Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Speak and communicate

‘那是“休旅车”,“吉普车”,还是”掀式斜背小轿车“?

星期一, 十二月 24th, 2012 12:23 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

Vehicles on the Road

自从B还有M可以在婴儿推车里自己坐直,我们每一天的散步就包含命名我们在街上看见的事物,一开始都是一些静物,像”邮筒“,”街灯“,”停止号誌“等,很快的,我们就开始命名交通工具。

与其只是说”车“,我会告诉孩子们车子的种类是”休旅车“,”吉普车“,”掀式斜背小轿车“,”跑车“,”敞篷车“,”卡车“,”商用卡车“,“大拖车”,“校车”或是“公车”,在她们开始走路之前,我不想要别人听见我对10个月大的小孩清楚的说一字一字的说”商-用-卡-车“,我会蹲下到小孩的高度,对她们轻轻的说,她们约20个月大左右,每当我跟她们强调我们看见的是”吉普车“而不是”休旅车“(有一段时间,她们看见车子就叫休旅车),我会四下注意看有没有人听见我,别人可能会以为我有问题,但是现在,当她们走在街上,她们都会正确的命名各种交通工具,我以前的辛苦没有白费,当她们说”那是掀式斜背小轿车不是休旅车”时,我内心为她们也为我自己雀跃。

在0-3岁的期间,小孩的语言发展处於敏感的阶段,我的培训师Judi Orion不断的说“你就是不断的给予小孩语言,终於成果会出现。”

合作,帮助小孩自己做!

星期三, 十一月 14th, 2012 12:44 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

Daddy Helps Brooke

多数的成人都会帮小孩把事情做完,为什麽呢?因为帮她们做完,要比教她们如何做要容易的多。

就拿餐後清洁来距离说明,家长有两个选择:花30秒钟帮小孩把餐桌清洁好;或者让小孩自己清洁桌子。如果要小孩清洁,你要想想髒碗盘要放在哪里,小孩要如何擦桌子,清洁用的海绵要放在哪里,之後她们要如何清洁她们的手,这些细节都想清楚了,还要想想如何教给小孩,然後要不厌其烦的一次又一次的示範来强化。。。。。。

当然是成人自己清洁比较容易又省事,然而,这简单的选择会让你觉得就像是地鼠日,你就在扮演奴隶的角色。另外一个比较麻烦的方法,却能够给你的孩子有机会可以练习她们的动作技巧,发展注意细节的专注力,学习逻辑顺序,给小孩一种独立的感觉,让孩子可以开心,有安全感,又有自信。

所以,该怎麽样,你选择吧!

有些朋友很有勇气又有毅力,决定要选择第二条路,我倒是有个建议,餐後要教你的小孩清洁餐桌(不只是餐桌的清洁,是做所有事情的通则),要跟孩子一起合作,小孩通常是没有办法在一开始就全部自己来,那是可以预见的未来,但是对於小年龄的孩子来说,仍然是个挑战,所以我通常跟孩子说“我们一起来清洁吧!我把髒碗盘放在餐车里,你把勺子也收进餐车。”或者“我们一起来清洁,你把碗(我从桌上拿起碗)放进餐车。”然後我再把盘子递给她,然後是勺子等等。最主要的用意是希望小孩能够参与到清洁的过程中,即使最後你觉得多数的清洁是你做的,如果小孩有参与,那麽就是在正确的道路上了,一步一脚印,慢慢的小孩就全部都会了,某一些日子,小孩也会有退步的时候,有时候她们也会累,也会有情绪不好的时候,不要强迫小孩,不要因为小孩一时不愿意参与清洁就惩罚小孩,经常跟孩子说“我们一起来!”,即使那一天是你做完所有的清洁,明天,也许小孩的状况好一点了,她们就会多做一些!

对於小孩,我很能够同理,从妈妈怀抱里事事有人照顾的宝宝,转化成为一个拥有自我的“小”成人,是多麽大的变化!如果,你愿意跟小孩合作,在未来她们的和你的生活,都会更好!

我们不分享!

星期一, 十月 15th, 2012 11:19 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

Brooke跟她的推车

当两个小孩在一起玩时,是什么样子,你应该知道吧!别人手中的玩具,就是当场最好的玩具!经常,我们听见家长或者是照顾者告诉小孩“亲爱的,你要分享喔!”

想像一下,你在一个美丽的餐厅跟你的另一半,以及其他两位好友在用餐,食物上桌,大家都开始享用美食,然后你跟另一半说“亲爱的,你应该要跟你的朋友们分享你的食物!”那给你什么样的感觉呢?在不同的日子里,你的反应也许不一,也许是以下其中一个,也许是全部:“啊!为什么?这是我的食物“”为什么我要分享?你为什么不把你自己的食物拿来分享?“然后说”不要“,坦白说,其他人会觉得你的另一半那样拒绝是很粗鲁的,身为承认,我们尊重别人分享的权力,来自於内在自发的分享是我们很珍惜的,如果要有人要求了才分享,那就不是真的分享了。

在我们家,你不会听见我们说“分享吧!”。

两星期前,Mackenzie在玩一辆玩具推车,Brooke也想要,我听见一声尖叫,然后发现Mackenzie抓着玩具推车,Brooke试着从她的手中拉走推车,我立马蹲下,跟她们一样高的高度,转头对Brooke说“Brooke,你可以对Mackenzie说,’Mackenzie当你结束时,我可以玩吗?’”我对Brooke说时,每次只讲一两个字,所以她能够重复我说的话。然后我转头跟Mackenzie说“Mackenzie,当你结束时,可以让Brooke玩一会吗?“她点头表示同意。

Brooke仍然会想要从Mackenzie手中抢走,我说“Mackenzie还没有结束,当她结束时,你就可以玩了。现在,你想要读一本书,或者听音乐呢?”Brooke放手了,然后去拿别的东西玩。

五分钟之后,Brooke在楼上,Mackenzie爬上楼梯,手中拖着玩具推车,喊着”Brooke!Brooke!”Mackenzie意思是她已经结束了,可以换人玩了!

自从她们开始会争玩具,我们就一直是这样处理,大约就在4,5个月之前。跟幼儿沟通,这是我用过最有效的沟通方法,跟幼儿说话,要用她们的语言,幼儿也可以很合理的反应,超乎你的意料之外!下一回,Brooke在玩某一用东西,她也知道,她会受到一样的待遇:她可以尽兴的玩,直到她结束为止。当小孩了解这个层面,她就会很有耐心的等着轮到她!

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Speak and communicate

Is that an ‘SUV,’ a ‘Jeep’ or a ‘Hatchback?’

Monday, December 24th, 2012 12:23 pm | By Stephanie Woo

Vehicles on the Road

Ever since B and M could sit up in the stroller by themselves, our daily walks would include identifying everything we see on the streets. It started with stationary things, like “mailbox,” “street lights” and “STOP sign.” Pretty soon, we got into vehicles.

Instead of ‘car,’ I’ll distinguish for them whether a vehicle is an SUV, jeep, hatchback, sports car, convertible, truck, commercial truck, 18-wheeler, school bus or bus. Before they could walk, I didn’t want people overhearing me enunciating “com-mer-cial tr-uuuuck” to 10–month olds, so I always got down to their level and  kept my voice low. When they were 20 months, whenever I emphasized to them that something is a ‘Jeep’ and not an ‘SUV’ (for a time, they called every vehicle an SUV) , I would look around and hope no one overhears me and thinks I’m a crazy mom. But now, when they walk down the streets and name the vehicles correctly, I know my hard work has paid off. When they say things like, “That’s a hatchback. That’s not an SUV,” I find myself clapping – for them and for myself!

Between 0-3, children are at the height of their Sensitive Period for language. I can just hear my Montessori Trainer, Judi Orion, say over and over, “You keep giving them the language and one day, it will come out.”

Collaborating With Your Child

Wednesday, November 14th, 2012 12:44 pm | By Stephanie Woo

Daddy Helps Brooke

Most adults just want to do things FOR the child. Why? It’s so much easier than teaching them to do it.

Let’s take cleaning up after meals for instance. You have two choices, you can clean the table for them, that takes about 30 seconds. OR you can have them do it. Then you have to figure out where to put the dirty dishes, how they will wipe the table, where to put the sponge, how they will clean their hands. And then once you’ve got the logistics down, you have to show them how to do it and then enforce it over and over and over and over and over…

One is clearly easier than the other. But one will make you feel like it’s Groundhog’s Day and you are playing the role of the slave, while the other gives your child the opportunity to practice motor skills, develop attention to detail, learn sequencing and give him a sense of independence that lead to happy, secure, confident children.

So you pick.

For those of you courageous and conscientious enough to take the second route, I have a piece of advice. When you are teaching your child to clean up after meals (this really applies to everything, but I’m just using this as an example), collaborate with them. Young children cannot do it all on their own all at once. They will be able to eventually, but it can be overwhelming at this age. So I’ll say, “Let’s clean up together. I’ll put the bowl and the plate  in the dishcart and you put the spoon in the dishcart.” OR “Let’s clean up together. You put this bowl (I’ll pick it up from the table) in the dishcart.” Then I’ll hand them the plate for them to put in the dishcart, the spoon, etc.  As long as they are doing something toward cleaning, that is what you’re looking for. Even if at the end, you feel you did most of the cleaning, if they participated, then you are on the right path. Gradually, over time, you can pull back and they can do more. There will be regression on bad days. If they are tired or cranky, don’t force it. Don’t punish them for not cleaning. Instead, use these words often, “Let’s do it together!” Even if you end up doing most of it that day, let it go. Tomorrow, when they are in a better place, they will do more of it.

I have a lot empathy for little ones. Transitioning from a baby in mama’s arms where everything is done to becoming your own little person – it’s a big transition. If you’re willing to collaborate with them, it’ll make their life –and yours – a little easier.

We Don’t Share

Monday, October 15th, 2012 11:19 am | By Stephanie Woo


Brooke and her stroller

You know how when two children play together, the toy someone else is playing is always the BEST toy in the room? This is when I always hear parents and caretakers tell their children, “Sweetheart, you have to SHARE.”

Imagine this: you’re at dinner at a beautiful restaurant with your partner and two friends. The food comes and everyone starts enjoying the food in front of them. Then your partner turns, nudges you and says, “Honey, you should share your food with your friends.” How does that make you feel? Depending on the day, I can imagine I would have any or all of these responses, including “What, why? It’s MY food.” “Why do I have to share? Why don’t you share YOUR food?” and flat-out “um, NO.” Frankly, everyone else at the table would consider your partner to be nothing but plain rude. As adults, we respect someone’s right to share. We value sharing when it comes from within. If you have to ask someone to share, it’s not really sharing.

That’s why you never hear the word “share” in our house.

Two weeks ago, Mackenzie was playing with a toy stroller and Brooke wanted it. I heard the screaming and found Mackenzie holding onto the stroller while Brooke was trying to yank it out of her sister’s hands.  I got down to their eye-level, turned to Brooke and said, “Brooke, can you say, ‘Mackenzie, when you are finished, can I play with it?’” I gave Brooke 1 or 2 words at a time so she can repeat them after me. Then I turned to Mackenzie and said, “Mackenzie, when you are finished, can Brooke play with it?” She nods yes.

Brooke still wanted it and tried to take it from Mackenzie, I said, “Mackenzie is not finished playing yet. You can play with it when she is finished. Do you want to read a book or listen to music?” Brooke lets it go and goes to play with something else.

Five minutes go by. Brooke is upstairs. Mackenzie climbs up the stairs pulling the stroller behind her saying, “Brooke! Brooke!” She’s done playing with it and she’s ready to pass it on!

We’ve been doing this ever since they’ve started fighting over toys, maybe 4-5 months ago. This is the most effective communication tool I’ve experienced with toddlers. Speak their language and toddlers can be so reasonable it would surprise you. The next time Brooke is playing with something, she knows she will receive the same courtesy: she gets to play with the toy to her heart’s content and no one else can play with it till she is done. When a child knows this, she will have all the patience in the world to wait her turn.