Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

1-2 years old

家长问答:地板床和婴儿床的不一样

星期四, 九月 1st, 2011 10:07 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

问:读了你的部落格之后,我也在考虑做个地板床给我的15个月大宝宝。可是,只是把他放在那里,等到他睡觉就可以了吗?因爲跟他的婴儿床很不同,我怕他会睡不着。而且他已经会走路了。现在开始会不会有点太迟了呢?这个年龄把他转睡到地上床垫上有什么益处呢?

答:地板床是没有“太迟”这回事的!您在考虑给他一个地板床是一件很好的事!在地板床睡觉当然会和在婴儿床里睡觉的感觉不一样。一开始,因爲新奇,他会需要您在房里陪伴着他,帮助他适应。您需要把房间设计成有睡觉的地方(放床垫的地方)和玩耍的地方,在玩耍的地方铺一片特定的玩具地毯,把玩具都放在上面。这里应该是他一起身就看得到的地方。另外就是绝对不可以让他的玩具错落在床上或地上。帮他们收拾的时候,请把玩具都放在玩具地毯上。您必须让孩子知道房间里的秩序:“睡觉的地方在这里,起床玩玩具的地方在那里!”

地板床最重要的益处就是给於孩子们的自由和选择的馀地。什么时候起床,什么时候睡觉,都完全由他自己决定。婴儿床和高椅等的问题是,它们使孩子觉得无助, 进进出出都得依赖大人的帮忙。然后,他们唯一能够告诉您他们要出来的方式就是向您大声哭。所以向您大声哭其实是他们因爲感到无助而逐渐学习到的行爲。

把宝宝放在地上床垫的话,他们就不需要再向您大声哭才可以做他们想要做的东西了。现在,决定权在于他们。通过这样的自由,他会学习到自律。如果凡事都是由家 长帮孩子做决定的话,他的纪律都是从别人得到的,不算是真正的自律。如您所知,自律这种东西,孩子长大后会比较难学习,所以我非常鼓励您从小就开始把这个 品质灌输给孩子们。这也不会难到哪里去。只要尽量让他们自己选择要怎么去做他们要做的事情就行了!爲何不从让他们选择起床时间这个小小项目开始呢?

简单方程式:更多自由=更少哭泣+更加自律的孩子!

不要硬逼宝宝站立

星期三, 八月 24th, 2011 8:42 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

宝宝都会很喜欢坐坐,站站。家长们也很喜欢把自己的宝宝放置在这种位置里,因爲他们会看起来很可爱,很开心。

可以从不同的视点看到周围的世界是爲什么宝宝这么喜欢站立的原因之一。不过如果他们还没准备好的话,我并不推荐家长们硬逼着自己的孩子站起来。理由有几个:

1. 如果硬逼着尚未准备好的宝宝站立的话,有可能会使到他们的腿变弓形,也会对他们正在发育的脊椎骨有害。坐姿也一样。如果您的宝宝坐着的时候会往前或往后倒下的话,就代表他们还不可以坐着,所以请不要让他们坐得太久。市场上有一些椅子(例如Bumbo椅)是为了帮助婴儿保持坐姿而设计的,不过请不要让您身体尚未准备好的孩子坐在这种椅子里。这会对他们的发育有害。

2. 握住孩子让他们站着,或者把他们放在一些会逼他们维持那种姿势的玩意儿对他们非常有害。靠着那些玩意儿成长的孩子们通常发育得比较慢,因爲他们根本没有动机学习怎么自己坐,站,爬等等宝宝需要学习的动作。更糟糕的是,他们学不到原因和结果的概念:“我这么做的话,就可以看到这样的东西!”现在变成他们不需要努力就可以从坐着或站着的观点看到周围的世界。这么一来,他们对自己身体和动作能力的了解将出现倾斜。

我们应该耐心地帮助他们了解动作的原因和结果。让他们自然地发展到能够自己坐着和站着的阶段。如果您有机会看到,他们终于能够自己做得到某某东西时所获得的喜乐和自信,相信您也会同意,这是我们能够献给他们的无价之宝之一。

孩子还不太会説话?

星期三, 八月 24th, 2011 8:18 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

50年前的孩子们都在2到2.5嵗之间就会说完整的句子了。今天呢?孩子们通常会在2.5到3嵗之间才开始说完整的句子。延长了整整6个月。爲什么?因爲坐在电视机或电脑前的孩子们会有比较少时间去吸收周围的语言。研究显示,坐在电视前“学习”口语的耳聋家长的孩子们虽然可以模仿电视机人物所使用的口语,但是他们不能够了解口语是可以用来和别人沟通。电视机是不会教导孩子的。只有人际交往才可以!

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

1-2 years old

Parent Q&A: Floor bed vs Crib

Thursday, September 1st, 2011 10:07 pm | By Stephanie Woo

Q: After reading your blog, I’m thinking of putting my 15-month old in a floor bed. Do I just let him stay in there till he falls asleep? It’ll be so different from his crib, will he be able to fall asleep? He’s already walking, is it too late to put him a floor bed? What are the benefits of a floor bed at this age?

A: First of all, it’s great that you are considering putting him in a floor bed. It is not too late! The first couple of nights will be very new and exciting for him, so stay in the room with him and help him get used to it. Being in a floor bed is very different from being in a crib. Design the room in such a way that there is an area for sleeping (where you put the floor bed) and an area for playing. Designate a toy mat or a toy area where you keep all his toys.  It should be an area he can see when he wakes up. Make sure his toys are not strewn all over the floor or all over his bed (after he plays with them, they will get everywhere, all parents know THIS, but when you tidy up, put them all on the toy mat).  Let the child know the order of the room, “Over here is where I sleep. And when I wake up, I get out of bed and come here to play with my toys.”

The most important benefit of a floor bed is the sense of freedom it gives your child. He gets to decide things for himself.  He gets to decide when he gets into and out of bed. The problem with containers like cribs, high chairs, etc, is that the child is helpless and dependent on the adult to get him in and out. The only way he can get out of these contraptions is through CRYING. Therefore, crying becomes a learned behavior – it is due to HELPLESSNESS.

When you put a baby in a floor bed or give him a small child-size table and chair for eating that he can get in and out of by himself, HE DOESN’T HAVE TO CRY TO GET ANYTHING. He can decide for himself and do it by himself. Through this freedom to decide for himself, he develops self-discipline. When everything is decided for him, the discipline comes from the outside. He doesn’t learn self-discipline till he is older and, like we all know, it is much harder to learn it when you’re older, if at all! Self-discipline is a skill that you want to teach your child from a young age, and miraculously, it comes from the freedom they get to choose for themselves….starting from something as basic as when he gets out of bed!

Simple Principle: More Freedom = less crying + a more self-disciplined child.

Do not put your baby in a standing position

Wednesday, August 24th, 2011 8:42 am | By Stephanie Woo

Babies love to sit. They love to stand even more. Parents will put babies in those positions because they look adorable AND it seems to make the baby very happy.

Babies love to stand because they get to see the world from a completely different point of view. However, there are several reasons not to do this before they’re ready.

1. Babies who stand before they’re ready can be bow-legged. Putting them in the standing positions is also problematic for their developing spine. The same goes for sitting. When you put a baby in a sitting position, if they fall forwards or backwards, it means they are not ready to be sitting. Don’t let them stay in that position for long. Bumbo seats are designed to keep baby in sitting positions before they are ready, do not put your baby in one of those. It is detrimental to their development.

2. Holding your baby up to stand or putting them in contraptions that keep them in those positions, like the walkers, are very bad for your baby. Children who are put in those contraptions tend to move on to the next movement milestone (sitting, crawling, pulling up, walking) LATER because they don’t have the motivation to learn to do those things on their own. Even more importantly, they don’t develop the proper cause and effect, “When I do this, I get to see this.” Instead, they don’t need to do anything and they get to see the world from the point of a view of someone sitting or standing. It skews their understanding of their body and movement – which is something they spend so much time exploring and learning the first couple years of life.

So help them develop the proper cause and effect of movement.  Be patient with them. Allow them to reach the stage where they can pull up to stand on their own. The joy and confidence they develop when they can finally do it by themselves is a priceless gift you can give them.

Language Delays

Wednesday, August 24th, 2011 8:18 am | By Stephanie Woo

50 yrs ago, kids spoke in full sentences btn 2-2.5 yrs old. Kids today speak in full sentences btn 2.5-3. That’s a 6-month delay. Why? Kids in front of TV/computer spend less time absorbing language. Studies show kids of deaf parents who are put in front of TV to “learn” language can mimic words, but they do not understand that spoken language is used for communication. TV doesn’t teach. Human interaction does.