Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

1-2 years old

跟Sam堂哥一起过感恩节

星期一, 十一月 26th, 2012 10:46 上午 | By Stephanie Woo
Sam Helping Mackenzie

Sam帮助他的小堂妹骑上马鞦韆。

今年的感恩节,我们飞往新墨西哥州埃尔博科基(Albuquerque)跟Mark的家人一起过节,在那里,B还有M发现她们的新朋友-Sam,她们5岁半的大堂哥。

Sam有一个年龄比他大许多的非同父同母姐姐,因此,他有点像是个独生子,但是他照顾起两个小堂妹,很是有专业架势。例如,我们抵达的第二个早晨,Mackenzie去探索Sam使用乾电池的玩具卡车,他试著要示範给Mackenzie看如何使用卡车,但是她一点也不想听,自顾自的用她的方式探索。Sam跟其他在场的人说“她觉得那样行得通,其实根本不行。”但是他没有出手去干扰,他只是让Mackenzie自己尝试,几分钟之後,Mackenzie哭了,她感到挫折,“帮忙!帮忙!”所以,Sam才过去示範如何玩拿卡车。我们认识的成人,恐怕没有他那样的耐心以及智慧,让一个小小孩自己去探索,自己去犯错?

後来,我们在後院玩,Brook过去找Sam,说“Sam,帮忙!”Sam走过去,他看见Brook站在原地不动,所以他就走回去,然後说“指给我看你需要我帮忙什麽?”Brook敲了敲马鞦韆的塑胶座垫(请看图片)然後说”这里。”,如果是我在帮忙Brook,我也许就把她抱起来坐上去了,但是我很确定Sam应该没有那样的力气可以把30磅重的堂妹抱起来,结果,根本也不需要把她抱起来,Brook自己可以将一条腿放上去,而Sam只需要轻轻的推她一下,就可以让她上去了,就如玛利亚蒙特梭利说的“任何不必要的帮助就是一种障碍。”如我们成人会将她抱起来上马,其实就是不必要的,Sam,给予她的协助很少,可是却让她成功了,Sam给予她的协助,是我们专业蒙特梭利人花许多年时间才能够学会的。

你可能也想到了,Sam上的学校是个蒙特梭利3-6环境,这是他最後一年了,蒙特梭利环境的混龄设计非常的有道理,年级大一点的会照顾小的,给予适当的引导,而小的长大了会如法炮製照顾小的,这是“教”不来的,但是如果小孩有受到大孩子照顾的经验,她们自然而然也会那样做,教室里自然创造出来的小社会,不需要成人太多的介入,大孩子比起成人来说是更好的老师(看看Sam),小年纪的孩子对於大孩子要给予她们的通常非常的渴望。这让我想到,前几週我拜访了一个传统幼儿园,老师就站在教室前面“教”小孩,所有的小孩坐在指定的位置盘腿坐,老师问问题,小孩举手回答,如果你答对了,所有的人给予掌声,如果错了,老师就换下一个,我就是在那样的环境中长大的,不过现在我了解那样的教育很机械化。

我们全家在Albuquerque度过一个快乐的假期,探索了玩具卡车,盖铁路,跟她们最喜欢的玩伴一起盪鞦韆。感谢Sam,我这个感恩节过的可是很轻松!

每週一我们都做这一道菜

星期一, 十一月 19th, 2012 6:03 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

每週一,我都会做一道传统台湾菜餚,鲁肉饭(Stewed Shredded Pork in Soy Sauce),其实就像是意大利麵肉酱,不过用的是酱油,而不是蕃茄酱,用红葱头而不是洋葱,肉酱和进饭里,而不是意大利麵。我们还会在鲁肉里头加上剥壳的水煮蛋,每个星期一下午,B和M都会在厨房里跟我一起帮忙:

切掉红葱头的蒂之後,我就递给M,可以让她剥的东西,她都喜欢。

剥好皮之後,她就会放到食物处理机里头,等等就可以绞碎

她拿起上头有皮的切菜板

然後将皮倒进髒碗盘篮(这是她们放髒碗盘以及其它与食物相关垃圾的地方)

下午,B和M就会帮我一起把水煮蛋剥皮

M帮我把肉桂棒还有其它的香料放到锅里

晚餐时间到了!她们参与烹煮的食物,就是她们的最爱,这绝对不是巧合!

鲁肉饭食谱

6颗红葱头-剥皮并且切碎

4朵香菇-乾的先泡过,然後切丁,将香菇以及泡香菇的水分开

1磅半的绞肉

6颗水煮蛋

煎煮用烹调油

4大匙酱油,3大匙米酒,2根肉桂棒,1茶匙五香粉,3颗五角,冰糖一小把

在锅里先放两大匙的油,将切碎的红葱头放到锅里,小火煎20分钟,不要煎焦了,将红葱头取出放在旁边备用。在锅里放3大匙的油,将切丁的香菇放到锅里煎,然後再加一大匙的油,再煎一会。将红葱头以及绞肉放到锅里与香菇一起煎,加酱油,加米酒,继续煎,直到绞肉转为金黄色,加5杯水,加泡香菇的水,液体的量要盖过绞肉,如果没有盖过,就继续加水,静待至煮沸,加入肉桂,五香粉,五角,转为小火,煮40分钟,加水煮蛋,加冰糖,再煮30分钟。最後加在米饭上面就可以享用。

合作,帮助小孩自己做!

星期三, 十一月 14th, 2012 12:44 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

Daddy Helps Brooke

多数的成人都会帮小孩把事情做完,为什麽呢?因为帮她们做完,要比教她们如何做要容易的多。

就拿餐後清洁来距离说明,家长有两个选择:花30秒钟帮小孩把餐桌清洁好;或者让小孩自己清洁桌子。如果要小孩清洁,你要想想髒碗盘要放在哪里,小孩要如何擦桌子,清洁用的海绵要放在哪里,之後她们要如何清洁她们的手,这些细节都想清楚了,还要想想如何教给小孩,然後要不厌其烦的一次又一次的示範来强化。。。。。。

当然是成人自己清洁比较容易又省事,然而,这简单的选择会让你觉得就像是地鼠日,你就在扮演奴隶的角色。另外一个比较麻烦的方法,却能够给你的孩子有机会可以练习她们的动作技巧,发展注意细节的专注力,学习逻辑顺序,给小孩一种独立的感觉,让孩子可以开心,有安全感,又有自信。

所以,该怎麽样,你选择吧!

有些朋友很有勇气又有毅力,决定要选择第二条路,我倒是有个建议,餐後要教你的小孩清洁餐桌(不只是餐桌的清洁,是做所有事情的通则),要跟孩子一起合作,小孩通常是没有办法在一开始就全部自己来,那是可以预见的未来,但是对於小年龄的孩子来说,仍然是个挑战,所以我通常跟孩子说“我们一起来清洁吧!我把髒碗盘放在餐车里,你把勺子也收进餐车。”或者“我们一起来清洁,你把碗(我从桌上拿起碗)放进餐车。”然後我再把盘子递给她,然後是勺子等等。最主要的用意是希望小孩能够参与到清洁的过程中,即使最後你觉得多数的清洁是你做的,如果小孩有参与,那麽就是在正确的道路上了,一步一脚印,慢慢的小孩就全部都会了,某一些日子,小孩也会有退步的时候,有时候她们也会累,也会有情绪不好的时候,不要强迫小孩,不要因为小孩一时不愿意参与清洁就惩罚小孩,经常跟孩子说“我们一起来!”,即使那一天是你做完所有的清洁,明天,也许小孩的状况好一点了,她们就会多做一些!

对於小孩,我很能够同理,从妈妈怀抱里事事有人照顾的宝宝,转化成为一个拥有自我的“小”成人,是多麽大的变化!如果,你愿意跟小孩合作,在未来她们的和你的生活,都会更好!

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

1-2 years old

Thanksgiving With Our Cousin Sam

Monday, November 26th, 2012 10:46 am | By Stephanie Woo
Sam Helping Mackenzie

Sam helps his little cousin on the horse swing

For Thanksgiving, we flew down to the high desert of Albuquerque, NM to visit Mark’s family. There, B and M discovered a new love – their 5 1/2 year old big brother and cousin, Sam.

Sam has a half-sister who is much older than him, so in many ways, he’s like an only child. But he was a pro when it came to taking care of his little cousins. For example, the morning after we arrived, Mackenzie got her hands on Sam’s battery-operated tonka truck. He was trying to show her how it worked, but she wouldn’t listen and just kept on doing what she was doing. Sam said aloud to the rest of us, “She thinks that will work, but it won’t.” But he didn’t interfere. He just let her try it out. Lo and behold, minutes later, Mackenzie cries out – frustrated over the toy – “Help! Help!” Sam was then able to show her how to play with it properly. How many adults do you know who has the patience and wisdom of letting the little ones make their own mistakes?

Later, we were outside playing in the backyard. Brooke goes up to Sam and says, “Sam, help.” Sam starts walking. He sees that Brooke is just standing there, so he comes back, takes her hand and then says, “Show me what you want help with.”  Brooke taps on the seat of the plastic horse swing (see picture) and says, “Here.” Now if I were helping Brooke, I would just pick her up and put her on, but I’m pretty sure Sam would have a hard time picking up his 30-pound cousin. As it turned out, it wasn’t necessary. Brooke was able to bring one leg onto the horse’s back by herself, and Sam only had to lift her up a little bit for her to get on. As Montessori says, “Any unnecessary help is a hindrance.” Picking her up all the way, like we adults would do, is unnecessary. Sam, on the other hand, was able to give her just the minimum amount of help necessary for her to be successful. The kind of help Sam gave her is what we Montessorians spend years trying to master.

In case you’re wondering, Sam goes to a Montessori school and is in the last year of his 3-6 primary class. Montessori mixed-age classrooms make so much sense. The older children take care of the younger ones, show them the ropes and then gradually, as the younger children get older, they start to take care of the new children that come in after them. You cannot ‘teach’ a child to do this, but when they’ve had the experience of being taken care of by older children, when it’s their turn, they do it naturally.  The little society that’s created within the classroom doesn’t require much adult intervention, in fact, the more invisible the adult, the better. Older children make better teachers than adults (look at Sam) and the little children are eager and attentive to whatever the older ones are showing them. This makes me think of a traditional classroom I visited a couple weeks ago where the teacher stood in the front of the room ‘teaching’ while her kindergarteners sat cross-legged on their designated spots on the floor. The teacher asked questions and the children raised their hands to answer. If you got it right, everyone clapped, if you got it wrong, the teacher moved on the next hand. That’s the kind of learning environment I grew up in, and now I see how mechanical and insular it is.

So B and M had a great time in Albuquerque, discovering tonka trucks, building train tracks and swinging on swings with their new favorite playmate. And thanks to Sam, I was able to relax this Thanksgiving too!

We cook this dish every monday

Monday, November 19th, 2012 6:03 am | By Stephanie Woo

Every Monday, I cook a traditional Taiwanese dish, called 魯肉飯. It’s like spaghetti bolognese, except we use soy sauce instead of tomato sauce, shallots instead of onion and we eat it over rice instead of spaghetti. We also put hard-boiled eggs in it. Every Monday afternoon, you’ll find B and M in the kitchen helping me do the following:


After cutting off the ends of the shallot, I hand them over to M, who loves to peel pretty much anything


After she finishes peeling them, she puts them in the food processor for dicing later on


She picks up the cutting board with all the shallot skin…


and throws them in the dirty dish basket (this is where they put all their dirty dishes and food-related trash)

Later on in the afternoon, B and M help me peel the hard-boiled eggs that go into this dish


M helps me put cinnamon sticks and other spices into the pot


Time to eat dinner! It’s no accident – their favorite foods are the ones they help cook!

魯肉飯 Recipe

6 shallots – peeled and finely diced

4 shitake mushrooms – soaked and diced, separate mushroom and the mushroom water

1.5 pounds ground pork

6 hard-boiled eggs

oil for sauteeing

4 tbsp soy sauce, 3 tbsp rice wine, 2 cinnamon sticks, 1 tsp five spice powder, 3 star anise, handful of rock sugar

Add 2 tbsp oil in wok. Add shallots and saute for 20 minutes on low heat, making sure it doesn’t brown. Remove from wok. Put mushrooms in wok with 3 tbsp of oil, sautee, then add 1 tsp salt and sautee some more. Add shallots and ground pork. Add soy sauce, rice wine and sautee till most of the pork is brown. Add 5 cups water. Add mushroom water. The water should cover the meat, if it doesn’t, add enough water till it does. Let boil. Add cinnamon, five spice powder and star anise. Turn to low heat. Cook for 40 minutes. Add hard boiled eggs and handful of rock sugar. Cook for another 30 minutes. Serve hot over rice.

Collaborating With Your Child

Wednesday, November 14th, 2012 12:44 pm | By Stephanie Woo

Daddy Helps Brooke

Most adults just want to do things FOR the child. Why? It’s so much easier than teaching them to do it.

Let’s take cleaning up after meals for instance. You have two choices, you can clean the table for them, that takes about 30 seconds. OR you can have them do it. Then you have to figure out where to put the dirty dishes, how they will wipe the table, where to put the sponge, how they will clean their hands. And then once you’ve got the logistics down, you have to show them how to do it and then enforce it over and over and over and over and over…

One is clearly easier than the other. But one will make you feel like it’s Groundhog’s Day and you are playing the role of the slave, while the other gives your child the opportunity to practice motor skills, develop attention to detail, learn sequencing and give him a sense of independence that lead to happy, secure, confident children.

So you pick.

For those of you courageous and conscientious enough to take the second route, I have a piece of advice. When you are teaching your child to clean up after meals (this really applies to everything, but I’m just using this as an example), collaborate with them. Young children cannot do it all on their own all at once. They will be able to eventually, but it can be overwhelming at this age. So I’ll say, “Let’s clean up together. I’ll put the bowl and the plate  in the dishcart and you put the spoon in the dishcart.” OR “Let’s clean up together. You put this bowl (I’ll pick it up from the table) in the dishcart.” Then I’ll hand them the plate for them to put in the dishcart, the spoon, etc.  As long as they are doing something toward cleaning, that is what you’re looking for. Even if at the end, you feel you did most of the cleaning, if they participated, then you are on the right path. Gradually, over time, you can pull back and they can do more. There will be regression on bad days. If they are tired or cranky, don’t force it. Don’t punish them for not cleaning. Instead, use these words often, “Let’s do it together!” Even if you end up doing most of it that day, let it go. Tomorrow, when they are in a better place, they will do more of it.

I have a lot empathy for little ones. Transitioning from a baby in mama’s arms where everything is done to becoming your own little person – it’s a big transition. If you’re willing to collaborate with them, it’ll make their life –and yours – a little easier.