Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

‘那是“休旅车”,“吉普车”,还是”掀式斜背小轿车“?

星期一, 十二月 24th, 2012 12:23 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

Vehicles on the Road

自从B还有M可以在婴儿推车里自己坐直,我们每一天的散步就包含命名我们在街上看见的事物,一开始都是一些静物,像”邮筒“,”街灯“,”停止号誌“等,很快的,我们就开始命名交通工具。

与其只是说”车“,我会告诉孩子们车子的种类是”休旅车“,”吉普车“,”掀式斜背小轿车“,”跑车“,”敞篷车“,”卡车“,”商用卡车“,“大拖车”,“校车”或是“公车”,在她们开始走路之前,我不想要别人听见我对10个月大的小孩清楚的说一字一字的说”商-用-卡-车“,我会蹲下到小孩的高度,对她们轻轻的说,她们约20个月大左右,每当我跟她们强调我们看见的是”吉普车“而不是”休旅车“(有一段时间,她们看见车子就叫休旅车),我会四下注意看有没有人听见我,别人可能会以为我有问题,但是现在,当她们走在街上,她们都会正确的命名各种交通工具,我以前的辛苦没有白费,当她们说”那是掀式斜背小轿车不是休旅车”时,我内心为她们也为我自己雀跃。

在0-3岁的期间,小孩的语言发展处於敏感的阶段,我的培训师Judi Orion不断的说“你就是不断的给予小孩语言,终於成果会出现。”

一位母亲对於珊迪胡克小学枪击事件的反应

星期日, 十二月 16th, 2012 9:04 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

听闻珊迪胡克小学的事件,一想到那些家庭,我的心都碎了。我整个週末为了那些罹难的小孩在哭泣,我更是不断的想到他们的家人,这些父母要亲手埋葬他们的孩子,太没有道理。此刻,我想到我的家人和小孩,我感到害怕,身为一位母亲,在新闻的字里行间,我不断的寻找,可以让我有勇气能够继续留在这个国家的理由,明天早上我会觉得将小孩送到学校是安全的事情,我又想到距离我家10分钟车程的购物中心,就有超过400支枪在展售著,就在小孩等著可以跟圣诞老公公拍照的地方,我怎麽都想不透,这两个元素怎麽能够摆在一起!

我家里没有电视,所以,小孩不会接触到这一类的新闻,但是,当他们睡著之後,我不断的在网路上寻找让我能够产生希望的消息,如果你也跟我一样,一直在寻找一个合理的解释,我想要跟你分享以下的一些文章:

这一篇 提醒了我欧巴马连任的重要性,我记得11月7日早上醒来,我感到松了一口气,作者所提到的改变也正是这样的选举才能发生的,他在文章里提到的几篇文章也记得去阅读。

英国报纸的这一篇文章 ,在枪枝拥有权的观点有很好的诠释。对我来说有趣的事情是:在1985年至2010年之间,虽然拥有枪枝的美国人口已经减少到总人口的20%,但是每个拥枪人口平均枪枝数量较多,并且,从政治上来说,拥有枪枝在美国的历史上,是个少数人口的问题,他们多数是年长的白人男性,他们控制了这个国家的枪枝议题。在这一次的总统选举中,很清楚的显示出来,这些年长白人男性将票投给共和党的比例已经降低。因此,这20%的人,已经不足以代表多数美国人的意见,他们在这一次的选举已经输了。

这一次的事件,提醒我们这些做母亲的,我们正在为我们的世界做一件很重要的事情,我们在教育我们的下一代,他们将塑造我们未来的世界,唯有通过教育,以及我们对於政治的参与,我们是孩子的模範,替未来的改变铺路,形成一个真实并且永续的改变。藉由发出我的声音,我找到希望,我能够投票给能够代表我的选择的政治人,我能够教导我的孩子去思考我们正在面对的议题。我拒绝接受威胁,我绝对不要只是痲痹的接受,虽然我悲伤愤怒,但是我需要走出来:绝对不可以让那些不能够代表我们多数人的意见持续下去。改变将来临!

如果你希望能够立即行动,加入我,一起去 白宫网站签署这一个请愿书

幼儿与睡觉时间

星期四, 十二月 13th, 2012 11:51 上午 | By Stephanie Woo
Toddler and Bedtime

过去两个月,要让23个月大的B以及M去睡觉,是段挺难的经历,在我关灯离开她们的房间之後,她俩轮流哭,妳们有其它人有这样的经历吗?我试了好多种方法,一个晚上又一个晚上,让她们留在她们的床上睡,而我在我的床睡。

我试了很多种方法:1 陪到她们睡著为止(很累人,而且让小孩养成习惯,是我最不喜欢的方法);2 让小孩自己哭到入睡(也是我比较不喜欢的方法,当我真的很累又没办法时用过,有时候真的有效果);3 就让她们在房间外面玩,让他们熬夜。

我将我试过并且有效的方法整理如下,过去两週,状况好多了,通常我关灯之後五分钟,我就可以离开她们的房间,她们会留在她们的房间里面,最後自己睡著,直到第二天早上7点。我还是持续的在寻找方法,以免有时候不管用。如果你有其它的方法,请留言给我。

  1. 妈妈跟爸爸都参与到小孩睡觉準备的过程。有无数的夜晚,小孩就是不让我离开她们的房间,并且她们会用哭来对付我,让她们不哭的其中一个方法就是跟她们说“爸爸等会会进来跟妳们道晚安,妳们要爸爸进来了吗?”通常她们会说好。不知为什麽,通常爸爸只要出现5分钟,就可以让她们睡著。也许,不是每个爸爸在小孩要睡觉的时候都有空这样做,但是,我很相信(我也这样说服我老公)爸爸们对於让小孩们睡著比妈妈还厉害,他现在也相信了。
  2. 给个“小儿按摩”。Brooke最近很需要抱,在观察Brooke一段时间之後,我有了这样的一个方法。你可以这样做:在关灯之後,将小孩紧紧抱在你的胸膛,用你的双手手掌摩擦小孩的背,腿,手臂,以及脚,轻柔坚定并且缓慢。尽量的让她靠近你,就像是婴儿按摩,不过对象是你家的幼儿,我家的两个孩子轮流,当我在为其中一个按摩的时候,我会跟另一个说“我正在抱你的姐姐/妹妹,请不要打扰我们”,Brooke以及Mackenzie都很喜欢,Mackenzie会用中文跟我说“Mackenzie要用力一点”,大约5-10分钟的肌肤亲密接触,她们会回到各自的枕头,跟我道晚安。最近的几个星期,这是最有效的方法,特别是我先生出差的那个星期,不知识小婴儿需要很多的肌肤接触,幼儿也是很需要de.
  3. 千万不要改变睡眠的流程。之前已经吃过饭,喝了奶,也读过故事了, 在晚上8:15-8:30之间,我们一定会去準备小孩要睡觉。白天的流程可能会有一些改变(我还是努力的维持下午一点的午睡时间),但是,晚上的睡觉时间是不会改变的,如果我和老公要出门,我们也会请保姆遵守同样的时间规律,有很多家庭在某些时候会放松(假日,生日,特别的日子,週末),但是幼儿很强烈的需要秩序以及固定流程,让小孩依照成人的时间来修改,只会让情况一团乱,让孩子没有办法自己去睡觉。
  4. 在睡觉之前的一个小时,跟小孩再一次说明她们睡觉之前的準备过程。当我在为小孩洗澡的时候,我会将整个流程再说一次“洗澡之後,妳们就要喝奶,妳们躺在床上之後,我就会给你们读故事,接著我就会关灯,妈妈就会离开妳们的房间,妳们就会自己睡著。”在关灯前的15分钟,我还会将流程再睡一次,这样的心里预备过程对每个人都很有帮助。
  5. 睡眠的自由与限制。当她们说“我还不想睡”,我就说“你还不需要睡,你得要待在房间里,但是你可以不要睡著。”我说的时候,是真心的。她们睡在地板床上,因此,她们有自由能够再房间里自由移动,一直到她们够累了,就会自己睡著。

我读了很多的部落格/博客上的文章,告诉家长要珍惜睡觉的时间,因为,小孩长大之後,她们不会喜欢你现在对待她的方式。我知道它们说的是真的,但是为了我现在自己的快乐以及心灵健康,我也需要有时间给自己,而自己的时间就是她们睡著之後的时间,如果你家现在有个幼儿,你应该懂得我说什麽,每个晚上当我有几个小时给我自己,并且可以好好睡一觉,第二天早上我们见到彼此的时候,我们都会开心一点!

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Is that an ‘SUV,’ a ‘Jeep’ or a ‘Hatchback?’

Monday, December 24th, 2012 12:23 pm | By Stephanie Woo

Vehicles on the Road

Ever since B and M could sit up in the stroller by themselves, our daily walks would include identifying everything we see on the streets. It started with stationary things, like “mailbox,” “street lights” and “STOP sign.” Pretty soon, we got into vehicles.

Instead of ‘car,’ I’ll distinguish for them whether a vehicle is an SUV, jeep, hatchback, sports car, convertible, truck, commercial truck, 18-wheeler, school bus or bus. Before they could walk, I didn’t want people overhearing me enunciating “com-mer-cial tr-uuuuck” to 10–month olds, so I always got down to their level and  kept my voice low. When they were 20 months, whenever I emphasized to them that something is a ‘Jeep’ and not an ‘SUV’ (for a time, they called every vehicle an SUV) , I would look around and hope no one overhears me and thinks I’m a crazy mom. But now, when they walk down the streets and name the vehicles correctly, I know my hard work has paid off. When they say things like, “That’s a hatchback. That’s not an SUV,” I find myself clapping – for them and for myself!

Between 0-3, children are at the height of their Sensitive Period for language. I can just hear my Montessori Trainer, Judi Orion, say over and over, “You keep giving them the language and one day, it will come out.”

A Mother’s Reaction to the Sandy Hook Elementary School Shooting

Sunday, December 16th, 2012 9:04 pm | By Stephanie Woo

My heart is broken for the families of Sandy Hook Elementary School. I’ve spent the weekend crying for those young children, but it’s their families I cannot stop thinking about. No parent should ever have to bury a child. At the same time, my heart is fearful for the rest of us, including my children and my family. As a mother, I keep looking for something out there in the news that will give me the courage to stay in this country and feel safe enough to send my children to school again tomorrow morning. I think about the mall 10 minutes from our house that has 400+ guns on display for sale right next to the line of little children waiting to see Santa. How those two things can stand side by side is beyond me.

We don’t have a TV. So we don’t expose our children to news of any kind. But when they are asleep, I find myself searching constantly on the internet for something that will give me hope. In case you’re looking to make sense of the whole thing, like I’ve been, I wanted to share some of these articles with you.

This article reminded me of the significance of Obama’s 2-term victory. I remember waking up on the morning of Nov 7 and heaving a huge sigh of relief. The kind of change he talks about here happens with elections like these. Be sure to read the articles he refers to as well. 

This article from The Guardian was enlightening about gun ownership. Most interesting to me are these facts: “Between 1985 and 2010 the prevalence of gun ownership has declined from roughly a third of Americans owning a gun to barely 20%. … those who do own guns now tend to have multiple weapons.” And “…gun ownership, in political terms, has for long been a minority issue in the US, with those who do own firearms — by and large being white, older and male — monopolising a national debate.” From this election, it is clear these old white men, who voted Republican more than 6 to 10, are proportionally declining in the US. This 20% no longer represent the majority of Americans and they’ve just lost the last election.

This is the time to remind ourselves that as mothers, we are doing THE important job in the world. We are educating the children who are going to be shaping the future of our world. And it is through that education and the political actions we engage in and model for our children that lead to change – real and lasting change. I find hope in making my voice heard, in voting for the politicians who represent my choices and in teaching (when the time comes) my children to think about the issues that confront us. I refuse to stay terrorized. I refuse to feel paralyzed. I’ve come out on the other side of anger and deep utter sadness: the things that don’t represent the majority of us simply cannot and will not last. Change is coming.

If you want to take action immediately, join me and sign this open petition from WhiteHouse.gov.

Bedtime and Toddler

Thursday, December 13th, 2012 11:51 am | By Stephanie Woo
Toddler and Bedtime

Toddler and Bedtime

For the past two months, it’s been really hard to put B and M (23 months) down at bedtime. They take turns crying when I try to leave their room after lights-out. Anyone else experiencing this? I’ve had to try A LOT of different things to keep them in their bed and me in mine night after night.

Here are things I’ve tried that I don’t like: 1. stay till they fall asleep (exhausting, habit-forming and my least favorite of options), 2. cry it out (second least favorite option which I resort to when I’m absolutely exasperated, but it has worked on occasion) 3. let them stay up and play outside of their room.

Well, I also started compiling a list of things that HAS worked for us. Things have gotten better in the last two weeks. I can usually leave the room 5 minutes after lights out and they will stay in their room and fall asleep by themselves till the next morning at 7am. I’m also looking for more ideas in case these run out of steam! Please post yours in the comment area.

  1. Involve both Mom and Dad with bedtime. I cannot count the number of nights I just cannot extricate myself from a child’s hug and the only thing that would keep them from a meltdown when I try to leave is to say, “Daddy’s gonna come in to say good-night to you. Do you want to see Daddy?” That usually results in a yes. And somehow, Daddy only needs a 5-minute appearance to put them to sleep. Maybe not all Dads can do it in that time, but I’m completely convinced (and use it with my husband all the time) that Dads are better at bedtime than Moms. He believes it now, too.
  2. Give your child a “Toddler Massage.” I came up with this after observing Brooke, who has recently been asking to be held A LOT. So this what you do: after you turn off the lights, hold your child against your belly tightly. Using your whole palm, rub your child’s back, legs, arms and feet firmly, gently and slowly. Hold her as close to you as you can. It’s like an infant massage, except it’s for your toddler. I do it first to one child, then to the other. When I’m massaging one child, I’ll say to the other, “I’m holding your sister now, Please don’t interrupt us.” Both Brooke and Mackenzie love this. Mackenzie will say to me in Chinese, “Mackenzie wants tightly.”  After 5-10 minutes of this intense intimacy and skin contact, they’ll crawl back to their little pillows and say good-night to me. This has been the most successful thing I’ve tried in recent weeks, especially during the week my husband was on a business trip.  Not only do babies need a lot of skin contact, toddlers (and adults) need it, too.
  3. Never ever change the bedtime routine. We eat dinner, take bath, drink milk and do storytime. Then it’s lights out somewhere between 815-830. No exceptions. Daytime schedule may change (though I make every effort to honor the 1pm nap schedule as well), but this bedtime routine never ever changes. If my husband and I need to go out, we ask our nanny to follow this schedule. Many families will make an exception here and there (holidays, birthdays, special events, weekends), but a toddler’s need for order and routine is so intense that expecting him to accommodate to your schedule will just mess with his ability to fall asleep at bedtime on his own.
  4. Talk them through the bedtime routine an hour before bedtime. When we’re bathing, I’ll give them a rundown of what’s going to happen: “After we bathe, we’re going to have milk, then I’m going to read you a story in bed, and then we’ll turn out the lights. And then Mommy is going to go out and you will fall sleep by yourself.” And then I repeat the rundown again 15 minutes before lights out. Everyone benefits from a little mental preparation.
  5. Giving them freedom within limits around sleeping. When they say, “I don’t want to sleep,” I say, “You don’t have to sleep. You have to stay in your room during bedtime, but you don’t have to sleep.” And I mean it when I say this to them. The floor beds they sleep in give them the freedom to move around till they feel tired enough to fall asleep.

I’ve read many blog postings that tell parents to cherish this time, that after they grow older, they won’t want you the way they do now. I can imagine that being true, but for my sanity and happiness NOW, I also need time to myself. And that happens after they go to bed. If you have a toddler right now, I’m sure you can relate. When I can have a good few hours to myself at night and then a good night’s sleep, we are all much happier when we see each other the next morning!