Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Posts Tagged ‘freedom of choice’

当小孩吵架

星期三, 五月 1st, 2013 8:34 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

When Kids Fight

B和M最近对於汤玛士小火车都非常喜爱,在搬家的过程中,大多数的小火车都丢了,就剩下其中一列红色的。可能你已经知道随後会发生的故事了。有一天,M拿了小火车,但是B也想要。

我按照我一般处理的方式,我说”Brooke,问Mackenzie,她结束了以後是否能给你。“於是Brooke就跟著我同样的问了,但是,B这时候就想要了,所以她们两个人就开始抢了起来,B拿走,M抢回去,然後B又拿走,M就开始哭了,我试著从B的手中将小火车拿走,说”M先拿的。“但是我也不想要用力的将东西抢走,因为那只会让小孩模仿而已。

所以,我将Brooke抱起来,将她放在我腿上,说”Brooke,你需要在这里跟我一起坐著,一直到你準备好将东西还回去。“我对她们两个人说,”妈妈不知道该如何做,Brooke想要,Mackenzie也想要,但是,我们只有一列小火车,我们该怎麽办呢?“

M停下来不哭了,她们两个人都看著我,B说“妈妈再买一列火车。”

我马上将这个方法加到我的想法里,然後我说“好的,但是我们现在,只有一列小火车,我们还有什麽别的好方法?”

她们两个人都安静并且认真的想,我说“我们能不能用黏土做出一列汤玛士小火车呢?”

显然的,这个提议太好了,M马上拿出黏土。然後我说“我们还可以画一列汤玛士!”B去拿了黑板,然後开始画了一个圆形的东西,正巧有个多才多艺的朋友Candice来拜访我们,真是感谢她,那个晚上她在黑板上画了好多个汤玛士小火车,让孩子们开心。

其实我有可能可以担任法官的角色,决定谁可以拿到汤玛士小火车,谁需要练习忍受,也可能将东西拿走。但是我可能必须要忍受她们再哭多一些,日後她们还会依赖我来解决她们的问题。取而代之的是我发现了一个新的规则:小孩在思考的时候,并不是在吵架,与其帮她们解决问题,不如让她们有机会可以练习自己解决问题。

心理预备,提醒,以及快乐的幼儿

星期三, 一月 2nd, 2013 11:23 上午 | By Stephanie Woo
M playing with her farm animals

M正玩著她的农场动物

每一天,我喜欢知道自己一天的行程,才能够很好的从生理上和心理上预备好自己。其实小孩也是一样的,不论是一天的行程,或者是五分钟後要发生的事情,都需要有个预备。你曾经也有这样的经验,一个小孩正在进行活动,你要将小孩的活动打断,要他去吃饭或者是洗澡,有时候小孩会很好回应,有时候却大发脾气。

昨天,M正在看著她的农场动物,晚餐时间到了,所以我就将她手上的乳牛给拿走了,她马上尖叫,我早应该知道。所以我将乳牛还给她,并且告诉她“好,你可以在多玩一会,然後我们就要吃饭了”,她重複“再玩一会”,两分钟後,我再提醒她一次,“我们两分钟後就要开始吃饭了,两分钟後你可以自己收农场动物,或者我可以帮你收“,两分钟之後我说”该把农场动物给收掉了“,她没回应,所以我就伸手出去(而不是把东西从她手上拿走),然後再问一次“你要自己收掉,还是你要我帮忙呢?”她说“自己收”,然後她就将东西收掉,然後加入我们大家一起吃晚餐。

当你能够给孩子这样层次的预备,并且真的去执行你所说的话,你的孩子会知道,虽然她对於自己的情境是有控制权的,(因为你给予她们选择),但是妈妈是会说到做到的。有时候,孩子的确会抗拒,然而这抗拒会是短暂的,但是如果你强迫的去要小孩改变,小孩就会尖叫对抗。当小孩觉得她有“真正的选择时”,她们就会跟你一起度过,而不是对抗你了。

新年快乐!

幼儿与睡觉时间

星期四, 十二月 13th, 2012 11:51 上午 | By Stephanie Woo
Toddler and Bedtime

过去两个月,要让23个月大的B以及M去睡觉,是段挺难的经历,在我关灯离开她们的房间之後,她俩轮流哭,妳们有其它人有这样的经历吗?我试了好多种方法,一个晚上又一个晚上,让她们留在她们的床上睡,而我在我的床睡。

我试了很多种方法:1 陪到她们睡著为止(很累人,而且让小孩养成习惯,是我最不喜欢的方法);2 让小孩自己哭到入睡(也是我比较不喜欢的方法,当我真的很累又没办法时用过,有时候真的有效果);3 就让她们在房间外面玩,让他们熬夜。

我将我试过并且有效的方法整理如下,过去两週,状况好多了,通常我关灯之後五分钟,我就可以离开她们的房间,她们会留在她们的房间里面,最後自己睡著,直到第二天早上7点。我还是持续的在寻找方法,以免有时候不管用。如果你有其它的方法,请留言给我。

  1. 妈妈跟爸爸都参与到小孩睡觉準备的过程。有无数的夜晚,小孩就是不让我离开她们的房间,并且她们会用哭来对付我,让她们不哭的其中一个方法就是跟她们说“爸爸等会会进来跟妳们道晚安,妳们要爸爸进来了吗?”通常她们会说好。不知为什麽,通常爸爸只要出现5分钟,就可以让她们睡著。也许,不是每个爸爸在小孩要睡觉的时候都有空这样做,但是,我很相信(我也这样说服我老公)爸爸们对於让小孩们睡著比妈妈还厉害,他现在也相信了。
  2. 给个“小儿按摩”。Brooke最近很需要抱,在观察Brooke一段时间之後,我有了这样的一个方法。你可以这样做:在关灯之後,将小孩紧紧抱在你的胸膛,用你的双手手掌摩擦小孩的背,腿,手臂,以及脚,轻柔坚定并且缓慢。尽量的让她靠近你,就像是婴儿按摩,不过对象是你家的幼儿,我家的两个孩子轮流,当我在为其中一个按摩的时候,我会跟另一个说“我正在抱你的姐姐/妹妹,请不要打扰我们”,Brooke以及Mackenzie都很喜欢,Mackenzie会用中文跟我说“Mackenzie要用力一点”,大约5-10分钟的肌肤亲密接触,她们会回到各自的枕头,跟我道晚安。最近的几个星期,这是最有效的方法,特别是我先生出差的那个星期,不知识小婴儿需要很多的肌肤接触,幼儿也是很需要de.
  3. 千万不要改变睡眠的流程。之前已经吃过饭,喝了奶,也读过故事了, 在晚上8:15-8:30之间,我们一定会去準备小孩要睡觉。白天的流程可能会有一些改变(我还是努力的维持下午一点的午睡时间),但是,晚上的睡觉时间是不会改变的,如果我和老公要出门,我们也会请保姆遵守同样的时间规律,有很多家庭在某些时候会放松(假日,生日,特别的日子,週末),但是幼儿很强烈的需要秩序以及固定流程,让小孩依照成人的时间来修改,只会让情况一团乱,让孩子没有办法自己去睡觉。
  4. 在睡觉之前的一个小时,跟小孩再一次说明她们睡觉之前的準备过程。当我在为小孩洗澡的时候,我会将整个流程再说一次“洗澡之後,妳们就要喝奶,妳们躺在床上之後,我就会给你们读故事,接著我就会关灯,妈妈就会离开妳们的房间,妳们就会自己睡著。”在关灯前的15分钟,我还会将流程再睡一次,这样的心里预备过程对每个人都很有帮助。
  5. 睡眠的自由与限制。当她们说“我还不想睡”,我就说“你还不需要睡,你得要待在房间里,但是你可以不要睡著。”我说的时候,是真心的。她们睡在地板床上,因此,她们有自由能够再房间里自由移动,一直到她们够累了,就会自己睡著。

我读了很多的部落格/博客上的文章,告诉家长要珍惜睡觉的时间,因为,小孩长大之後,她们不会喜欢你现在对待她的方式。我知道它们说的是真的,但是为了我现在自己的快乐以及心灵健康,我也需要有时间给自己,而自己的时间就是她们睡著之後的时间,如果你家现在有个幼儿,你应该懂得我说什麽,每个晚上当我有几个小时给我自己,并且可以好好睡一觉,第二天早上我们见到彼此的时候,我们都会开心一点!

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Posts Tagged ‘freedom of choice’

When Kids Fight

Wednesday, May 1st, 2013 8:34 pm | By Stephanie Woo

When Kids Fight

B and M are currently obsessed with Thomas the Train. During our move, we lost all but one red train. You know where this is going. One day, M has it, but B wants it.

I did my usual. I said, “Brooke, ask Mackenzie if you can have it after she is done.” She started repeating after me, but, well, B wanted it NOW. So it escalates into a snatching contest. B grabs it. M takes it back. Then B takes it again. M starts crying. I’m tempted to grab it out of B’s hands and say, “M had it first.” But I try not to forcefully take things out of anyone’s hands because that just invites copycat behavior from the children. 

So I pick up Brooke, put her in my lap and say, “Brooke, you need to sit here with me until you’re ready to give it back.” 

I say to both of them, “Mama doesn’t know what to do. Brooke wants it. Mackenzie wants it. But we only have one train. What should we do?”

M sort of stops crying for a second. They both look at me. B says, “Mama buy another one.” 

“Great idea!” I immediately add it to my mental checklist. Then I say, “Okay, but we only have one right now.  What else can we do?”

They’re both thinking – and quiet. I say, “What if we go make a Thomas out of clay?” 

Apparently that was a brilliant idea. M immediately goes to get the Playdoh. And then I say, “We can also draw a Thomas!” B goes to the chalkboard and starts drawing a round circular thing. My multi-talented friend Candice who was visiting us that evening – bless her heart – draws several Thomas the trains on the chalkboard and keep the kids entertained the rest of the evening.  

I could have played the judge and decided who gets Thomas and who will just have to learn to deal with it. I could have taken it away from both of them. But not only would I have to endure more crying, they’d always look to me to figure things out for them. Instead, I discovered a new principle: when children are thinking, they are not fighting. Instead of figuring it out for them, let them do the problem-solving. 

Mental Preparations, Reminders and Happier Toddlers

Wednesday, January 2nd, 2013 11:23 am | By Stephanie Woo
M playing with her farm animals

M playing with her farm animals

I like to know my schedule ahead of time so I can prepare myself physically and mentally for the day ahead. Children need the same thing. This applies to the schedule of the day or the schedule of the next five minutes. Have you ever tried to take your child away from an activity he’s doing because you want him to eat dinner or take a bath? Sometimes he’s fine; other times, it turns into a screaming tantrum.  

Yesterday, M was working with her farm animals. It was time for dinner, so I took the cow out of her hands without thinking and she started screaming. I should’ve known better!  So I gave the cow back to her and said, “Okay, you can play with it for a little longer and then we are going to eat dinner.” She repeats, “A little longer.” Two minutes later, I gave her a second reminder, “Okay, we are going to eat dinner in two more minutes. In two minutes, you can put away the farm animals or I will put it away for you. You can choose which one.” After two minutes go by, I said, “It’s time to put the farm animals away.” She didn’t respond, so I stuck out my hand (rather than grab it) and asked her, “Do you want to put it away yourself or do you want me to help you put it away?“ She said, “By myself.” And then she puts it away and joins everyone for dinner.

 When you give this level of preparation, and follow through consistently on your word, then your children know that they have some control over the situation (because you gave them choices) but Mom means what she says. On days they still resist, it will be a whiny resistance that lasts for a short period of time, as opposed to the high-pitched screaming you might have to endure for a long time if you force the change on them.  When children feel like they have REAL CHOICES, they are much more likely to work WITH you, rather than against you.

Happy New Year!

Bedtime and Toddler

Thursday, December 13th, 2012 11:51 am | By Stephanie Woo
Toddler and Bedtime

Toddler and Bedtime

For the past two months, it’s been really hard to put B and M (23 months) down at bedtime. They take turns crying when I try to leave their room after lights-out. Anyone else experiencing this? I’ve had to try A LOT of different things to keep them in their bed and me in mine night after night.

Here are things I’ve tried that I don’t like: 1. stay till they fall asleep (exhausting, habit-forming and my least favorite of options), 2. cry it out (second least favorite option which I resort to when I’m absolutely exasperated, but it has worked on occasion) 3. let them stay up and play outside of their room.

Well, I also started compiling a list of things that HAS worked for us. Things have gotten better in the last two weeks. I can usually leave the room 5 minutes after lights out and they will stay in their room and fall asleep by themselves till the next morning at 7am. I’m also looking for more ideas in case these run out of steam! Please post yours in the comment area.

  1. Involve both Mom and Dad with bedtime. I cannot count the number of nights I just cannot extricate myself from a child’s hug and the only thing that would keep them from a meltdown when I try to leave is to say, “Daddy’s gonna come in to say good-night to you. Do you want to see Daddy?” That usually results in a yes. And somehow, Daddy only needs a 5-minute appearance to put them to sleep. Maybe not all Dads can do it in that time, but I’m completely convinced (and use it with my husband all the time) that Dads are better at bedtime than Moms. He believes it now, too.
  2. Give your child a “Toddler Massage.” I came up with this after observing Brooke, who has recently been asking to be held A LOT. So this what you do: after you turn off the lights, hold your child against your belly tightly. Using your whole palm, rub your child’s back, legs, arms and feet firmly, gently and slowly. Hold her as close to you as you can. It’s like an infant massage, except it’s for your toddler. I do it first to one child, then to the other. When I’m massaging one child, I’ll say to the other, “I’m holding your sister now, Please don’t interrupt us.” Both Brooke and Mackenzie love this. Mackenzie will say to me in Chinese, “Mackenzie wants tightly.”  After 5-10 minutes of this intense intimacy and skin contact, they’ll crawl back to their little pillows and say good-night to me. This has been the most successful thing I’ve tried in recent weeks, especially during the week my husband was on a business trip.  Not only do babies need a lot of skin contact, toddlers (and adults) need it, too.
  3. Never ever change the bedtime routine. We eat dinner, take bath, drink milk and do storytime. Then it’s lights out somewhere between 815-830. No exceptions. Daytime schedule may change (though I make every effort to honor the 1pm nap schedule as well), but this bedtime routine never ever changes. If my husband and I need to go out, we ask our nanny to follow this schedule. Many families will make an exception here and there (holidays, birthdays, special events, weekends), but a toddler’s need for order and routine is so intense that expecting him to accommodate to your schedule will just mess with his ability to fall asleep at bedtime on his own.
  4. Talk them through the bedtime routine an hour before bedtime. When we’re bathing, I’ll give them a rundown of what’s going to happen: “After we bathe, we’re going to have milk, then I’m going to read you a story in bed, and then we’ll turn out the lights. And then Mommy is going to go out and you will fall sleep by yourself.” And then I repeat the rundown again 15 minutes before lights out. Everyone benefits from a little mental preparation.
  5. Giving them freedom within limits around sleeping. When they say, “I don’t want to sleep,” I say, “You don’t have to sleep. You have to stay in your room during bedtime, but you don’t have to sleep.” And I mean it when I say this to them. The floor beds they sleep in give them the freedom to move around till they feel tired enough to fall asleep.

I’ve read many blog postings that tell parents to cherish this time, that after they grow older, they won’t want you the way they do now. I can imagine that being true, but for my sanity and happiness NOW, I also need time to myself. And that happens after they go to bed. If you have a toddler right now, I’m sure you can relate. When I can have a good few hours to myself at night and then a good night’s sleep, we are all much happier when we see each other the next morning!