their own by 2 months. And the source was my mother, Ms. Lam, who has worked with thousands of children of all ages. Having seen these methods repeated over and over, I knew it wasn’t a fluke. I came to see that it was possible, but most importantly, this is what I WANTED. I value my sleep, I need it and I knew I wanted my babies to sleep through the night. So I became a very good student.

In the first six weeks, I did what they teach you in hospitals: feed on demand. Brooke was a hungry baby from the day she was born (she still is!). Starting week 3, she started doing what’s called cluster feeding. It’s when a baby wants to feed constantly over a period of 4-6 hours. They eat, fall asleep and five minutes after you put them down, they cry wanting to eat again. This meant every night from 5pm-12, I knew to expect this and I did nothing during that time but breastfeed. Not to mention Mackenzie also needed to eat. So I was, on average, breastfeeding 16 hours a day (up to 20 hours). I was exhausted. When I researched the internet about cluster feeding, they said, “very common among infants,” “usually they stop this behavior when they are 3 months.” THREE MONTHS? I cried. How was I going to go on like this for another THREE MONTHS?

Then my sister-in-law and brother came to visit. And they immediately set me straight. They gave me some tips that immediately changed the babies feeding behavior.

RULE #1: Do not feed a baby until he/she is VERY hungry.

Cynthia told me Brooke was seeing me as a 7-Eleven and was coming to snack throughout the day, especially during those evening hours. If you snack on potato chips all day, you’ll never be hungry at your meals!

“Well, what do you do when my baby starts crying ‘cause she’s hungry?” I asked.

HOW
FIRST, DISTRACT THEM.
If your baby can be distracted and stops crying when you distract him, this means he is not REALLY HUNGRY. If you feed them when they are not truly hungry, they’ll just drink a little and then a short time later, they’ll want more. But if you wait to feed them when they are truly hungry, they will much more efficient drinker and will sleep for longer periods in between feedings. So if you want your babies to sleep through the night, you must learn to be very good at distracting them! My brother gave me an excellent demonstration when Brooke started crying from hunger. When your baby is crying from hungry, try any/all of the following:

  1. Change positions. Hold them up, hold them sideways, hold them facing in, hold them facing out. Stand up, sit down.
  2. Change environments. Go to a different room, go outside of your house (we have a little backyard so that always worked because it was colder outside and the change in temperature always made them stop crying)
  3. Give them a bath.
  4. Dangle something loud and shiny in front of them, like keys
  5. Dangle a toy or rattle in front of them
  6. Make funny faces at them
  7. Talk to them
  8. Sing to them

As soon as one method no longer works and they start crying again, try another method. When a baby is REALLY hungry, there is NOTHING you can do that will distract them.
They will REALLY cry. That is your cue to bring out the boob/bottle.

My Implementation
The first time I tried this was at dinner. I gave Mackenzie, who was quiet, to Daddy and I worked with Brooke. It was hard because when she is hungry, she screams on the top of her lungs. But I held on: when she cried, I moved around, I rocked her, changed position, went outside, rocked her some more, changed more positions, etc. I lasted 25 minutes. It means normally I would have fed her right away, but I was able to distract her for 25 minutes before feeding her. And then the miracle began. Normally, Brooke will eat and fall asleep at the boob after about 10 minutes, but now she was HUNGRY! And she sucked and sucked and sucked like her life depended on it. And she ate for about 5 extra minutes (mothers know that is a long time) longer than she would have. Then she fell asleep and did not wake up for 3 hours. OMG, that was a miracle for me. Brooke, who normally slept 5-10 minutes at a time in the evenings, was down for 3 hours.

Result
In one day, the cluster feeding stopped. And they started eating about every 3-4 hours. We never put them on a schedule, but by feeding them this way, they naturally developed their own internal schedule.
(I remember two days later thinking to myself, omg, I’m not breastfeeding, I have all this extra time, what should I do with myself?! I even posted this thought on my facebook status. And then I remembered: Hello, go to sleep and recover from just having given birth!))

RULE #2: Don’t let a baby fall asleep while eating.

HOW
Turn on all the lights, take off all their clothes, tap them on the cheek, massage their legs, wake them up. Cynthia says, when they eat, it should be BRIGHT LIGHTS, BIG CITY. They’ll still fall asleep, but do your best to keep them awake.

RULE #3: Feed them till they’re full.

HOW
Follow up a breastfeeding session with a bottle of pumped breastmilk or formula.

My Implementation
I have relatively thin breastmilk and don’t have lots of it at one time. If they only drink till they’re no longer hungry but not very full, they will wake up earlier. Starting at six weeks, I started supplementing. I would feed them breastmilk and then when they’re done, burp them and then offer them pumped breastmilk or formula in a bottle.

Result
This was a huge milestone because overnight, at six weeks old, they started drinking a lot more and their feedings stretched to every six hours.

Other tips

  1. Even if one day your baby surprises you and sleeps several extra hours, don’t assume they are hungry the second they wake up (like I did!) Like my mother and Cynthia told me, do not feed them till they are hungry, crying and cannot be distracted!
  2. You cannot overfeed an infant under two months. They have an in-born instinct to drink till they’re full and not more. So feed them till they no longer want anymore. Then burp them and offer the boob/bottle to them again. If they don’t want anymore, they’ll let you know.
  3. Babies who drink a lot per feeding gain weight faster than babies who snack throughout the day. My twins came out at 5 lbs and 6 lbs, they were 11 lbs and 12 lbs by 8 week. They are now 3.5 months and weigh 14 pounds.

How to Discourage Middle-of-the-Night Feedings

At around 9 weeks, they were feeding regularly every six hours. This meant I was still getting up in the middle of the night to feed them. And then my mother gave me the following tip to discourage night feedings.

RULE #4 Discourage middle-of-the-night feedings

HOW
If you don’t want your baby to wake up for night feedings, start by diluting the milk by 75%, then 50% the next day, then 25% the day after, till you are only giving them water at night. DO NOT BREASTFEED in the middle of the night. Babies will wake up just for the comfort even if they are not hungry. Only give them a bottle. And make the water/milk somewhat cold. Don’t talk to them. Feed them and put them down immediately after burping them. Make the exchange somewhat mechanical to discourage them from continuously waking up in the middle of the night to feed. Of all these, most importantly, do not give them the breast in the middle of the night.

My Implementation
I used to breastfeed in the middle of the night, because it was so convenient. I can BF lying down and sleep while the baby drinks, which is much needed when you’re sleep-deprived. I’m sure lots of moms can relate. But this is precisely why they keep waking up because it’s so warm and comfortable to drink mama’s milk while lying in the cozy bed together! Not only does the baby love it, so does Mom! So if you are one of those mothers and it works for you, then keep doing it. This advice is for mothers who want their children to sleep through the night.

I started at 9 weeks. When one started crying in the middle of the night (anytime between 12am-6am), I didn’t breastfeeding and instead, I gave them diluted cold formula. I didn’t talk to them, just fed them, burped them and put them down and went to sleep. When they woke up anytime after 6am, they got completely different treatment. They got the breast or got warm pumped breastmilk. Mama would praise them, smile at them and play with them!

Result
I guess they didn’t like cold diluted formula and the silent treatment, because in about 3 days time, they no longer woke up between 12 and 6am! By 10 weeks, they were sleeping from 9pm-6am. By 12 weeks, they were sleeping from 7:30-7:30. And now at 3.5 months, that’s their schedule!

If you need a consultation…
I really grasped this method after seeing my brother demonstrate in person what it means to “distract” a baby. Also, I went back to my mother a couple times over the weeks to get additional coaching and support. If you are still unclear after reading this post, schedule a consultation with me in person or over the phone (usually, I can answer most sleeping questions over the phone) and I will help you adjust to your specific situation. To schedule a consultation, click here.

If your baby seems to be nursing constantly…

Wednesday, December 29th, 2010 3:51 pm | By Stephanie Woo

If your baby is nursing constantly, put a stop to it by nursing your baby only when she is VERY hungry and nursing till she is full (without letting her fall asleep halfway!) Read more here. It only took 2 days for my babies (at 4 weeks old) to learn to eat less often and WAY more at each meal. It was the first time I felt there was light at the end of the tunnel after giving birth! Liberation!

Brooke and Mackenzie at one month old