Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Toys and activities

不要硬逼宝宝站立

星期三, 八月 24th, 2011 8:42 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

宝宝都会很喜欢坐坐,站站。家长们也很喜欢把自己的宝宝放置在这种位置里,因爲他们会看起来很可爱,很开心。

可以从不同的视点看到周围的世界是爲什么宝宝这么喜欢站立的原因之一。不过如果他们还没准备好的话,我并不推荐家长们硬逼着自己的孩子站起来。理由有几个:

1. 如果硬逼着尚未准备好的宝宝站立的话,有可能会使到他们的腿变弓形,也会对他们正在发育的脊椎骨有害。坐姿也一样。如果您的宝宝坐着的时候会往前或往后倒下的话,就代表他们还不可以坐着,所以请不要让他们坐得太久。市场上有一些椅子(例如Bumbo椅)是为了帮助婴儿保持坐姿而设计的,不过请不要让您身体尚未准备好的孩子坐在这种椅子里。这会对他们的发育有害。

2. 握住孩子让他们站着,或者把他们放在一些会逼他们维持那种姿势的玩意儿对他们非常有害。靠着那些玩意儿成长的孩子们通常发育得比较慢,因爲他们根本没有动机学习怎么自己坐,站,爬等等宝宝需要学习的动作。更糟糕的是,他们学不到原因和结果的概念:“我这么做的话,就可以看到这样的东西!”现在变成他们不需要努力就可以从坐着或站着的观点看到周围的世界。这么一来,他们对自己身体和动作能力的了解将出现倾斜。

我们应该耐心地帮助他们了解动作的原因和结果。让他们自然地发展到能够自己坐着和站着的阶段。如果您有机会看到,他们终于能够自己做得到某某东西时所获得的喜乐和自信,相信您也会同意,这是我们能够献给他们的无价之宝之一。

悬挂吊饰的力量

星期四, 六月 9th, 2011 12:39 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

市场上的悬挂吊饰(床挂玩具)多姿多彩,有的会唱歌,有的会跳舞,有些还附有闪闪发亮的动物,公主形象玩偶,汽车等。可能您家里也有一个。产品的説明声称玩具可以刺激宝宝的视力和听力,而如果我的母亲没有给我一些劝告的话,我看我应该已经买了3个了吧。

我的母亲Ms. Lam说,刚从没有太多光线的子宫出来的婴儿,已经受到周围的所有又亮又会动的东西太多的刺激了。他真的还需要我们买个电子玩意儿来加倍地刺激他的感官吗? 其实他们躺着的时候就已经有够多东西看了!我的哥哥Alfred和大嫂Cynthia生了他们的第一胎时也买了个悬挂吊饰(电子床挂玩具)给宝宝。当时他觉得这个玩具 很不错,宝宝Lauren会一直看着,一定是因爲她很喜欢!经过一番解释后,他才发现宝宝会看着玩具是因为他们不得不看!让他们看着这些玩具长大,应该和让他们看着电视长大没有多大的分别吧。

我了解到,一个悬挂吊饰(床挂玩具)真正的作用应该是给孩子触摸,而不单单是给他们看而已。宝宝如果摸得到的话,会是一个很大的里程牌。就如玛丽亚•蒙特梭利曾经说过,这是宝宝第一次能够直接对环境产生影响的机会。

怎么自己做一个正确的悬挂吊饰(床挂玩具)呢?请参考我母亲Ms. Lam的一些指示:

  • 简单
  • 用夹子把东西夹到棍子上
  • 一次只放一样东西
  • 先开始用一个轻一点,会稍微自己旋转的东西
  • 宝宝慢慢长大的时候,就可以转换成他们要伸手触摸才会摇动的东西
  • 会出声音的悬挂吊饰(床挂玩具)会很有吸引力
  • 使用的东西最好是以下3原色:红,蓝,黄。宝宝对银色或金色的东西不会太感兴趣。
  • 先把吊饰(玩具)挂个15到20分钟,然后拿下,看宝宝会不会失去兴趣。放太靠近的话,他们会看不到玩具的。

我的做法

我使用的是包装纸,把底部切成小小条后,夹在悬挂吊饰(床挂玩具)上。请参考下面的图片。

第一次给Mackenzie看的时候,她才9个星期大。第一天,她什么反应都没有。第二天把玩具挂上的时候,她一直看着玩具,好像已经开始起了一点兴趣。这 是因爲她每次呼吸的时候,包装纸会轻轻得摇来摇去。绝对不可以小看婴儿对动作的敏感度哦!她第一次伸手去触摸玩具的时候,我可能还比她兴奋呢!

 

Brooke最喜欢的玩具是一个肚子里装有铃铛的猫头鹰毛绒玩具。我第一次把悬挂吊饰(床挂玩具)放在她面前时,她都没什么兴趣的。我还得陪她一起玩呢!不过2个星期后,我在打扫房子的时候听到她的猫头鹰毛绒玩具的铃声!她自己在和玩具互动呢!4个月大的她仍然最喜欢这个玩具。

女儿们也不是每一次都用一样的方式和玩具互动的。头几次她们只会盯着看。有一天就开始伸手触摸。现在4个月大的她们,看到玩具就会又抢又拉的。如果我需要 20分钟洗碗或和别人説话,我就会放她在垫上,上面夹着一个悬挂吊饰(床挂玩具)给她。她开始吵的时候,我就换一个玩具给她们,让她可以玩多10到15分钟。

多层面的悬挂吊饰(床挂玩具)最棒了。总之,我得确定这个悬挂吊饰(床挂玩具)不单单只是一个橡胶玩具。我会使用有味道的东西,或者动到就会发出声音的东西(被弄皱的纸,铃铛),不同质地的东西,不同顔色的东西等。让他们接触到越多种东西越好。而且不要只考虑到玩具,时不时也可以让他们接触到我们日常生活会用到的东西哦!

我的悬挂吊饰(床挂玩具)物件使用历史:

  • 动到就会发出声音的毛绒玩具
  • 玫瑰(拿到M的面前的话,她会很喜欢盯着玫瑰看)
  • 树枝
  • 绑在棍子上的不同顔色丝带
  • 彩色纸雪花
  • 一排从浅黄色到深黄色的毛线球
  • 用绳子穿过的柠檬片(失败…)
  • 一排牵着手的纸娃娃
  • 铃铛手镯(她们很喜欢!)
  • 戴着铃铛的纸鹤
  • 小汤匙

床挂玩具的挂法

玩具的位置是关键,所以一定要确保玩具:

◦ 够高,要不然宝宝看不到

◦ 够低,要不然宝宝动不到

◦ 不会在宝宝身体上拖着

  • 不会挂在宝宝鼻子的上面,不然您的宝宝以后变斗鸡眼怎么办?!

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Toys and activities

Do not put your baby in a standing position

Wednesday, August 24th, 2011 8:42 am | By Stephanie Woo

Babies love to sit. They love to stand even more. Parents will put babies in those positions because they look adorable AND it seems to make the baby very happy.

Babies love to stand because they get to see the world from a completely different point of view. However, there are several reasons not to do this before they’re ready.

1. Babies who stand before they’re ready can be bow-legged. Putting them in the standing positions is also problematic for their developing spine. The same goes for sitting. When you put a baby in a sitting position, if they fall forwards or backwards, it means they are not ready to be sitting. Don’t let them stay in that position for long. Bumbo seats are designed to keep baby in sitting positions before they are ready, do not put your baby in one of those. It is detrimental to their development.

2. Holding your baby up to stand or putting them in contraptions that keep them in those positions, like the walkers, are very bad for your baby. Children who are put in those contraptions tend to move on to the next movement milestone (sitting, crawling, pulling up, walking) LATER because they don’t have the motivation to learn to do those things on their own. Even more importantly, they don’t develop the proper cause and effect, “When I do this, I get to see this.” Instead, they don’t need to do anything and they get to see the world from the point of a view of someone sitting or standing. It skews their understanding of their body and movement – which is something they spend so much time exploring and learning the first couple years of life.

So help them develop the proper cause and effect of movement.  Be patient with them. Allow them to reach the stage where they can pull up to stand on their own. The joy and confidence they develop when they can finally do it by themselves is a priceless gift you can give them.

The Power Of The Mobile

Thursday, June 9th, 2011 12:39 am | By Stephanie Woo

I’m sure you’ve seen those store-bought mobiles with singing, dancing, blinking animals, princess and cars. You might even have one. Boxes advertise that it stimulates the baby’s vision and hearing, and without my mother’s advice, I most certainly would have bought three.

My mother Ms. Lam says, the infant, who recently came out of the dark, lightless womb, is already over-stimulated by EVERYTHING new, bright and moving around him. Does he really need an electronic device to further stimulate his vision and hearing? Just lying there at home in his crib or on the floor is more than plenty. My brother Alfred told me he bought an electronic mobile when he and Cynthia had their first child. At the time, he thought to himself, “What a great toy, baby Lauren loves it because she stares at it all the time!” It took a lot of education for him to realize she couldn’t help but stare at it all day long, like someone under hypnosis! It’s probably just a couple steps up from putting your baby in front of a TV.

THE PURPOSE OF A MOBILE, I LEARNED, IS TO BE TOUCHED, not just looked at. To achieve this is a big deal for a little baby. It is, like Maria Montessori says, the first time he can affect his environment.

Here are Ms. Lam’s instructions to make the right mobile:

  • Mobiles should be SIMPLE
  • Use clips to clip things to a rod
  • Never put more than ONE THING on it
  • When you start, clip something very light that moves slightly on its own
  • As the babies grow, make mobiles that won’t move unless they touch it
  • Mobiles that ring or make sounds are particularly attractive
  • Make mobiles in primary colors: red, blue, yellow. Babies are less interested in things that are silver or gold
  • Put a mobile up for 15-20 minutes (or shorter) and take it down when the baby loses interest. If you keep a mobile in her face all the time, she won’t see it at all.

My Implementation

I took some tissue wrapping paper from a baby gift we got. I cut up the bottom so it was stringy and clipped it to the mobile (see picture).

Mackenzie was 9 weeks old was I first showed her. I didn’t get any response from her the first day. The second day, when I put up the mobile, I can tell she was interested. She kept looking at it. Because the tissue paper is so light, it moves every time she breathes, which keeps her interested. Babies notice the tiniest little movements. The first time she reached out to touch the mobile, I was soo excited!!

Brooke’s favorite toy is a small owl plush that has a bell inside its stomach. She was never interested in mobiles when I first put it in front of her, unless I was there playing with her. But a couple weeks later, I remember I left her with the owl mobile as I went about cleaning the house, and suddenly I heard ringing, and I knew she was interacting with the mobile! It’s still her favorite toy at four months.

My girls’ interaction with the mobile has evolved over time. First she starts by looking at it very intently. And then one day, she starts pawing at it. Now, at four months, she will grab it and pull on it. If I want to keep her quiet for 20 minutes to finish the dishes or a conversation, I will leave her lying on her mat with a mobile. When she starts whining, I’ll just change a mobile and she’s good for another 10-15 minutes.

I’ve noticed that multi-dimensional mobiles are the best. I made sure the mobile wasn’t just a plastic toy. I used things that had a smell, made a noise when you touched it (like a crumply piece of paper or a ringing bell), different textures, different colors, etc. It’s important to vary what you give the baby (not just plastic baby stuff), but also things from our everyday surrounding.

Things I’ve used as a mobile

  • small colorful plush toys that ring or rattle when you touch it (most successful with my kids)
  • a rose (M loved looking at it, especially after I hold it close to her nose)
  • a plant twig
  • different colored ribbons tied to a rod
  • colored paper snowflakes
  • a row of yarn balls that go from light yellow to dark yellow
  • lemon slices strung up with a string (unsuccessful)
  • a row of paper dolls holding hands
  • jingle bells bracelet (they liked this)
  • origami crane with a bell attached to it
  • a small spoon

How to hang a mobile

I learned that mobiles have to be in the right position. Make sure it is hung so that it’s

  • high up enough so the baby can see it
  • low enough so he can touch it when he reaches out
  • doesn’t trail on his body
  • a little to the left or the right, which usually works better than straight up
  • not hanging above his nose, or else you’ll make your baby cross-eyed!