Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

1-2 years old

幼儿与睡觉时间

星期四, 十二月 13th, 2012 11:51 上午 | By Stephanie Woo
Toddler and Bedtime

过去两个月,要让23个月大的B以及M去睡觉,是段挺难的经历,在我关灯离开她们的房间之後,她俩轮流哭,妳们有其它人有这样的经历吗?我试了好多种方法,一个晚上又一个晚上,让她们留在她们的床上睡,而我在我的床睡。

我试了很多种方法:1 陪到她们睡著为止(很累人,而且让小孩养成习惯,是我最不喜欢的方法);2 让小孩自己哭到入睡(也是我比较不喜欢的方法,当我真的很累又没办法时用过,有时候真的有效果);3 就让她们在房间外面玩,让他们熬夜。

我将我试过并且有效的方法整理如下,过去两週,状况好多了,通常我关灯之後五分钟,我就可以离开她们的房间,她们会留在她们的房间里面,最後自己睡著,直到第二天早上7点。我还是持续的在寻找方法,以免有时候不管用。如果你有其它的方法,请留言给我。

  1. 妈妈跟爸爸都参与到小孩睡觉準备的过程。有无数的夜晚,小孩就是不让我离开她们的房间,并且她们会用哭来对付我,让她们不哭的其中一个方法就是跟她们说“爸爸等会会进来跟妳们道晚安,妳们要爸爸进来了吗?”通常她们会说好。不知为什麽,通常爸爸只要出现5分钟,就可以让她们睡著。也许,不是每个爸爸在小孩要睡觉的时候都有空这样做,但是,我很相信(我也这样说服我老公)爸爸们对於让小孩们睡著比妈妈还厉害,他现在也相信了。
  2. 给个“小儿按摩”。Brooke最近很需要抱,在观察Brooke一段时间之後,我有了这样的一个方法。你可以这样做:在关灯之後,将小孩紧紧抱在你的胸膛,用你的双手手掌摩擦小孩的背,腿,手臂,以及脚,轻柔坚定并且缓慢。尽量的让她靠近你,就像是婴儿按摩,不过对象是你家的幼儿,我家的两个孩子轮流,当我在为其中一个按摩的时候,我会跟另一个说“我正在抱你的姐姐/妹妹,请不要打扰我们”,Brooke以及Mackenzie都很喜欢,Mackenzie会用中文跟我说“Mackenzie要用力一点”,大约5-10分钟的肌肤亲密接触,她们会回到各自的枕头,跟我道晚安。最近的几个星期,这是最有效的方法,特别是我先生出差的那个星期,不知识小婴儿需要很多的肌肤接触,幼儿也是很需要de.
  3. 千万不要改变睡眠的流程。之前已经吃过饭,喝了奶,也读过故事了, 在晚上8:15-8:30之间,我们一定会去準备小孩要睡觉。白天的流程可能会有一些改变(我还是努力的维持下午一点的午睡时间),但是,晚上的睡觉时间是不会改变的,如果我和老公要出门,我们也会请保姆遵守同样的时间规律,有很多家庭在某些时候会放松(假日,生日,特别的日子,週末),但是幼儿很强烈的需要秩序以及固定流程,让小孩依照成人的时间来修改,只会让情况一团乱,让孩子没有办法自己去睡觉。
  4. 在睡觉之前的一个小时,跟小孩再一次说明她们睡觉之前的準备过程。当我在为小孩洗澡的时候,我会将整个流程再说一次“洗澡之後,妳们就要喝奶,妳们躺在床上之後,我就会给你们读故事,接著我就会关灯,妈妈就会离开妳们的房间,妳们就会自己睡著。”在关灯前的15分钟,我还会将流程再睡一次,这样的心里预备过程对每个人都很有帮助。
  5. 睡眠的自由与限制。当她们说“我还不想睡”,我就说“你还不需要睡,你得要待在房间里,但是你可以不要睡著。”我说的时候,是真心的。她们睡在地板床上,因此,她们有自由能够再房间里自由移动,一直到她们够累了,就会自己睡著。

我读了很多的部落格/博客上的文章,告诉家长要珍惜睡觉的时间,因为,小孩长大之後,她们不会喜欢你现在对待她的方式。我知道它们说的是真的,但是为了我现在自己的快乐以及心灵健康,我也需要有时间给自己,而自己的时间就是她们睡著之後的时间,如果你家现在有个幼儿,你应该懂得我说什麽,每个晚上当我有几个小时给我自己,并且可以好好睡一觉,第二天早上我们见到彼此的时候,我们都会开心一点!

情感疏通了,纠正才能发生

星期一, 十二月 3rd, 2012 10:24 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

5分钟的互动,让整个概念更清楚了:情感疏通了,纠正才能发生。

午後散步回到家里,Brooke脱掉她的外套,丢在地上,然後头也不回的就走掉了,我说“Brooke,请把你的外套收起来。”她还是走掉了,接著我就更大声并且坚定的跟她再说一次,她还是不回头,我把外套拿给她,抓住她的肩膀“Brooke,收掉外套。”她试著要脱逃。

然後,我想到了,我週末的时候不在家,而且比平常回家的时间还要晚。於是,我蹲下来问她“好,我可以抱抱你吗?”她看了我一眼点头表示“好”,所以我坐下来抱著她,我们都没有说话,我只是抱著她,摸摸她的头髮,而她就吸她的拇指(她到现在还是会吸手指)。我让她决定什麽时候停下来。过了叁分钟之後,她抬头看我,我说“亲爱的,你可以把外套放回去吗?”她站起来,找到外套的吊环,将她的外套掛回去,然後很开心的走开了。

我几乎每天都跟我的小孩一起在家,我觉得跟她们连结很好,但是我不知道她们觉得如何,於是,我了解到,当小孩以行为来表现情绪时,她们没有感受到连结,这就是我需要给她们多一点的时候。

小孩自己穿脱袜子

星期五, 十一月 30th, 2012 3:47 下午 | By Stephanie Woo
Brooke Puts On Socks

Brooke自己穿袜子

这里有个我在Brooke在22个月大的时候拍摄的视频,她自己穿袜子。要帮助你家里的幼儿自己做这个活动,最好是还很有弹性的新袜子,这样,小孩打开之後,比较容易将脚滑进去,旧的太小的袜子或已经洗了很多次而没有弹性的袜子,会比较需要一点力气才能够撑开。尤其是一开始的时候,多花一点钱买品质比较好的,最好尺寸也稍微大一点的,当小孩掌握了技巧,能够自己打开袜子之後,任何一双袜子就都不是问题了!

在衣橱多放几双袜子,让小孩随时可以自己拿取。这个视频拍摄的时间,是她们要上床睡觉之前,并不是因为要出门所以才穿袜子,单纯就是练习。你还会看到她脱掉刚穿上的红色袜子,换上白色的,就这样穿了又脱,脱了又穿,这就是很棒的一个日常生活工作啊!

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

1-2 years old

Bedtime and Toddler

Thursday, December 13th, 2012 11:51 am | By Stephanie Woo
Toddler and Bedtime

Toddler and Bedtime

For the past two months, it’s been really hard to put B and M (23 months) down at bedtime. They take turns crying when I try to leave their room after lights-out. Anyone else experiencing this? I’ve had to try A LOT of different things to keep them in their bed and me in mine night after night.

Here are things I’ve tried that I don’t like: 1. stay till they fall asleep (exhausting, habit-forming and my least favorite of options), 2. cry it out (second least favorite option which I resort to when I’m absolutely exasperated, but it has worked on occasion) 3. let them stay up and play outside of their room.

Well, I also started compiling a list of things that HAS worked for us. Things have gotten better in the last two weeks. I can usually leave the room 5 minutes after lights out and they will stay in their room and fall asleep by themselves till the next morning at 7am. I’m also looking for more ideas in case these run out of steam! Please post yours in the comment area.

  1. Involve both Mom and Dad with bedtime. I cannot count the number of nights I just cannot extricate myself from a child’s hug and the only thing that would keep them from a meltdown when I try to leave is to say, “Daddy’s gonna come in to say good-night to you. Do you want to see Daddy?” That usually results in a yes. And somehow, Daddy only needs a 5-minute appearance to put them to sleep. Maybe not all Dads can do it in that time, but I’m completely convinced (and use it with my husband all the time) that Dads are better at bedtime than Moms. He believes it now, too.
  2. Give your child a “Toddler Massage.” I came up with this after observing Brooke, who has recently been asking to be held A LOT. So this what you do: after you turn off the lights, hold your child against your belly tightly. Using your whole palm, rub your child’s back, legs, arms and feet firmly, gently and slowly. Hold her as close to you as you can. It’s like an infant massage, except it’s for your toddler. I do it first to one child, then to the other. When I’m massaging one child, I’ll say to the other, “I’m holding your sister now, Please don’t interrupt us.” Both Brooke and Mackenzie love this. Mackenzie will say to me in Chinese, “Mackenzie wants tightly.”  After 5-10 minutes of this intense intimacy and skin contact, they’ll crawl back to their little pillows and say good-night to me. This has been the most successful thing I’ve tried in recent weeks, especially during the week my husband was on a business trip.  Not only do babies need a lot of skin contact, toddlers (and adults) need it, too.
  3. Never ever change the bedtime routine. We eat dinner, take bath, drink milk and do storytime. Then it’s lights out somewhere between 815-830. No exceptions. Daytime schedule may change (though I make every effort to honor the 1pm nap schedule as well), but this bedtime routine never ever changes. If my husband and I need to go out, we ask our nanny to follow this schedule. Many families will make an exception here and there (holidays, birthdays, special events, weekends), but a toddler’s need for order and routine is so intense that expecting him to accommodate to your schedule will just mess with his ability to fall asleep at bedtime on his own.
  4. Talk them through the bedtime routine an hour before bedtime. When we’re bathing, I’ll give them a rundown of what’s going to happen: “After we bathe, we’re going to have milk, then I’m going to read you a story in bed, and then we’ll turn out the lights. And then Mommy is going to go out and you will fall sleep by yourself.” And then I repeat the rundown again 15 minutes before lights out. Everyone benefits from a little mental preparation.
  5. Giving them freedom within limits around sleeping. When they say, “I don’t want to sleep,” I say, “You don’t have to sleep. You have to stay in your room during bedtime, but you don’t have to sleep.” And I mean it when I say this to them. The floor beds they sleep in give them the freedom to move around till they feel tired enough to fall asleep.

I’ve read many blog postings that tell parents to cherish this time, that after they grow older, they won’t want you the way they do now. I can imagine that being true, but for my sanity and happiness NOW, I also need time to myself. And that happens after they go to bed. If you have a toddler right now, I’m sure you can relate. When I can have a good few hours to myself at night and then a good night’s sleep, we are all much happier when we see each other the next morning!

Connection Before Correction

Monday, December 3rd, 2012 10:24 am | By Stephanie Woo

 It was a 5 minute interaction that made this clear: Connection Before Correction.

We had just come home from our afternoon walk. Brooke takes off her jacket and throws it on the ground. I say, “Brooke, please put your jacket away.” She starts running off. I say it again in a louder and sterner voice. She doesn’t look back. I take the jacket to her, hold her arm and say, “Brooke, put it away.” She tries to pull away.

And then I remember that I had been away for the weekend and been coming home later than usual. So I get down on the floor and say, “Okay, can I hold you?” She looks at me and nods ‘yes.’ So I sit there and hold her. We don’t say a word, I just hold her and stroke her hair while she sucks on her thumb (she still does that). I would let her decide when she’s done. Three minutes go by. Then she looks up at me and I say, “Darling, can you put your jacket away?” She stands up, fumbles around looking for the hood and hangs her jacket on the hook, then runs off happily.

I’m home with my kids everyday, so overall, I feel connected to my children, but I don’t know how they feel. Then I figured it out. When they act out, they don’t feel connected. That’s when I know it’s time to give them more.

Putting On and Taking Off Socks

Friday, November 30th, 2012 3:47 pm | By Stephanie Woo
Brooke Puts On Socks

Brooke puts on socks by herself

Here’s a video of Brooke putting on socks by herself at 22 months. To help your toddler do this activity by herself, the sock needs to be relatively new, so it still has a lot of ‘stretch’ when the child opens it. This way, they can easily slide their whole foot in with one swoop. Old socks that are a little small or have been washed repeatedly lose their stretch and require a lot of strength to stretch open. Especially in the beginning, when your child is learning to put on socks, it’s worth investing in some new high-quality, slightly-larger socks. As they master the skill of opening the sock, putting their foot in and pulling the sock up – they’ll soon be able to put on any pair!

Keep several pairs of socks out on the shelf so they can access it at anytime. This video was taken right before bedtime, so she’s not putting on socks to go out or anything – she’s just practicing. And you’ll also see her taking off the red pair she just put on to put on the white pair. Practicing putting on and taking off socks is a great Montessori Practical Life activity!