Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

6-12 months

‘那是“休旅车”,“吉普车”,还是”掀式斜背小轿车“?

星期一, 十二月 24th, 2012 12:23 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

Vehicles on the Road

自从B还有M可以在婴儿推车里自己坐直,我们每一天的散步就包含命名我们在街上看见的事物,一开始都是一些静物,像”邮筒“,”街灯“,”停止号誌“等,很快的,我们就开始命名交通工具。

与其只是说”车“,我会告诉孩子们车子的种类是”休旅车“,”吉普车“,”掀式斜背小轿车“,”跑车“,”敞篷车“,”卡车“,”商用卡车“,“大拖车”,“校车”或是“公车”,在她们开始走路之前,我不想要别人听见我对10个月大的小孩清楚的说一字一字的说”商-用-卡-车“,我会蹲下到小孩的高度,对她们轻轻的说,她们约20个月大左右,每当我跟她们强调我们看见的是”吉普车“而不是”休旅车“(有一段时间,她们看见车子就叫休旅车),我会四下注意看有没有人听见我,别人可能会以为我有问题,但是现在,当她们走在街上,她们都会正确的命名各种交通工具,我以前的辛苦没有白费,当她们说”那是掀式斜背小轿车不是休旅车”时,我内心为她们也为我自己雀跃。

在0-3岁的期间,小孩的语言发展处於敏感的阶段,我的培训师Judi Orion不断的说“你就是不断的给予小孩语言,终於成果会出现。”

合作,帮助小孩自己做!

星期三, 十一月 14th, 2012 12:44 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

Daddy Helps Brooke

多数的成人都会帮小孩把事情做完,为什麽呢?因为帮她们做完,要比教她们如何做要容易的多。

就拿餐後清洁来距离说明,家长有两个选择:花30秒钟帮小孩把餐桌清洁好;或者让小孩自己清洁桌子。如果要小孩清洁,你要想想髒碗盘要放在哪里,小孩要如何擦桌子,清洁用的海绵要放在哪里,之後她们要如何清洁她们的手,这些细节都想清楚了,还要想想如何教给小孩,然後要不厌其烦的一次又一次的示範来强化。。。。。。

当然是成人自己清洁比较容易又省事,然而,这简单的选择会让你觉得就像是地鼠日,你就在扮演奴隶的角色。另外一个比较麻烦的方法,却能够给你的孩子有机会可以练习她们的动作技巧,发展注意细节的专注力,学习逻辑顺序,给小孩一种独立的感觉,让孩子可以开心,有安全感,又有自信。

所以,该怎麽样,你选择吧!

有些朋友很有勇气又有毅力,决定要选择第二条路,我倒是有个建议,餐後要教你的小孩清洁餐桌(不只是餐桌的清洁,是做所有事情的通则),要跟孩子一起合作,小孩通常是没有办法在一开始就全部自己来,那是可以预见的未来,但是对於小年龄的孩子来说,仍然是个挑战,所以我通常跟孩子说“我们一起来清洁吧!我把髒碗盘放在餐车里,你把勺子也收进餐车。”或者“我们一起来清洁,你把碗(我从桌上拿起碗)放进餐车。”然後我再把盘子递给她,然後是勺子等等。最主要的用意是希望小孩能够参与到清洁的过程中,即使最後你觉得多数的清洁是你做的,如果小孩有参与,那麽就是在正确的道路上了,一步一脚印,慢慢的小孩就全部都会了,某一些日子,小孩也会有退步的时候,有时候她们也会累,也会有情绪不好的时候,不要强迫小孩,不要因为小孩一时不愿意参与清洁就惩罚小孩,经常跟孩子说“我们一起来!”,即使那一天是你做完所有的清洁,明天,也许小孩的状况好一点了,她们就会多做一些!

对於小孩,我很能够同理,从妈妈怀抱里事事有人照顾的宝宝,转化成为一个拥有自我的“小”成人,是多麽大的变化!如果,你愿意跟小孩合作,在未来她们的和你的生活,都会更好!

我们在巴尔的摩的家Part III:我们穿衣服的地方

星期一, 十月 22nd, 2012 11:00 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

在Brooke以及Mackenzie22个月大的时候,她们终于能够自己穿脱衣服了,她们能够自己脱掉上衣,裤子,洋装,袜子,鞋子,以及外套,多数时候她们都能自己做,只需要一点点协助。我承认,在我没有耐心的时候,我的确会动手帮她们,我希望自己帮的次数再少一点!但是,每一次,她们的表现,都让我知道,只要给她们足够的时间,她们就能够独立的完成。

你家的孩子不知道是否跟我的两个女儿一样,对于衣服特别的喜欢,大约在她们六个月大左右,她们的衣服就都放在一个开放式的架子上,就像照片中的架子,孩子是可以轻易的就取得。基本上,任何时候孩子都可以来把玩她们的衣服还有鞋子,她们喜欢看见我们如何穿脱衣服,然后她们自己也同样的去做,也许因为我给她们很多这样的机会,好多练习的机会,她们对于穿衣服可就是非常的自足。

这里是孩子们现在换衣服的地方,在照片里你看不见,但是,这就在她们的工作区域旁边,练习穿脱衣服就跟使用剪刀或者读一本书,有时候,她们就只爱换衣服!

在最上层你看见的是袜子,她们俩可喜欢袜子了,在第二层是她们的上衣以及洋装,在最底层是她们的裤子,训练裤以及尿片,基本上她们已经都完成如厕练习了,但是如果我们要出门的时间超过一个小时,或者是在晚上出门,我就回给她们穿上尿布。在地上的是她们的鞋子。

我不会在她们穿衣服的过程中打扰她们,这表示,每个星期,你都有机会发现某些时候她们的裤子穿反了,有时两只脚都穿上了左脚鞋(来自於不同的两双鞋,因为她们分享同样两双鞋子),两只脚穿的袜子颜色不同,内裤外穿,穿两件夹克等等,我觉得挺有意思的,但是,我不会去纠正她们,如果她们不感到困扰,也不会困扰到我,更重要的是孩子们可以自己做决定,并且能够坚持住。

在巴尔的摩,天气渐渐的凉爽了,所以她们开始穿外套了,在我拍这个视频之前,我只是在门上给她们安上了可以吊外套的吊钩,这就是我们如何利用我们家空间的一个好例子:

在下一个文章里,我将让你知道孩子如何穿外套的好方法,小孩无法像成人一样的自己穿,因为她们的手臂太短,但是你读了下一篇就知道了!

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

6-12 months

Is that an ‘SUV,’ a ‘Jeep’ or a ‘Hatchback?’

Monday, December 24th, 2012 12:23 pm | By Stephanie Woo

Vehicles on the Road

Ever since B and M could sit up in the stroller by themselves, our daily walks would include identifying everything we see on the streets. It started with stationary things, like “mailbox,” “street lights” and “STOP sign.” Pretty soon, we got into vehicles.

Instead of ‘car,’ I’ll distinguish for them whether a vehicle is an SUV, jeep, hatchback, sports car, convertible, truck, commercial truck, 18-wheeler, school bus or bus. Before they could walk, I didn’t want people overhearing me enunciating “com-mer-cial tr-uuuuck” to 10–month olds, so I always got down to their level and  kept my voice low. When they were 20 months, whenever I emphasized to them that something is a ‘Jeep’ and not an ‘SUV’ (for a time, they called every vehicle an SUV) , I would look around and hope no one overhears me and thinks I’m a crazy mom. But now, when they walk down the streets and name the vehicles correctly, I know my hard work has paid off. When they say things like, “That’s a hatchback. That’s not an SUV,” I find myself clapping – for them and for myself!

Between 0-3, children are at the height of their Sensitive Period for language. I can just hear my Montessori Trainer, Judi Orion, say over and over, “You keep giving them the language and one day, it will come out.”

Collaborating With Your Child

Wednesday, November 14th, 2012 12:44 pm | By Stephanie Woo

Daddy Helps Brooke

Most adults just want to do things FOR the child. Why? It’s so much easier than teaching them to do it.

Let’s take cleaning up after meals for instance. You have two choices, you can clean the table for them, that takes about 30 seconds. OR you can have them do it. Then you have to figure out where to put the dirty dishes, how they will wipe the table, where to put the sponge, how they will clean their hands. And then once you’ve got the logistics down, you have to show them how to do it and then enforce it over and over and over and over and over…

One is clearly easier than the other. But one will make you feel like it’s Groundhog’s Day and you are playing the role of the slave, while the other gives your child the opportunity to practice motor skills, develop attention to detail, learn sequencing and give him a sense of independence that lead to happy, secure, confident children.

So you pick.

For those of you courageous and conscientious enough to take the second route, I have a piece of advice. When you are teaching your child to clean up after meals (this really applies to everything, but I’m just using this as an example), collaborate with them. Young children cannot do it all on their own all at once. They will be able to eventually, but it can be overwhelming at this age. So I’ll say, “Let’s clean up together. I’ll put the bowl and the plate  in the dishcart and you put the spoon in the dishcart.” OR “Let’s clean up together. You put this bowl (I’ll pick it up from the table) in the dishcart.” Then I’ll hand them the plate for them to put in the dishcart, the spoon, etc.  As long as they are doing something toward cleaning, that is what you’re looking for. Even if at the end, you feel you did most of the cleaning, if they participated, then you are on the right path. Gradually, over time, you can pull back and they can do more. There will be regression on bad days. If they are tired or cranky, don’t force it. Don’t punish them for not cleaning. Instead, use these words often, “Let’s do it together!” Even if you end up doing most of it that day, let it go. Tomorrow, when they are in a better place, they will do more of it.

I have a lot empathy for little ones. Transitioning from a baby in mama’s arms where everything is done to becoming your own little person – it’s a big transition. If you’re willing to collaborate with them, it’ll make their life –and yours – a little easier.

Our Montessori Home In Baltimore Part III: Where We Get Dressed

Monday, October 22nd, 2012 11:00 am | By Stephanie Woo

At 22 months, Brooke and Mackenzie are finally able to undress and dress themselves completely. They can take off and put on shirts, pants, dresses, socks, shoes and jackets with very little or no help. I have to confess I do help them when I get impatient, which is more often than I’d like to admit! But they’ve demonstrated that given enough time, they can do it all on their own.

I don’t know if your kids are like this, but mine are pretty obsessed with clothing. Since they were six months old, we’ve always kept their clothes on an open, accessible shelf like this. They can come and play with their clothes and shoes as much as they want. They love to watch us get dressed and undressed and doing it themselves. Probably because I’ve given them so much liberty around this, all the practice they’ve gotten has made them very self-sufficient when it comes to clothing. 

Right now, this where they get dressed. You can’t see it in the picture, but this is right next to their work area. Getting dressed and undressing is just as interesting to them as using scissors or reading a book (if not more interesting on some days!).

On the top row, you see socks. They are obsessed with socks. On the second row are shirts and dresses. On the bottom row are pants, training pants and diapers. They are pretty much potty trained, but we do put them in diapers if we are going out for more than an hour or at night. And on the floor are their shoes.

I don’t interfere when they dress themselves. This means, on a weekly basis, you’ll find them wearing their pants backwards, two left shoes (from two different pairs of shoes, usually because they are sharing two pairs of shoes), two different colored socks, underwear over their pants, multiple jackets. etc. I think it’s hilarious, but I don’t correct them. If it doesn’t bother them, then it doesn’t bother me. What’s more important is the fact that they are capable of making decisions and following through on those decisions.

The weather just turned cold here in Baltimore so they are starting to put on jackets. I just installed these hooks on the walls for their jackets two days before this video. This is a good example of how we use this space in our home:

In the next post, I’ll show you a GREAT method for toddlers to put on their own jackets. They can’t do it the way we do it because their arms are too short, but wait till you see this!