Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Posts Tagged ‘dislike milk’

自制的婴儿食品

星期四, 六月 9th, 2011 12:32 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

我的孩子们4个月大的时候,我就让她们尝试固体食物了。我的母亲告诉我,宝宝会在4到5个月之间经历一段食物敏感期。这个期间,宝宝会开始对奶失去 胃口,所以这时介绍固体食物给他们最好不过的了。这个年龄的宝宝很喜欢吃东西,拿什么给他们,他们都不会拒绝!在这段敏感的期间内,如果能够让他们体会到 吃固体食物的乐趣,长大后,他们就不会那么挑食。差不多9个月以后才开始吃固体食物的宝宝却很有可能会变得挑食,尤其会不喜欢吃比较粗的食物。

那么头一个星期呢,我们先喂她们吃差不多2到3小汤匙的香蕉。千万不要把食物硬推进宝宝的嘴巴里。把汤匙拿到她们的嘴巴前,让她们自己开口吃。Brooke 试吃了香蕉后皱了一下眉头,好像不太喜欢这个新奇的味道。现在回想起来,我给宝宝吃新东西的时候,她们差不多每一次都会皱眉头的。母亲劝告我说,这并不代 表她们不喜欢这个食物,而是她们无法用其他方式表达自己。再喂她们吃多几次,她们就会开始喜欢了。

开始后的头3个星期,我不是每天,而是记得的时候才喂她们吃,跟随着所谓的4天待机规则。很多书说这是要让我们确定孩子们对食物有没有任何的过敏。我的母亲却説是爲了让孩子们有足够的时间,制作能够分解他们刚吃过的食物的消化酶。后来,我就渐渐开始每天喂她们吃固体食物一次。她们5.5月大的时候,我就开始每天喂她们两次。

我的保姆 在帮人照顾孩子的这5年内,从来没看过一个母亲亲自为宝宝下厨。她打工过的每一个家族都只喂宝宝吃瓶装的婴儿食物。“不过完全不含防腐剂!”保姆声称。我就告诉她说,食物只要有2到3年后的有效期,不管里有没有防腐剂,就已经可以算是死食了。这类的食物没有活酵素,和新鲜的蔬菜水果有绝大的差异。我问她, “您可以想象自己每天3餐都吃罐子里的东西吗?而且吃6个月?”

以下是我会遵守着的一些料理基础:

  • 只购买有认证的有机农产物
  • 放在冰箱里多过2天的食物不可以给孩子们吃
  • 只喂孩子们吃我自己会吃的食物–新鲜,可口,健康的水果,蔬菜和谷物等

现在,我的孩子们都已经5.5月大了。我有给她们吃过下面列表里的食物。除了不需要料理的香蕉和骆梨/牛油果以外,我都会把食物蒸了,或先烘培后再做成糊状。

香蕉

番薯

炖过的梨子

骆梨/牛油果

炖过的梅子

马铃薯泥附加牛奶

南瓜

萝卜

芒果

西葫芦

Super Baby Food这本书是个很好的婴儿食物资源。书中也教导读者怎么自己准备和储存宝宝的食物。

看着宝宝吃得津津有味的时候,会觉得自己的努力使值得的…

从喝奶转变到吃固体食物的断奶过程

星期四, 六月 9th, 2011 12:29 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

Mackenzie刚4个月大的时候,开始讨厌喝配方奶。母奶的话,2分钟就可以吞下4盎司。不过配方奶她却需要半个小时才喝得下4盎司!説来话长,不过基本上我无法制作足够的母奶来喂两个宝宝,所以我得一直给她喝配方奶。尝试了很多不同配方后,发现她只喜欢Baby’s Only。不过可惜,这个配方会使她常常便秘。之后试了Earth’s Best,她也很讨厌。最终只好等到她很饿很饿的时候,才不得不喝下我们给她的Similac配方。

于是我就打了电话给我的母亲,寻求她的意见。

母亲告诉我,许多宝宝会在他们3到5个月大的期间内开始喝比较少奶。总之就是不喜欢喝,喝很慢,或者装着在喝。Mackenzie就是装着喝奶的高手。她会 含着奶嘴,一边动嘴,一边认真地看着我。20分钟后,把奶嘴拉出来才发现她花了这么多时间却只喝了少过¼盎司!第一次发生的时候,我假假大声骂 她,“Mackenzie!”她的反应?看上来向我傻笑!她非常清楚自己刚刚做了什么事!

母亲就劝我说:她们喝的奶不比以前多的话没关系。 这是个非常好的机会让她们尝试固体食物。开始讨厌奶的宝宝,通常也会同时比较喜欢吃固体食物的。4到5个月的期间是宝宝的断奶/食物敏感期。这时开始吃固体食物的宝宝,以后不会那么挑食,而且通常会吃的很好。超过敏感期后才让宝宝接触到固体食物的话,宝宝长大以后很有可能会变得比较挑食。

刚开始给宝宝吃固体食物时,他们会因爲不习惯而把食物吐出来。这不代表他们不喜欢这个食物,只是他们不知道怎么把食物从嘴巴的前方移到后方而已。起初,您可以把食物放在舌头/嘴巴的后方。那么他们就只需要把食物吞下去就可以了。请一定要使用一个为婴儿设计的小汤匙。咖啡匙应该也行得通。我的汤匙是在Sur La Table 购买的。

也请记得,如果您放食物进宝宝嘴巴的时候,他向您皱眉头的话,那是因爲这个食物的味道新奇,绝对不是因爲他不喜欢吃哦!因爲他们就只能用这个方式表达自己,很多宝宝会一直向您皱眉头的。继续喂他们吃多1,2次,他们熟悉这个味道后就不会再皱眉头了。如果您在他们4到5 个月大的食物敏感期给他们吃固体食物的话,以后您的宝宝就不会那么挑食,什么都愿意吃哦!

又被母亲说对了。4个月大的Mackenzie非常喜欢吃东西。每次给她新的东西吃的时候,她一定会皱一下眉头。就连每天的第一餐她也会因爲不习惯‘吃’的概念而向我皱眉头。不过她其实是真的很喜欢,而且还会吃得津津有味!炖过的梨子之类含水食物她会一汤匙接一汤匙地吃。如果食物稍微有点大块的话,她会停止动作,有时候还会哭呢!难道是因为她不想吃了? 不对!她只是想告诉我,她要喝水!喝完水后,她又会继续吃下去,直到她又口渴爲止。

对我有绝大帮助的关键:

  • 不要认定他们皱眉头就是不喜欢那个食物。一直给他们,让他们熟悉那个味道。
  • 如果他们开始哭,给他们一点水把食物洗下去后,再把食物拿给他们。宝宝吃东西的时候当然也和我们一样,需要水分!
  • 不要把食物弄成太过水水的。要教您的孩子水和奶等液体是和食物有分别的。不同的宝宝也会有不同的偏好。Mackenzie喜欢浓度一致的食物,而Brooke比较喜欢水水的食物。

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Posts Tagged ‘dislike milk’

Homemade Baby Food

Thursday, June 9th, 2011 12:32 am | By Stephanie Woo

I started letting B and M experience solid food when they turned 4 months old. My mom told me that babies go through a sensitive period for eating between 4 and 5 months. For many babies, it coincides with a period of time when their appetite for milk decreases, so it’s the perfect time to offer them solids. Babies love to eat at this age and will eat practically anything you offer them. If they are given the chance to experience eating real food during this sensitive period, they will generally be very good eaters down the line, whereas babies who start eating later (9 months or later) will be much more finicky about their food (and particularly dislike textured food).

The first week, we started by eating a little bit of banana. When I say a little, I mean 2-3 tiny half-spoonfuls. I remember putting the spoon to Brooke’s mouth.  NOTE: never shove the food in the baby’s mouth. Let them open their mouth to the food. Brooke tasted the banana and then furrowed her eyebrows, looking quite displeased with this strange thing that I was putting in her mouth. Now looking back, my babies do that every time I put a new food in their mouth. My mother warned me to not interpret that as them not liking the food. It’s just that they have no other way to express themselves. It IS strange, it IS new, but it doesn’t mean they don’t like it. Give it to them a couple more times, and they’ll like it.

The first 3 weeks, I fed them when I remembered to, which wasn’t everyday. I did apply the 4-day wait rule. Books will tell you it’s to make sure they don’t have allergies, my mom says it’s so that they have the chance to develop the enzyme for that particular food. Eventually I started feeding them once a day and since they turned 5.5 months old, I started feeding them twice a day.

My Chinese nanny, in her five years as a nanny, has never seen a mother make her own baby food. Every family she’s ever worked for fed their babies exclusively jarred baby food. “It doesn’t have preservatives!” she exclaimed. I told her any food that has an expiration date 2-3 YEARS from now is completely dead food, preservatives or no preservatives. It has no live enzymes, unlike fresh fruits and vegetables. I said, “Can you imagine eating out of a jar or can every single day, 3 meals a day for 6 months?”

Here are some basics of food-making I’ve been adhering to.

  • Only buy certified organic produce
  • Never feed them anything that has been in the refrigerator for more than 2 days
  • Feed them food you would want to eat – fresh,  tasty, healthy fruits, vege and grains

My babies are now 5 ½ month old. So far I’ve fed them the following foods, all steamed or baked then pureed (except banana and avocado that doesn’t require cooking). I introduced the food in this order:

Banana
Sweet potato
Stewed pears
Avocado
Stewed Plums
Mashed Potato with cow’s milk
Butternut squash
Carrots
Mango
Zucchini

The book Super Baby Food has been a great resource for what to feed your baby, as well as how to prepare and store baby food.

I love making baby food and watching them eat it one bite after another…

Weaning: How to transition from milk to solids

Thursday, June 9th, 2011 12:29 am | By Stephanie Woo

When Mackenzie turned 4 months old, she started to hate formula. She would gulp down 4 oz of breastmilk in 2 minutes and take 30 minutes to drink 4 oz of formula. But since I didn’t have enough breastmilk to feed both babies (long story), I had to keep giving her formula. It was a struggle. We tried different formulas. She loved Baby’s Only, but she got very constipated. We then tried Earth’s Best, which she also hated. Eventually we just waited for her to be so hungry, she had no choice but to drink the Similac.

I called my mom to find out what I should do.

Mom told me that many babies go through a period around 3-5 months where they will start drinking less milk. They just don’t like it and will eat slowly or fake drink. For example, Mackenzie was excellent at fake drinking. She would sit there with the nipple in her mouth, move her mouth and look up at me earnestly, as if she’s really drinking the milk. 20 minutes later, when I pulled out the bottle to see how much she’s drank, well, she’d spent all the time and gone through less than ¼ of an oz! The first time this happened, I fake-scolded her loudly, “Mackenzie!” And she just looked up and gave me a big grin. She knows exactly what she’s doing!

So Mom said, don’t worry if they don’t drink as much milk, in fact it’s a good time to start feeding them solids. When they start to hate milk, they generally enjoy eating food. In fact, 4-5 months is the sensitive period for eating. Babies who start eating at this age will be versatile eaters and will likely end up eating very well, whereas if you start feeding babies at 9-10 months, after the sensitive period, they will likely become picky eaters.

When you first start feeding them solids, babies do not yet know how to eat so they will spit out the food. This doesn’t mean they don’t like it, it means they haven’t figured out how to bring the food from the front of the mouth to the back of the mouth. To help them in the beginning, put the food further back in their mouth. If you put food just inside the lip, it will likely come out immediately, whereas if you use the spoon and deposit the food further back of the tongue/mouth, it’s likely all they have to do is swallow, which they are adept at doing. Make sure you are using a small shallow spoon designed for babies. A small demi-tasse spoon could work. I bought mine at Sur La Table.

Also, if your baby frowns at anything you put in her mouth, it is because it is unfamiliar, it’s not because she doesn’t like it. She doesn’t have any other way to express the experience of something new, so frowning is what most of them end up doing. Keep feeding it to her, after a couple times, she will stop frowning once she’s familiar with the food. And if you feed her during the 4-5 month sensitive period, your babies will probably eat anything and everything you give them!

Mom was right again. At four months, Mackenzie loves to eat. She always frowns when I give her something new. She even frowns at the first meal of the day because she’s just getting used to ‘eating.’ But she loves it, and she’ll take one bite after another. If the food is watery, like pureed pears, she’ll just take spoonful after spoonful. But if the food is sort of chunkier, like pureed sweet potato, she’ll stop and sometimes even cry, as if she doesn’t want anymore. But not so! She’s trying to tell me she wants a drink of water! After her drink of water, she’ll go right back to eating, until she gets thirsty again.

A couple key things that really helped me in feeding Mackenzie:

  • Do not interpret a frown as them disliking a food. Keep offering it to them until they are familiar with it.
  • If they start crying, try feeding them some water to wash down the food, then offer the food again. Drinking liquids during meal is essential for babies,  they need it, just like you and me!
  • Don’t mush up everything so it’s all watery. Teach your baby to distinguish between liquid, like water or milk, and food. I’ve found that Mackenzie likes food that has some consistency to it, whereas Brooke prefers more watery foods.