Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Toys and activities

我如何帮助小孩发展增进动作能力

星期三, 十月 12th, 2011 3:41 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

在公园里被放任的Brooke和Mackenzie会爬上长椅或别人的婴儿车。她们也喜欢一边顺着长椅或婴儿车走,一边一起玩。有时候母亲们会问我,爲什么B和M这么厉害,只有9个月就已经可以扶着东西走路了呢?

那就请恕我直説了哦!原因只有1个:每次都被放在高椅,婴儿车,学步车里的宝宝基本上就是缺乏练习!要让宝宝练习运动机能的话,可以考虑以下的蒙特梭利设置。要准备的物品包括宽宽的地上床垫,动作垫,镜子,还有矮柜。

行动垫

要放哪里都可以,不过一定要放在一个固定的地方,直到宝宝开始爬爲止。这将会是宝宝醒着的时候用来趴的地方。把他们放在这里后,就让他们自己自由发挥,别和他们説话还是玩耍。练习时间可以随着他们的年龄增长逐渐延长。

行动垫可以是:

  • 剪成两片的泡棉
  • 折叠的毯子或被子,下面放一片防滑垫
  • 用布盖着的地毯
  • 厚厚的瑜伽垫

垫子有缓冲用途,又可以预防孩子太过大力地把头撞在地上。虽説如此,它也必须够稳固。孩子往下推的时候,还是会需要一点阻力。他们在垫上睡着的话,赶紧把他们移到床上,不要让他们习惯睡在垫上。我们必须让他们了解到,一个地方和它的功能是有连接的。睡觉的地方就是睡觉的地方,而运动的地方就是运动的地方。请点这儿閲读更多。

 

4个月大的Mackenzie(左)和Brooke(右)在垫上闲晃。

镜子

把一面全身镜侧身放在垫的边缘的话可以协助孩子们发展他们的认知能力,也可以让他们看到自己在做什么。起初,他们可能会以爲镜子里有其他人。不过久而久之,他们就会开始明白其实那是他们的映像。这一刻值得期待哦!请观看5个月大的Brooke在镜子里玩耍的视频。

7个月大的Brooke和Mackenzie醒着时,差不多70%的时间会在床垫上探索他们的周围。这也会对于训练他们的精细/ 粗略运动技能有帮助。镜子在他们的后面。

 

矮柜

附近也可以放一个矮柜,把玩具都摆在上面。在他们还没开始把自己拉起来之前,您可以先用一个木制的鞋柜。无论如何,找来的架子一定要坚固,因爲当他们开始把自己拉起来的时候,将会很喜欢抓着这个架子拉。

我们10个月大宝宝们的玩具架。7个月大的宝宝只需要4,5样东西。更小的宝宝2,3样就够了。虽然宝宝不会自已整理东西,他们会渴望您在家里为他们制造的秩序,所以架子上的东西一定要放得整齐。

选东西放在架子上的时候,要记得宝宝很容易受到过度刺激。因此,东西只要适合宝宝的年龄就好,不需要给他们太多东西。一切都准备好之后,就等着看吧!宝宝会一点一点地移动到矮柜去,自己拿他们想玩的玩具。再次强调:虽然宝宝不会自已整理东西,他们会渴望您在家里为他们创造的秩序,所以记得一定要让架子上的东西保持整齐哦!每周更换不同的玩具的话会有助於保持他们的兴趣,提升注意力。

 

装有小盘子和球的盒子

星期六, 九月 17th, 2011 5:59 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

盘子上的方块上面有一个洞。把球放进洞口的话,球会从坡道滚到盘子上。

这个玩具很适合帮助8到9个月大的儿童学习物体衡存概念–人和东西就算看不到也仍然存在的概念,因爲球掉进洞里后,会需要几秒钟的时间才会从坡道滚到盘子上。球出现的时候,宝宝被它所迷住的样子真的值得一见哦!

这时,宝宝们也会开始了解,不单单是物件,爸爸妈妈和其他人也一样,就算看不到也仍然存在。躲猫猫游戏会很适合教导他们这个概念。宝宝都很喜欢玩这个游戏, 而且非常期待看到大人们从看不见的地方跳出来的时刻。这个年龄是他们非常好动的时候,所以一直告诉您目前的位置或者接下来要去的地方会对他们有很大的帮助。

宝宝不爬的话怎么办?

星期六, 九月 17th, 2011 2:38 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

爬行对宝宝的脑和认知能力发展来説非常重要,因爲它会促进左右大脑的互相合作。当然,加强身体的能力只不过是一方面。爬行也能够给於她们一些不可缺乏的人生经验。这招可能会聼起来很奇怪,但是要鼓励孩子爬的话,示範给他们看会是个好方法。和他们一起练习大脑体操(动作过身体中线)也不错。让他们躺在您的前面,拉他们的左 手去动他们的右脚,然后右手动左脚,多次重复。这会让他们习惯同时移动相反的手脚,也就是爬行里所需要的动作。要快快让孩子学会爬的话,请设法让他们在地上而不是婴儿车,汽车座椅,或者鞦韆里行动。还有要记得让他们自己坐下和站起。您一直帮他们的话,会干扰到他们的进展。请点这儿閲读详情。

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Toys and activities

How do I improve my child’s motor skills?

Wednesday, October 12th, 2011 3:41 pm | By Stephanie Woo

I’ve been letting Brooke and Mackenzie loose at the park. They love to pull up on the park benches and strollers (especially ones with dangling new toys that are not ours). They’ll walk along the bench or the stroller to play with toys and each other. Mothers with toddlers who are older but not yet walking have asked me, how come B and M were already cruising at 9 months old?

Babies who are held or placed in high chairs/strollers/walkers ALL THE TIME are often severely behind in their gross motor skills for one reason only – they haven’t had enough practice! Montessori has the perfect set-up for babies to practice their motor skills. Aside from the floor bed, which gives your baby ample freedom to move, the most important thing you can prepare for your baby is the movement mat, mirror and shelf.

Mackenzie doing tummy time on her mat at 2 months old

Movement Mat

The movement mat can be located anywhere in the house, but it needs to be in a consistent place for the baby until he starts to crawl. This is the place where the baby does tummy time while he is awake. This is a time for him to be on his own, without anyone talking or playing with him. Start with a little amount of time and increase that amount of time as he gets older.

The movement mat can be any of the following

  • A piece of foam that you cut to twin-size
  • A folded blanket or quilt (put a non-slip surface underneath) to make it flat
  • A piece of carpet with a sheet over it
  • A thick yoga mat

The general purpose of the mat is to give the child some cushion so he doesn’t bump his head too hard on the floor but at the same time, provides a surface firm enough so he can get some resistance when he pushes against it. If he falls asleep on the mat, move him to his bed. This is not the place to sleep. It’s important that he can make a connection between a place and its function: this place is for sleeping, this place is for moving. Read more about this here.

Mackenzie (left) and Brooke (right) at 4 months old hanging out together on their mat

Mirror

Place a full-length mirror turned on its side along the edge of the mat. The mirror is excellent for developing his cognitive skills. It also lets him see himself and what he is doing. At first, he will think the image in the mirror is a friend, but at some point, he will see you in the mirror and see you outside of the mirror and he will understand, that is a reflection. It’s a profound moment! Watch a video of Brooke playing in the mirror at 5 months old.

Brooke and Mackenzie at 7 months old. They spend 70% of their waking hours on their floor mat exploring their environment and practicing their gross/fine motor skills. The mirror is behind them.

Low Shelf

Also, place a low shelf nearby, where the child’s toys and materials can be kept. Before they start pulling up, you can use a wooden shoe shelf. Once they start pulling up, they will love to pull up on this shelf, so make sure you have something sturdy.

Toy shelf for our 10 month olds. A 7 month old should have just 4-5 things on the shelf. Younger babies should have 2-3. Always keep the toy shelf orderly, everything has its place. Babies cannot maintain the order, but they crave the order you create for them in the house.

The shelf should contain a few pieces of material that the child is using at the time. These materials need to be applicable for his age. Babies can be easily over-stimulated, so they should not have many things. Little by little, they will slide to the shelf and take what they want to play with. Always keep the toy shelf orderly, everything has its place. Babies cannot maintain the order, but they crave the order you create for them in the house. Do not put all their toys on the shelf, pick a few that will fit nicely on the shelf, then rotate them weekly.

Box with Tray and Ball

Saturday, September 17th, 2011 5:59 pm | By Stephanie Woo

This toy consists of a cube mounted in a tray with a hole on the top. When a wooden ball or waffle ball is placed in the hole, it rolls down the ramp and empties into the tray.

This is an excellent toy for helping 8-9 month old learn the concept of Object Permanence, which means ‘an object exists even if I can’t see it.’ As the ball disappears into the hole, it takes a few seconds to reappear as it rolls down the ramp. The babies are fascinated when the ball reappears!

Babies at this age also start to understand that not just objects, but people (Mommy and Daddy) still exist even if I can’t see them. Peekaboo games are used to teach this concept. They love the game and anticipate the adult being there when the cover is removed. At this time, they are moving around a lot in their environment. They will crawl away from Mom and then come back. It’s useful at this time to cue the child and let him know where you are: “I’m in the bathroom, you can come find me. I’m going to the kitchen to make a cup of tea!”

What if my baby doesn’t crawl

Saturday, September 17th, 2011 2:38 pm | By Stephanie Woo

Crawling is very important to the brain and cognitive development of your baby. It facilitates the left and right side of the brain working together.  Not only does it strengthen their body, it also gives them important EXPERIENCES they need for development. Encourage your baby to crawl by getting down and imitating crawling. You can also do cross-patterning with her: lay her in front of you, touch her left hand to right feet and right hand to left feet. Repeat.  You are moving opposite limbs at the same time, which is what happens in crawling. Your baby is also more likely to crawl if you let her spend most of her day on the floor (not confined in a stroller, car seat, swing, etc) and if you do not put her in a sitting and/or standing position before she does it by herself. Read more about it here.