Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Posts Tagged ‘cribs’

家长问答:地板床和婴儿床的不一样

星期四, 九月 1st, 2011 10:07 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

问:读了你的部落格之后,我也在考虑做个地板床给我的15个月大宝宝。可是,只是把他放在那里,等到他睡觉就可以了吗?因爲跟他的婴儿床很不同,我怕他会睡不着。而且他已经会走路了。现在开始会不会有点太迟了呢?这个年龄把他转睡到地上床垫上有什么益处呢?

答:地板床是没有“太迟”这回事的!您在考虑给他一个地板床是一件很好的事!在地板床睡觉当然会和在婴儿床里睡觉的感觉不一样。一开始,因爲新奇,他会需要您在房里陪伴着他,帮助他适应。您需要把房间设计成有睡觉的地方(放床垫的地方)和玩耍的地方,在玩耍的地方铺一片特定的玩具地毯,把玩具都放在上面。这里应该是他一起身就看得到的地方。另外就是绝对不可以让他的玩具错落在床上或地上。帮他们收拾的时候,请把玩具都放在玩具地毯上。您必须让孩子知道房间里的秩序:“睡觉的地方在这里,起床玩玩具的地方在那里!”

地板床最重要的益处就是给於孩子们的自由和选择的馀地。什么时候起床,什么时候睡觉,都完全由他自己决定。婴儿床和高椅等的问题是,它们使孩子觉得无助, 进进出出都得依赖大人的帮忙。然后,他们唯一能够告诉您他们要出来的方式就是向您大声哭。所以向您大声哭其实是他们因爲感到无助而逐渐学习到的行爲。

把宝宝放在地上床垫的话,他们就不需要再向您大声哭才可以做他们想要做的东西了。现在,决定权在于他们。通过这样的自由,他会学习到自律。如果凡事都是由家 长帮孩子做决定的话,他的纪律都是从别人得到的,不算是真正的自律。如您所知,自律这种东西,孩子长大后会比较难学习,所以我非常鼓励您从小就开始把这个 品质灌输给孩子们。这也不会难到哪里去。只要尽量让他们自己选择要怎么去做他们要做的事情就行了!爲何不从让他们选择起床时间这个小小项目开始呢?

简单方程式:更多自由=更少哭泣+更加自律的孩子!

宝宝的床

星期四, 六月 9th, 2011 12:35 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

我们的家族不相信宝宝一定要睡在婴儿床里!婴儿床的小空间会影响到孩子们的发育和动作。而且旁边的木板会阻挡他们的视觉,让他们看不清楚外面的东 西。能够看得就只有无聊透顶的白色天花板。这也难怪宝宝会整天看着自己的床挂玩具–因爲实在是没有东西可以看了!很多家长认爲,床挂玩具会有助於发展宝宝的视力,不过那也是因爲床上激励他们视力的东西,只有床挂玩具而已!

晚间床

我们的宝宝到4个月大的时候都是睡在婴儿睡篮里或辅床(co-sleeper)类的床上。主要原因是我们的房子当时才400平方尺,没有太多位置给我们布置些什么。睡篮和辅床虽然很适合给小婴儿使用,我看得出它们限制到了宝宝的行动。

搬 到1200平方尺大的新房子后,我们就给了她们一张单人(成人用)床垫。这时,我们发现,宝宝在睡觉的时候,是需要很大的空间来移动的!没有亲眼目睹 Mackenzie在睡觉时转了个360度的话,打死我都不会相信的!如果您不给他们空间移动,他们就不会移动。不过一旦有足够的空间,他们就会运动身 体,促进自己的发展!

自从她们开始在地板床上睡觉后,她们的整体运动能力进步了许多。有个早上,我们发现5.5月大的Brooke既然自己 ‘爬’下了床垫,趴在床垫旁的厚地毯上呢!我想,应该是她先把一只脚放下,接着就被重力拉下去了。无论如何,她不但没有在哭,反而还在努力地爬到别处去 呢!如果她的目的地是糖果店的话,真遗憾,因爲在她还没有成功之前,就已经被我们给扣留了!

日间床

宝宝出生后的前两个月不是在我们的床上就是在客厅的沙发上。她们3个月大,开始越来越活跃的时候,我们就想到要给她们一个铺在地上的‘床’(地垫)。这个‘床’的构造是:厚厚 的毛毯2个,一些毛巾,上面铺着一个普通的床单。大小应该差不多5英尺x3.5英尺吧?她们醒着的时候,我们都会把她们放在地垫上趴。随着她们的年龄增 长,这个地垫也逐渐地扩大,现在已经有8英尺x3.5英尺大了。有这么大的地方,就不会怕她们不够空间自由移动了!

Mackenzie在4个月大的时候就可以从地垫的一边滑倒另外一边了!总共有5英尺长的距离哦!Brooke呢,在5个月大的时候会一直绕着地垫的周边滑圆圈。我不觉得我的孩子会快到哪里去,不过我真的认爲,让孩子们有足够的空间移动的话,他们会发展地比较快。毕竟,这个年龄的宝宝通常不是还卧在母亲的 怀里,就是还在窄窄的婴儿床里过活,很少有机会接触到这么开放的平地。要让他们训练怎么移动的话,这是少不了的。

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Posts Tagged ‘cribs’

Parent Q&A: Floor bed vs Crib

Thursday, September 1st, 2011 10:07 pm | By Stephanie Woo

Q: After reading your blog, I’m thinking of putting my 15-month old in a floor bed. Do I just let him stay in there till he falls asleep? It’ll be so different from his crib, will he be able to fall asleep? He’s already walking, is it too late to put him a floor bed? What are the benefits of a floor bed at this age?

A: First of all, it’s great that you are considering putting him in a floor bed. It is not too late! The first couple of nights will be very new and exciting for him, so stay in the room with him and help him get used to it. Being in a floor bed is very different from being in a crib. Design the room in such a way that there is an area for sleeping (where you put the floor bed) and an area for playing. Designate a toy mat or a toy area where you keep all his toys.  It should be an area he can see when he wakes up. Make sure his toys are not strewn all over the floor or all over his bed (after he plays with them, they will get everywhere, all parents know THIS, but when you tidy up, put them all on the toy mat).  Let the child know the order of the room, “Over here is where I sleep. And when I wake up, I get out of bed and come here to play with my toys.”

The most important benefit of a floor bed is the sense of freedom it gives your child. He gets to decide things for himself.  He gets to decide when he gets into and out of bed. The problem with containers like cribs, high chairs, etc, is that the child is helpless and dependent on the adult to get him in and out. The only way he can get out of these contraptions is through CRYING. Therefore, crying becomes a learned behavior – it is due to HELPLESSNESS.

When you put a baby in a floor bed or give him a small child-size table and chair for eating that he can get in and out of by himself, HE DOESN’T HAVE TO CRY TO GET ANYTHING. He can decide for himself and do it by himself. Through this freedom to decide for himself, he develops self-discipline. When everything is decided for him, the discipline comes from the outside. He doesn’t learn self-discipline till he is older and, like we all know, it is much harder to learn it when you’re older, if at all! Self-discipline is a skill that you want to teach your child from a young age, and miraculously, it comes from the freedom they get to choose for themselves….starting from something as basic as when he gets out of bed!

Simple Principle: More Freedom = less crying + a more self-disciplined child.

Baby Beds

Thursday, June 9th, 2011 12:35 am | By Stephanie Woo

In our family, we don’t believe in cribs. I’ve never seen any of my 6 nieces or nephews in one. Cribs confine babies to small spaces and hinder their movement and development. It also restricts a baby’s vision because they cannot see clearly past the wooden poles. All they have is an empty white ceiling to stare at. No wonder babies will stare at a mobile all day long, because they have nothing else to look at. Parents believe mobiles are great for developing their baby’s vision – it is, if that’s all they have to look at!

Night bed

Up to four months, our babies slept in baskets and co-sleepers at night mainly because we lived in a tiny 400 sq ft house and didn’t have much space to work with. The basket and co-sleeper were fine when they were tiny infants, but I could tell it was cramping their style. And it wasn’t until I put them on their own mattress that I saw just how cramped they were. 

As soon as we moved to our new 1200 sq ft house, we put them to sleep on a twin mattress. I saw just how much space a baby needs to move around, even in their sleep. I couldn’t imagine Mackenzie turning 360 degrees in her sleep until I witnessed it! When you don’t give them space to move, they don’t. But when they have the space to exercise, they do and it really helps their development. 

I have found that since they’ve been sleeping on the low floor mattresses, their overall movement has increased and improved. The other morning, we found Brooke (5 1/2 months) had ‘crawled’ off the mattress (we put a thick rug next to the mattress so it wouldn’t hurt if they fell). I figure she probably put one limb down and then gravity helped the rest of the way, but, in either case, she wasn’t crying, instead she was working hard making her way somewhere (we think perhaps to the candy store) but never made it there before we caught her! 

Day Bed

The first two months, the babies spent most of their time in our bed or on the living room sofa, which is where I spent most of my time. At 3 months, as they started moving more and more, we devised a day ‘bed’ (mat) on the floor for them that consisted of two thick wool blankets, some towels and a regular bed sheet on top. It was about 5’ x 3.5’. Whenever they were awake, we would put them on this mat on their tummy. As they’ve grown, their mat has grown to 8’ x 3.5’. This mat gives them ample room to move around.

At four months, Mackenzie had slithered 5 feet from one end of the mat to the other end. At five months, Brooke slithers around the perimeter of the mat in a circle. I think having room to move helped their development whereas many babies at this age are still confined to mother’s arms, cribs, swings or baby car seats and never get a chance to move much on a open, flat, hard surface, which is what they need to move properly.