Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Live and love

视频:小孩自己操作CD机

星期一, 十一月 12th, 2012 6:01 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

 

M listening to music on Muji CD Player

Mackenzie用无印良品CD机播放音乐

接受蒙特梭利培训时,经过我朋友Seiko的介绍,我接触了无印良品CD机,价格不低,但是却很值得,并且机器的外形设计也很好看,简单,容易使用-只要拉一下绳索就可以播放音乐,再拉一次就停止播放(请看视频)。

如果你要购买,要先确定你的小孩有足够的控制能力,并且多次给予清楚的示範,还需要注意,小孩把机器弄坏的可能性是有的,所有我在环境中准备的物品都是要给孩子们使用的,所以我的心态是已经调整过了,机器安好的日子,孩子们就可以真正的体验生活中真实的结果。

你在照片中看见的,每一个CD都有一种乐器印在上头:竖琴,吉他,大提琴,小提琴等等。上头印什么样的乐器,里面就是相对的音乐,这样小孩就可以自己选择他们要听的乐器相关的音乐,并且开始认识乐器的声音,她们比较喜欢弦乐器,不过也渐渐的对管乐器有点感觉了。我喜欢这个机器,它使得孩子们能够独立操作,他们任何时候都可以播放音乐,每一天我家都会有一些古典音乐!

小孩欣赏音乐的能力不容低估,她们很爱音乐,艺术,喜欢美的事物,她们经常啓发我!

‘跟随孩子’在公园散步

星期四, 五月 31st, 2012 4:04 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

我们几乎每天都会到公园散步,在公园散步时我尽量让孩子自由一些,在公园的某些地方,我不会给她们太多限制,我自己和保姆会各看着一个孩子,所以孩子们可以自己选择要往那个方向走。我希望孩子们可以有机会多探索自然,所以在能够让她们自由的地方,我会利用那些机会,让她们闻闻花香,观察人们。现在,女儿们是17个月。

一抵达公园,我解开安全带,让孩子们从推车上下来,我试着尽量让孩子们做她们自己可以做的部分。

Brooke马上走向公园里有花的地方

爬过矮篱笆

闻闻花香

Mackenzie跟保姆在一起,她跟在附近,手里拿着玩具

 

她捡起一个塑胶盖子,我很确定那是挺脏的,我忍住不跑过去,没有尖叫,也没有将东西从她的手上打掉,虽然我想要那样做!但是,我只是看着!

这是盖子,会不会她等等就放进嘴里?

这一次没有,感谢老天爷!我松了一口气,告诉她“你好棒!”,因为她把垃圾丢进垃圾桶。如果因为担心东西脏,每一次她碰了什么就紧张兮兮,那么她们在散步时就不能放松,我自己也不自由了!

Brooke告诉保姆,她像要吃点东西

我告诉保姆将整个袋子给她,并且自己拿需要的食物

她花了一点时间翻了袋子,保姆和我对望了一下,我之前就训练了保姆不要轻易的就出手帮助孩子,即使我们做起来比较容易,也比较快。

她终于从袋子里拿出来她要的东西,Mackenzie也伸手去拿一点

她拿了一小片,我请她把剩下的给我

当我们坐下来吃,她打了个“音乐”的手语

Mackenzie打了个“鸟”的手语,她们两个人的意思是“鸟在唱歌”,所以我们坐着欣赏一下大自然的音乐。

我跟着Mackenzie,她在这里看见一个人正在伸展

Brooke正在玩着草,她结束了以后,我没有把她抱起来,我请她自己站起来。

她自己站起来了

观察一些松鼠,我们住在纽约市,动物数量非常有限。。(叹气)

一个好心的女士让我们拍拍她的狗,Brooke挺喜欢,但是Mackenzie不喜欢,我让Brooke拍拍狗,Mackenzie就没有特地要她去做,如果她不想要,何必强迫?

回家时间到了,她们自己爬进推车,坐好了之后,我帮她们扣上安全带,今天就这样了,明天再来吧!

给你的幼儿最好的礼物

星期六, 五月 12th, 2012 2:38 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

今天早上,Mackenzie哭着黏在我的腿上,为了要使她分心,我拿了一个橘子给她剥,她马上停止哭泣,坐在她的椅子上开始剥起橘子来了,对于一个17个月大的孩子来说,那不是个简单的任务,她用了很大的力气来剥橘子皮,可以看见她的整个身体都颤抖了,身为一个母亲,我看她那么用力,我心都疼了,但是身为蒙特梭利人,我知道我不应该介入,所以我强忍住,保持安静。但是,一点一点的,她将整个橘子都剥好了,我以松了一口气的口吻告诉她“现在你可以吃橘子了!”Brooke走了过来,Mackenzie马上给了她已经剥了皮的橘子,然后又去找了一个没有剥过皮的橘子,继续剥另一个橘子。

就像我母亲Ms. Lam告诉我的一样,1岁半至3岁之间的孩子,不是因为奖赏而去做任何的事情,工作/活动的本身就是回馈,这句话很重要,”工作/活动本身就是回馈“,我们能够给幼儿最好的礼物是什么?观察她们喜欢做些什么事情,提供给她们,然后然她们自己做,不要去打扰或打断她们,她们在进行活动时,不要去跟她们说话,不要说”你好棒!“,不要试着给予她们不需要的帮助,或者随意的去纠正她们。孩子的工作/活动,也许是在楼梯爬上爬下,也许是水在两个容器里倒过来倒过去,或者是挖沙,或者是撕纸张,或者是躺着唱不断同一首歌,不管是什么,就让孩子工作/活动吧!对于家长而言,这多么的简单,但又是多么的难,但是,我保证,只要你能够给孩子这个礼物,就是帮助准备她面对以后的人生,过程中发展出来专注力,手眼协调,自律,这些都是你付钱也没有办法买到的礼物!

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Live and love

Video: Operating a CD Player

Monday, November 12th, 2012 6:01 pm | By Stephanie Woo
M listening to music on Muji CD Player

Mackenzie listening to music on her Muji CD Player

I was introduced to the Muji CD player by my friend Seiko, during my Montessori training. It was an expensive purchase but really worth it. It’s nice to look at, compact and easy to operate – pull the string once to start, pull again to stop (see video below).

If you purchase it, make sure your children have developed good impulse control. Then give them several clear demonstrations on how to use it. Just a warning, they may break it. The way I see it, everything I prepare in our environment ultimately belongs to the children and I’m prepared for accidents. Besides if it breaks, they are the ones who really experience the consequence.

As you can see in the picture, each CD is labeled with a picture of an instrument: harp, guitar, cello and violin. On the CD, I’ve included music of the corresponding instrument. This way, they can choose which instrument they want to listen to and begin to recognize the sound that instrument makes. They definitely prefer string over woodwind, though they are warming to brass instruments. I love the independence this little machine gives them. They can now play music anytime they want and not a day will go by without a little classical music in our household.

Never underestimate what the youngest children can and will appreciate – their love for music, art and beauty never ceases to astound and inspire me.

‘Follow the Child’ On a Walk in the Park

Thursday, May 31st, 2012 4:04 pm | By Stephanie Woo

We go to the park for a walk almost everyday. It’s a time I let them be as free as possible. Generally, I don’t limit them to a certain part of the park and instead, my nanny and I each watch one so they can choose where they want to go. I want them to explore nature, so I like to let them loose where there are many opportunities to observe animals, smell flowers and people-watch. The girls are now 17 months.

We arrive at the park. I unbuckle them and let them get off the stroller by themselves. I try not to do anything for them that they can do by themselves.

Brooke immediately heads to one side of the park where the flowers are,

climbs over the low fence…

to smell the flower.

Mackenzie is with my nanny where she is walking around with her toys

She picks up a plastic cap. I’m pretty sure it’s disgustingly dirty, but I try not to run over, scream and whack it out of her hands, like I want to. Instead, I just watch.

Here is the cap – is it going in her mouth?

Not this time, thank god. As I breathe a sigh of relief, I tell her ‘good job’ for throwing trash in the trash can. If I give in to my fears everytime she touches something dirty and freak out, then she really cannot be free during our walks, and neither can I.

Brooke tells my nanny she wants something to eat

I tell the nanny to give her the whole bag and tell her to get it herself

It takes her a while to rustle through the bag. My nanny and I look at each other. I’ve trained her (and myself) to not rush to help her, even though we can do it so much faster than she can.

She finally wrestles it out of the bag. Mackenzie reaches for some too.

She takes a piece and I ask her to give me the rest

As we sit and eat, she makes the signs for “music” and

Mackenzie makes the sign for ‘bird.’ Together, they mean, “The birds are singing.” So we sit to enjoy a bit of music before moving on.

I follow Mackenzie around. Here she spots someone stretching…

Brooke plays on a patch of grass. When she is done, rather than picking her up, I tell her to “Get up by yourself.”

She does.

Observing some squirrels. We live in NYC. The animals are limited.  *sigh*

A nice lady lets us pet her dog. Brooke loves it and Mackenzie doesn’t. I let Brooke do it and leave Mackenzie alone. She doesn’t have to if she doesn’t want to.

It’s time to go home. They climb in the stroller by themselves and sit as we buckle them in. That’s it for us today. Till tomorrow!

The Best Gift You Can Give Your Toddler

Saturday, May 12th, 2012 2:38 pm | By Stephanie Woo

This morning, Mackenzie was crying and attached to my leg, so to distract her, I took out a mandarin orange for her to peel. She immediately stopped crying, sat down on her chair and began peeling. It’s not easy task for a 17 month old. She was using so much force pulling the skin off the orange that the rest of her body was shaking. Being a mom, my heart hurt watching her work so hard, but the Montessorian in me knew that I shouldn’t interfere, so I bit my tongue and kept quiet. Bit by bit, she peeled the entire thing by herself. I said to her, with relief in my voice, “Now you can eat it!” Brooke came over. Mackenzie immediately handed her the peeled orange and looked up at the bag of unpeeled orange, holding her hand out for another one to peel.

Just like my mother, Ms. Lam, told me, children around 1 1/2 – 3 years old, are not working for a reward of any kind. The reward is the work itself. This is so important: THE REWARD IS THE WORK ITSELF. What’s the biggest gift you can give your toddler? Watch what they’re interested in doing, give it to them, then leave them alone to do it for as long as they like without interrupting them! Don’t talk to them, don’t say, “good job,” don’t try to help them or correct them, do not even look at them. It might be climbing up and down the stairs, or pouring water from one thing into another, or digging sand, or ripping up a piece of paper, or lying there singing the same song over and over, it doesn’t matter what it is. Just let them work. This is so simple, yet so hard, for a parent to do. But I assure you it is the best gift you can give them to prepare them for the future. Concentration, coordination, self-discipline – you cannot pay enough money to give your child these things down the line!

 

This video was taken the week before…