Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Care and feed

在巴尔的摩的家Part II:我们吃饭的地方

星期四, 十月 18th, 2012 9:22 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

继续看看我们具有蒙特梭利特色的新家,这里是我们吃饭的地方

  1. 这是我们从孩子们六个月大就开始使用的断奶桌,这桌子花了我们150美金,但是却非常的物超所值,超过其它我们给孩子们买的东西。我把之前带侧把手的椅子换成重量较轻的板条椅,这种板条椅,是玛利亚蒙特梭利亲自发明的。制作的材料是桦木,所以重量较轻,小孩们可以自己搬动,而且因为设计的好,整个椅子很稳固,同时我觉得这种椅子很好看。如果你也想要订制,可以发电子邮件给我,介绍给你在Denver帮我们制做椅子的木匠。
  2. 杯子和小水壶是桌子上的固定摆设,白天的时候,小孩要喝水时,就可以自己取用。
  3. 脏碗篮平常放在桌子的下方,用过餐之后,她们会把桌子清洁干净,并且将脏碗盘餐具放进篮子里。
  4. 这些是她们用的餐桌垫。我事先在一张纸上头画好盘子,碗,叉子以及刀子的线条,然后护贝。这是我学到的蒙特梭利小撇步,能够帮助孩子们很好的自己摆设餐桌,当她们在摆设餐桌时,她们还会指着叉子的线条,命名“叉子”,然后去旁边的餐车取一支叉子,接着指指盘子的线条,命名之后去取盘子。这些线条给孩子很好的指引,我极力推荐,况且制做简单,又非常便宜,点击视频,看看孩子们如何使用吧!
  5. 这是她们用的碗,盘,叉子以及勺子,这些物件都分别放在各自的容器里。
  6. 这些毛巾用来擦嘴,擦手,有时候水灑了也可以擦。我在毛巾上头缝了一个环,就容易吊挂起来,这是我在接受蒙特梭利培训时学到的,让我省了好多的擦手纸。
  7. 这是小篮子可以装两个海绵,小孩用来擦她们的餐垫,点击视频可以看她们如何做。
  8. 这个带轮子的餐车很轻,占用的空间也不大,可以随需要四处移动。

你可以参考以下的视频,看看我怎么规划的,好有个概念。视频中,孩子们在做水果奶昔,摆设餐桌,然后坐下来吃她们的早餐。

在我们开始之前,我先准备了制作水果奶昔需要的材料,每一样材料都分别放在各自的小容器里,让孩子有可能可以自己制作奶昔。

 

让我们开始动手吧!

如果你对于让孩子制作向日葵子奶昔,可以参考以下链接的影片,非常简单!我自己制作的时候,舍弃了巴西核桃不用,改用了腰果或向日葵子: http://livingmaxwell.com/how-to-make-nut-milk

鸡腿整只来,更有滋味!

星期四, 二月 23rd, 2012 5:10 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

几天前,老公带我们全家到Le Pain Quotidien吃午饭,是纽约市里一家很棒的有机餐馆。隔壁桌有个两岁半的孩子正在吃瓶装的糊状食物(baby food),而我们家13个月大的双生女儿则在享用牛角包,柳橙汁,以及火腿起司法式咸派(quiche lorraine)。

其实,我也有可能是那个给瓶装食物的母亲,如果不是在3个月前,我的母亲把我骂醒的话!当我的孩子们十个月大的时候,我还给她们吃食物处理机打过的糊状食物呢!

我妈妈﹐Ms. Lam, 叮咛我﹕“给她们吃整个苹果,让她们啃整只鸡腿,或给她们吃整个饺子也行。食物要吃大块的﹐不要帮她们切碎,让他们直接咬下去!”。于是她们11个月大的时候,我便开始照着做。来看看结果如何吧!

要吃一整粒苹果需要异常的意志力和“牙齿力”。

Brooke坐在沙发上花了半个小时吃这个苹果。13个月大的宝宝能吃掉这么多苹果是不是有一点吓人!

长长的乌冬面又好吃又好玩

一个鸡肉饺不够﹐再来一个吧!

鸡腿真好吃!

整个苹果拿来咬或整只鸡腿拿来啃,跟吃切碎过的食物相比,感觉非常的不一样!让你的孩子有全新的经验,体验成人吃东西的乐趣吧!小孩对于大人的世界充满好奇 心,不妨让她们尝一尝滋味吧!小孩都喜欢自己动手,如果您的小孩会挑食,提供她们可以自己动手拿的食物,会有意像不到的效果!

自己拿东西吃

星期五, 十一月 18th, 2011 7:29 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

11个月大的Brooke和Mackenzie最喜欢的小点心就是有机的小圈圈麦片(Organic Cheerios)。我把麦片用一个保鲜袋封住,然后放在厨房柜子的最底层抽屉。有一天,我就示範给她们看她们应该怎么打开抽屉,拿出里面的麦片。

2个星期前,我正在打扫房间﹐出来时,看到Mackenzie坐在厨房的柜子旁,拿着保鲜袋吃着里面的Cheerios麦片!

原来吃保鲜袋里的Cheerios不够过瘾。隔天,我又在厨房找到她的时候,保鲜袋搁在一旁,她正在直接吃盒子里的麦片!自从那次起,当我在厨房烧菜时, 她们就会随时跑进来拿点饭前点心。虽然饭会吃的少一点,但这个经验给他们的自由和信心﹐我觉得比较重要哦!(当然柜子里不能一次放太多﹐不吃饭也不行!)

2011年11月25日星期五,上午11:51的更新

两天后,我们发现Mackenzie自己在吃从抽屉后面找到的巧克力饼乾。我以为我把包装封得很紧的啊!?她还拿了一个给Brooke吃呢!妈妈一定要记得那个最底层的抽屉不能随便放饼乾了!

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Care and feed

Our Montessori Home In Baltimore Part II: Where We Eat

Thursday, October 18th, 2012 9:22 am | By Stephanie Woo

To continue the tour of our new Montessori home, here is where we eat.

1. This is the same weaning table we’ve had since they were 6 months old – we’ve gotten more use out of the $150 table than anything else we’ve ever bought for the kids. However, I replaced the heavy armchairs with light slatted chairs. These chairs were designed by Maria Montessori herself. They are made of birch wood, so they are lightweight enough for children to carry, but the design makes them extremely sturdy. I also find them to be beautiful to look at. Email me if you want the name of the carpenter in Denver who made these for me.

2. The cups and pitcher are permanent fixtures on this table. This is where the children get a drink of water during the day.

3. When not in use, we keep this dirty dish basket under the table. After meals, they clean up their own table and put their dishes in here.

4. These are their placemats. I’ve pre-drawn outlines of plate, bowl, fork and knife on a piece of paper, then laminated it. This great Montessori trick makes it so easy for little ones to set their own table. When they’re setting the table, you’ll see them point at the outline of the fork and say, “Fork,” then go to the cart to get a fork, and then point of the outline of the plate and say, “Plate,” then get one, etc. It’s like a great little cheat-sheet! I highly-recommend it. Takes about 5 minutes to make and costs very little. You can see how the children use it in the video below.

5. Here are their bowls, plates, fork and spoon. I keep the fork and spoon in separate containers.

6. These towels are used for their mouth, hands and for wiping up spills. The little hoops I’ve sewn onto the towel makes it really easy for them to hang on hooks. This tip I learned in my Montesorri training has saved me thousands of paper towels.

7. This little basket holds two sponges, which they use for wiping their mat. You can see them using it in this video here

8. This rolling cart is light, takes up very little floor space and can be moved around easily.

In order for you to get an idea of how we use this space, here is a video of the children making a smoothie, setting the table, then sitting down to eat their breakfast.

Before we start, here are the ingredients we use in the smoothie. Putting out each ingredient in individual containers makes it possible for children to make this smoothie on their own.

 Here we go!

If you’re interested in making fresh sunflower seed milk, here’s a great video. It’s super easy. And instead of using Brazil nut, like he does in the video, I use cashews or sunflower seeds: http://livingmaxwell.com/how-to-make-nut-milk

Give ’em A Whole Chicken Leg

Thursday, February 23rd, 2012 5:10 pm | By Stephanie Woo

The other day, B, M, hubby and I went to Le Pain Quotidien, a great organic restaurant in NYC, for lunch. We watched the Mom and Dad next to us feed their 2 1/2 year old baby mush out of a jar and plastic bag, while our 13 month olds ate quiche lorraine and croissant.

I would have been that mom if my own mother hadn’t set me straight three months ago. At ten months, they were still eating mushy foods, most of it went through the food processor before ending up on their plate.

“You should give them an entire apple, a whole chicken leg, whole dumplings. Give them big pieces of food, don’t cut it up, let them bite into it!” were my mom’s instructions. So starting at 11 months, that’s what I did. Here’s what the result looks like:

It takes a different level of willpower and “teeth-power” to eat a whole apple

Brooke sat on the sofa and worked on that apple for half an hour – that is a lot of apple for a 13 month old!

Long udon noodles are delicious and so much fun to eat

Chicken and corn dumplings – gimme two of those for dinner!

Chicken wings – delicious!

Biting into a whole apple or sinking your teeth into chicken wings gives food an entirely different feel than tiny chopped-up pieces. Give your child a different experience – one that is true to how we adults experience food. Children want to learn what the real world is like, give them a taste! If you have a picky eater, try giving them big pieces of food that they can eat by themselves. Kids always like something better when they can do it by themselves!

Getting their own food whenever they want

Friday, November 18th, 2011 7:29 pm | By Stephanie Woo

At 11-months, Brooke and Mackenzie’s favorite snack is the organic version of Cheerios. I keep it in the bottom drawer of the kitchen cabinet in an open ziploc bag. I did a demonstration for them one day: how to open the drawer, where the cereal is, etc.

Two weeks ago, one day, while I was cleaning the bedroom, I came out to find Mackenzie sitting here with the drawer opened, eating Cheerios out of the ziploc bag!

Apparently the cheerios in the ziploc bag did not keep her interest, because the next day, I found her here, ziploc bag intact, eating directly out of the cereal box! Since then, when I am cooking their meal in the kitchen, they will come for a little pre-dinner snack whenever they want. Even if it spoils their appetite a little bit, I think the freedom and confidence that comes from being able to get your own food whenever you want is much more important!

Update on Friday, November 25, 2011 at 11:51AM by Stephanie Woo

Two days later, we found Mackenzie eating a chocolate cookie she had found at the back of the drawer and wrangled out of the packaging we thought we had sealed tightly. She even gave one to Brooke. Note to self: Move all cookies and sweet cereal OUT of the bottom drawer!