Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Posts Tagged ‘cribs’

家长问答:怎么让宝宝乖乖地躺地板床呢?

星期三, 九月 7th, 2011 10:07 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

一对双胞胎的母亲Helen问:使用地板床这个主意我非常有兴趣。不过宝宝开始会走路的时候,怎么做才能让他们乖乖地在床垫上躺他们应该躺的时间呢?把房间的门口关上会比较好吗?我的儿子都不喜欢睡觉,但是他知道只要我们把他放进婴儿床里,他就别无选择了。

答:看 到您的问题里提到 “他们应该躺的时间”。“应该”这两个字意味着那个活动缺乏自由。请想想,当您自己对自己说“应该”做某某事情的时候,您有什么样的感受呢?“我应该减肥。”“我应该赚多一点钱。”“我应该变成一个更好的人。”相信您也察觉到,“应该”会给於我们一种隐形的压力,不让我们自由选择我们想做的事情。

如果您决定想要试一试地板床的主意,请一定要记得:重点是我们要给孩子可以选择什么时候睡觉和起来的自由。因爲我的女儿们已经开始在爬了,就寝时间到了我们会关门,让他们自己玩到累。之后她们就会自然而然地自己睡着。要设法鼓励您的孩子在累的时候睡,而不是在被限制又没东西做的时候睡。

每个宝宝都会有自己的生理节奏,知道自己什么时候累。地板床尊重他们的生理节奏,婴儿床却强加父母设定的节奏在宝宝身上。

长远来説,尊重宝宝本身的自然生理节奏会让他们睡得更久,更熟。而让他们睡在地板床就是尊重他们节奏的方法之一。我的孩子们6到7个月大的时候,我们7点 就把她们放在床上了。Brooke会马上睡着,不过Mackenzie在那个时间带通常不会觉得累,所以我就会把门关上,让Mackenzie“自由发挥”。这段时间,她会在房间里爬来爬去,找玩具玩,自言自语,爬进衣柜,甚至爬到Brooke的床里。我呢,我会在另外一间房里面做我的事情。不到40分钟后,我就会听到她的小小哭声。那么这时我就会走去她们的房间。把M抱起来放在床上后她就睡着了。一点也不困难吧?现在她们的睡觉时间换成8点了。几乎每 次喝完奶瓶后,她们就会马上睡着。还醒着的话,我们就会重复同样的步骤。请参考以下照片。

当您把疲倦的孩子放在婴儿床里,他哭是因为他又疲倦又不喜欢被婴儿床限制。这样做的话,孩子会吵闹到最后一分钟才不得不睡觉。睡在地上床垫的孩子们虽然照样会因爲疲倦而哭,不过您一把他们放在床上,他们 就睡了。爲何要在他们睡觉的时候把他们的心情弄得那么复杂呢?如果我们能够在行动上表示,我们体谅他们不喜欢受限制的心情,他们的睡眠将会更加甜美,而我们的生活也会更加轻松!

下午12:25,午觉时间。虽然Mackenzie已经睡着了,Brooke还在玩。

下午1:03,听到Brooke吵着要睡觉。我把她抱起来,给她一点水喝,再把她放在床上。几分钟后,她就睡着了。

给孩子睡地板床的话…

星期六, 九月 3rd, 2011 10:37 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

我们的房子有点像一条铁路。婴儿房,我们的房间,客厅,还有餐厅全都位于一条綫。今早我躺在房间的时候,Mackenzie爬了进来。接着Brooke也一起爬了进来。她们停住,互相交谈了一下。在爬来的途中,好像捡到了什么东西,所以开始一起玩。之后她们看着我,打了招呼,就爬到客厅去了。早晨7点突如其来的迷你游行就此结束…

早上6:30:宝宝在房里聊天。

7点:她们打开房门(晚上我们不会把门関到完),爬到我们的房间来。头发虽然乱七八糟,但是可爱极了,对吗?

妈妈爸爸早安!

拿我们房间里的玩具来玩

Mackenzie正在爬去客厅。她们的一天大多数都是在这里过的。

Brooke:等等我!

地上床垫的基础

星期六, 九月 3rd, 2011 9:57 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

很多人对地上床垫这个概念感兴趣,所以我想借此机会提供一点地板床的基本资料。

什么年龄开始?

宝宝出世之前,就可以准备一个手提篮子和地上床垫了。手提篮子一来可以方便妈妈抱着新生的宝宝走动,二来会宝宝觉得温暖,安全。在蒙特梭利社群里,我们称其为Cestina,意即婴儿睡篮。我会在以后的一篇文章里更详细地解释这个婴儿睡篮的功能等。回到篮子:起初,这个婴儿睡篮会一直陪伴在妈妈附近。但是宝宝慢慢地建立一个 自己的睡觉习惯的时候,您就可以开始把篮子放在地上床垫上。这么做,是帮助小孩建立一个秩序,这就是睡觉的地方。宝宝2到3个月大时,不再需要篮子的话就可以让他睡在地板床上了。

简述

顾名思义,地板床就是一个铺在地上的床垫。天然材质的床垫最理想。厚度应该差不多4到6寸。床垫里必须有坚固的棉絮。不够坚固的话,宝宝将会行动不方便。如果您担心尿布洩露,可以找块足够掩盖整张床垫的橡胶绒布被子(隔尿垫)铺在上面。之后再用棉织床单盖住。

其他选项

有些家庭会选择在床垫的周围放木框(以下图片里的尺寸可以做参考)。他们认爲,这样比较像是睡在一个真正的床上。虽然不一定要这么做,喜欢这个主意的家庭可 以把它当做一个选项。如果您要装设木框的话,请一定要把其中一边开着当进出口。最好是比较长的那一边。木框可以从Michael Olaf等店铺购买得到。

从开始到现在,孩子的地板床已经改变了很多。她们刚出世时,我们的家只有400平方尺,所以当时并没有空间铺一个床垫在地上给她们。等到她们4个 月大的时候,我们搬到了一个1200平方尺的房子,给了她们一人一个单人床垫。那时候她们还小,所以行得通。她们5个半月大的时候,我们搬到丹佛过夏天。 既然那里的住宅只是暂时性的,我们决定不要再买床垫,用一些材料创造我们自己的地板床。因爲地毯是新的,我们在上面铺了几层毛毯,棉毯,还有厚棉被,再用一块大大的棉床单把它们全部盖住后,就大功告成了!现在回来了,她们都会睡在自己的单人地上床垫上。请参考视频。

把床垫铺在地上的目的是让孩子容易爬上和爬下床。每当Mackenzie看到我整理她的床的时候,她就会爬过来躲在床单下,或坐在棉被上。她还真的很喜欢自己的床呢!时不时会看到她突然间钻进床里翻来翻去。简直就很像我们大人喜欢跳进一个刚被整理过的床一样吧!

您可能得到的意外收获

地上床垫最意想不到的意外收获就是,它会为您的生活增添一点幽默。以后,您也会有很多有趣的故事可以和长大后来的孩子分享。而且他们一开始会自己移动的时候,您会在您想也没想过的地方找到他们呢!

有一次Brooke刚5个月的时候,我给她在房间里睡午觉。后来回来看的时候,她的头和手臂虽然都在床垫上,其馀的身体却都趴在地上!看来,她想爬回床上睡觉的时候,半途中睡着了…

Mackenzie是6个月大的时候才开始爬来爬去的。有一次听到她的哭声跑去房间看,发现她不在床上!跟着她的哭声,最终在更衣间里找到她… 又有一天晚上,我去他们的房间看的时候,M又不在床上了!东翻西找后还是不见踪影!差点把我给吓死了!幸好我偶然看到从床裙下伸出来的一只小脚。原来她爬到我的床底下,在那里睡着了!我知道有一个母亲曾今因爲遇到同样的事情,竟然报了警。她还以为自己的孩子被人绑架了呢!警方来访的时候,他们很仔细地调查 了房子一遍,把床裙拉起,找到一个熟睡着的宝宝!又好哭又好笑,对吧?

附加説明

  • 如果您的床垫很大的话,可以考虑用一些抱枕来把床弄得比较舒适可亲。婴儿需要有一种被包住的感觉。
  • 透气的编织布料最适合当被子。
  • 给双胞胎宝宝一人一个床垫。起初我们爲了省钱只买了一个,但是不到1个月,她们就开始分散彼此的注意力,不让对方睡觉了!没办法,只好把她们分开了!

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Posts Tagged ‘cribs’

Parent Q&A: How do you keep your babies in bed on a floor bed?

Wednesday, September 7th, 2011 10:07 pm | By Stephanie Woo

From Helen, mother of twins: I am really intrigued with the floor bed idea, but how would you keep your babies on it once they start moving and walking and would not want to go to bed or stay there as long as they should? do you close bedroom door? I know with my son, he never wanted to go to bed, but once we put him in his crib he had no choice but to fall asleep….

A: I noticed you used the words “as they should.” Whenever the word “should” is involved, there is a lack of freedom. Notice how you feel when you feel you “should” do something: “I should lose weight” “I should make more money” “I should be a better person.” “Should” comes with an invisible pressure and doesn’t allow someone to choose freely.  

When and if you decide to go with a floor bed, the idea is to give your child the freedom to choose when he sleeps and when he wakes. With my girls, who are crawling around, we close the door at bedtime and let them play till they are tired and fall asleep. Encourage your child to sleep because he is tired, not because he is confined and bored.

A baby has an internal rhythm, he knows within himself when he is tired. A floor bed respects this internal rhythm, whereas a crib imposes a rhythm on him – one that is set by mom and dad. 

In the long run, children who sleep in floor beds sleep longer and better because their natural sleep-wake rhythm is respected. When B and M were 6-7 months old, we put them to bed at 7pm. Mackenzie was almost never tired at that time, whereas Brooke would fall asleep often on the dot. I would close the door and Mackenzie would crawl around, play with her toys, talk to herself, crawl into the closet, sometimes she would even crawl into Brooke’s bed. All this time, I am in another room cooking or writing, and lo and behold, 15-40 minutes later, I would hear her little cry. I would walk into their room, pick her up, put her on her bed and she would be asleep in no time. No struggle at all. We’ve since changed their bedtime to 8pm, and both of them almost always falls asleep as they are finishing their bottles.  And if they don’t, then we do the same thing (see pictures below, taken the day after this post was written)

Another thing to consider is this: when a child is tired and you put him in the crib, he cries because he’s tired and he doesn’t want to be confined in the crib. It’s very common for those children to fall asleep only when they absolutely cannot hold on anymore. Whereas children who sleep on floor beds will cry because they are tired, but once you put them in bed, they sleep. Without that additional layer of complexity and struggle in their cry, it makes sleep easier for babies and LIFE better for moms and dads.

12:25pm Naptime. Mackenzie is already asleep, while Brooke is still playing

1:03pm I heard Brooke cry to be put in bed. I picked her up, fed her a little water and put her in bed. Fell asleep within minutes.

When your child sleeps on a floor bed…

Saturday, September 3rd, 2011 10:37 am | By Stephanie Woo

Our apartment is a railroad-type house: baby room, our room, living room, dining room all in a row. This morning I was lying in bed when Mackenzie came crawling into our room, followed by her playmate, Brooke. They stopped and chatted with each other, played with something they found along the way, looked up and said hi to me, then made their way into the living room. It was like a mini-parade going through our room at 7am…

630am: Chatting begins in the babies’ room.

7am: They open the door to their room (we don’t close it all the way at night) and come crawling into our room…with their bed head

Say hi to Mom and Dad

Play with some toys on the shelf in our room

Mackenzie heads into living room where they hang out most of the day

Brooke follows!

The basics of floor bed

Saturday, September 3rd, 2011 9:57 am | By Stephanie Woo

Since people have been asking about floor beds, I thought I’d give a little information on the basics of a floor bed.

What Age?

Before the birth of your baby, prepare a basket and a floor bed. A portable basket is excellent for newborns – cozy and safe for the baby, convenient for Mom. There is a specific basket called a Cestina that is recommended by the Montessori community, that I will go into detail in a later posting. In the beginning, the baby basket will go wherever Mom goes. As the baby starts to develop a more regular sleeping pattern, you can start putting the basket ON the floor bed, so the baby starts to associate this area of the room with sleeping.  Once your baby outgrows her basket, she can start sleeping on the floor bed, usually when she is 2-3 months old.

General Description

The floor bed is a mattress on the floor, ideally a futon made of natural materials. There should be firm cotton batting inside. If it is not firm enough, it will be an obstacle for the baby’s movement. It should be 4-6 inches deep. If you are concerned with diaper leakage, use a rubberized flannel covering that is big enough to cover the entire surface of the mattress. Then cover with cotton sheets.

Floor Bed Options

Some families use a wooden frame around the mattress for the floor bed. (See picture below. The dimensions are there just to give you an idea of the size). Some say it makes them feel as if their child is sleeping in a ‘proper bed.’  Though it is not necessary, it is a great option for families who want it. If the wooden frame is used, it needs an open side, preferably the long side, so the child can get in and out of bed. The wooden frame can be bought at Michael Olaf.

Our girls’ floor bed evolved over time. As I mentioned earlier, we didn’t have enough room for a floor bed in our tiny 400 sq ft apartment when they were born. But when the girls turned 4 months, we moved into a 1200 sq ft apartment, where we decided to put both girls on a single mattress. It worked well because they were still little. When they turned 5 ½ month, we moved to Denver for the summer. There, we didn’t spend money to buy another mattress, instead, we laid down layers of wool and cotton blankets, a thick duvet, placed a cotton sheet over the whole thing and created our own version of a floor bed. Because the floors were newly carpeted, it worked out great. Since we’ve been back from Denver, they now sleep in two separate floor beds. See video here.

The point of a floor bed is something low to the ground that makes it easy for the child to climb into and out of. Mackenzie loves her bed and when she sees me making her bed, she will crawl over and climb under the sheets or into the middle of the duvet. And sometimes in the middle of the day, she’ll just crawl into her bed and plop herself down right in the middle and wiggle around, sorta like the way you jump into a newly-made bed!

Unexpected Benefit of a Floor Bed

The most unexpected benefit of a floor bed is the HUMOR it will add to your life and the stories you’ll be able to tell about your little one. Once your little one starts to move, you just don’t know where you will find them.

When Brooke was 5 months old, I left her in the room to nap by herself and when I came back, she had fallen asleep with her head and arms on the mattress and her body on the floor. She was trying to get back in bed but fell asleep before she could make it all the way back up!

Mackenzie was 6 months old when she really started crawling everywhere. Once I heard her crying and when I went into the room, she wasn’t in bed! I followed her cry and found her in the walk-in closet…Another night, I went into her room and again, she wasn’t in bed! I looked and couldn’t find her anywhere! I almost had a heart-attack until I saw a tiny little foot sticking out from under the bed skirt. She had crawled under my bed and fell asleep there!  I know a mom who actually called 911 when this happened to her. She couldn’t find her baby anywhere and she was sure someone had abducted her LO. When the police came, they carefully surveyed the house and when they lifted the bed skirt, they found the baby – fast sleep!

Additional Notes

  • If you are using a very large mattress, use tube pillows or bolsters to make the space feel cozier. A young baby especially needs to feel as if he is contained in a space.
  • A knitted, breathable blanket (the kind with lots of holes) is the best choice as a covering.
  • Put twins on two separate mattresses. At first we wanted to save money and only bought one. That lasted only 1 month before they started distracting each other from sleeping and we had to separate them!