Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Posts Tagged ‘freedom to choose’

我们在巴尔的摩的家Part III:我们穿衣服的地方

星期一, 十月 22nd, 2012 11:00 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

在Brooke以及Mackenzie22个月大的时候,她们终于能够自己穿脱衣服了,她们能够自己脱掉上衣,裤子,洋装,袜子,鞋子,以及外套,多数时候她们都能自己做,只需要一点点协助。我承认,在我没有耐心的时候,我的确会动手帮她们,我希望自己帮的次数再少一点!但是,每一次,她们的表现,都让我知道,只要给她们足够的时间,她们就能够独立的完成。

你家的孩子不知道是否跟我的两个女儿一样,对于衣服特别的喜欢,大约在她们六个月大左右,她们的衣服就都放在一个开放式的架子上,就像照片中的架子,孩子是可以轻易的就取得。基本上,任何时候孩子都可以来把玩她们的衣服还有鞋子,她们喜欢看见我们如何穿脱衣服,然后她们自己也同样的去做,也许因为我给她们很多这样的机会,好多练习的机会,她们对于穿衣服可就是非常的自足。

这里是孩子们现在换衣服的地方,在照片里你看不见,但是,这就在她们的工作区域旁边,练习穿脱衣服就跟使用剪刀或者读一本书,有时候,她们就只爱换衣服!

在最上层你看见的是袜子,她们俩可喜欢袜子了,在第二层是她们的上衣以及洋装,在最底层是她们的裤子,训练裤以及尿片,基本上她们已经都完成如厕练习了,但是如果我们要出门的时间超过一个小时,或者是在晚上出门,我就回给她们穿上尿布。在地上的是她们的鞋子。

我不会在她们穿衣服的过程中打扰她们,这表示,每个星期,你都有机会发现某些时候她们的裤子穿反了,有时两只脚都穿上了左脚鞋(来自於不同的两双鞋,因为她们分享同样两双鞋子),两只脚穿的袜子颜色不同,内裤外穿,穿两件夹克等等,我觉得挺有意思的,但是,我不会去纠正她们,如果她们不感到困扰,也不会困扰到我,更重要的是孩子们可以自己做决定,并且能够坚持住。

在巴尔的摩,天气渐渐的凉爽了,所以她们开始穿外套了,在我拍这个视频之前,我只是在门上给她们安上了可以吊外套的吊钩,这就是我们如何利用我们家空间的一个好例子:

在下一个文章里,我将让你知道孩子如何穿外套的好方法,小孩无法像成人一样的自己穿,因为她们的手臂太短,但是你读了下一篇就知道了!

在巴尔的摩的家Part II:我们吃饭的地方

星期四, 十月 18th, 2012 9:22 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

继续看看我们具有蒙特梭利特色的新家,这里是我们吃饭的地方

  1. 这是我们从孩子们六个月大就开始使用的断奶桌,这桌子花了我们150美金,但是却非常的物超所值,超过其它我们给孩子们买的东西。我把之前带侧把手的椅子换成重量较轻的板条椅,这种板条椅,是玛利亚蒙特梭利亲自发明的。制作的材料是桦木,所以重量较轻,小孩们可以自己搬动,而且因为设计的好,整个椅子很稳固,同时我觉得这种椅子很好看。如果你也想要订制,可以发电子邮件给我,介绍给你在Denver帮我们制做椅子的木匠。
  2. 杯子和小水壶是桌子上的固定摆设,白天的时候,小孩要喝水时,就可以自己取用。
  3. 脏碗篮平常放在桌子的下方,用过餐之后,她们会把桌子清洁干净,并且将脏碗盘餐具放进篮子里。
  4. 这些是她们用的餐桌垫。我事先在一张纸上头画好盘子,碗,叉子以及刀子的线条,然后护贝。这是我学到的蒙特梭利小撇步,能够帮助孩子们很好的自己摆设餐桌,当她们在摆设餐桌时,她们还会指着叉子的线条,命名“叉子”,然后去旁边的餐车取一支叉子,接着指指盘子的线条,命名之后去取盘子。这些线条给孩子很好的指引,我极力推荐,况且制做简单,又非常便宜,点击视频,看看孩子们如何使用吧!
  5. 这是她们用的碗,盘,叉子以及勺子,这些物件都分别放在各自的容器里。
  6. 这些毛巾用来擦嘴,擦手,有时候水灑了也可以擦。我在毛巾上头缝了一个环,就容易吊挂起来,这是我在接受蒙特梭利培训时学到的,让我省了好多的擦手纸。
  7. 这是小篮子可以装两个海绵,小孩用来擦她们的餐垫,点击视频可以看她们如何做。
  8. 这个带轮子的餐车很轻,占用的空间也不大,可以随需要四处移动。

你可以参考以下的视频,看看我怎么规划的,好有个概念。视频中,孩子们在做水果奶昔,摆设餐桌,然后坐下来吃她们的早餐。

在我们开始之前,我先准备了制作水果奶昔需要的材料,每一样材料都分别放在各自的小容器里,让孩子有可能可以自己制作奶昔。

 

让我们开始动手吧!

如果你对于让孩子制作向日葵子奶昔,可以参考以下链接的影片,非常简单!我自己制作的时候,舍弃了巴西核桃不用,改用了腰果或向日葵子: http://livingmaxwell.com/how-to-make-nut-milk

让你的宝宝自己选择他要穿的衣服

星期六, 九月 17th, 2011 2:42 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

孩子7到8个月大的时候,就可以让他们自己做选择了哦。不过不要太过火哦!让他们二选一就够了。每次帮孩子们洗澡后,我就会挑两件衣服给他们选。 Mackenzie讨厌粉红色,可是很喜欢绿色。Brooke,她喜欢的是连身衣。她们的选择一概不变,非常肯定自己要的是什么。真了不起!

不顾一切地把青色连体衣从我手中抢过去!要就是要!

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Posts Tagged ‘freedom to choose’

Our Montessori Home In Baltimore Part III: Where We Get Dressed

Monday, October 22nd, 2012 11:00 am | By Stephanie Woo

At 22 months, Brooke and Mackenzie are finally able to undress and dress themselves completely. They can take off and put on shirts, pants, dresses, socks, shoes and jackets with very little or no help. I have to confess I do help them when I get impatient, which is more often than I’d like to admit! But they’ve demonstrated that given enough time, they can do it all on their own.

I don’t know if your kids are like this, but mine are pretty obsessed with clothing. Since they were six months old, we’ve always kept their clothes on an open, accessible shelf like this. They can come and play with their clothes and shoes as much as they want. They love to watch us get dressed and undressed and doing it themselves. Probably because I’ve given them so much liberty around this, all the practice they’ve gotten has made them very self-sufficient when it comes to clothing. 

Right now, this where they get dressed. You can’t see it in the picture, but this is right next to their work area. Getting dressed and undressing is just as interesting to them as using scissors or reading a book (if not more interesting on some days!).

On the top row, you see socks. They are obsessed with socks. On the second row are shirts and dresses. On the bottom row are pants, training pants and diapers. They are pretty much potty trained, but we do put them in diapers if we are going out for more than an hour or at night. And on the floor are their shoes.

I don’t interfere when they dress themselves. This means, on a weekly basis, you’ll find them wearing their pants backwards, two left shoes (from two different pairs of shoes, usually because they are sharing two pairs of shoes), two different colored socks, underwear over their pants, multiple jackets. etc. I think it’s hilarious, but I don’t correct them. If it doesn’t bother them, then it doesn’t bother me. What’s more important is the fact that they are capable of making decisions and following through on those decisions.

The weather just turned cold here in Baltimore so they are starting to put on jackets. I just installed these hooks on the walls for their jackets two days before this video. This is a good example of how we use this space in our home:

In the next post, I’ll show you a GREAT method for toddlers to put on their own jackets. They can’t do it the way we do it because their arms are too short, but wait till you see this!

Our Montessori Home In Baltimore Part II: Where We Eat

Thursday, October 18th, 2012 9:22 am | By Stephanie Woo

To continue the tour of our new Montessori home, here is where we eat.

1. This is the same weaning table we’ve had since they were 6 months old – we’ve gotten more use out of the $150 table than anything else we’ve ever bought for the kids. However, I replaced the heavy armchairs with light slatted chairs. These chairs were designed by Maria Montessori herself. They are made of birch wood, so they are lightweight enough for children to carry, but the design makes them extremely sturdy. I also find them to be beautiful to look at. Email me if you want the name of the carpenter in Denver who made these for me.

2. The cups and pitcher are permanent fixtures on this table. This is where the children get a drink of water during the day.

3. When not in use, we keep this dirty dish basket under the table. After meals, they clean up their own table and put their dishes in here.

4. These are their placemats. I’ve pre-drawn outlines of plate, bowl, fork and knife on a piece of paper, then laminated it. This great Montessori trick makes it so easy for little ones to set their own table. When they’re setting the table, you’ll see them point at the outline of the fork and say, “Fork,” then go to the cart to get a fork, and then point of the outline of the plate and say, “Plate,” then get one, etc. It’s like a great little cheat-sheet! I highly-recommend it. Takes about 5 minutes to make and costs very little. You can see how the children use it in the video below.

5. Here are their bowls, plates, fork and spoon. I keep the fork and spoon in separate containers.

6. These towels are used for their mouth, hands and for wiping up spills. The little hoops I’ve sewn onto the towel makes it really easy for them to hang on hooks. This tip I learned in my Montesorri training has saved me thousands of paper towels.

7. This little basket holds two sponges, which they use for wiping their mat. You can see them using it in this video here

8. This rolling cart is light, takes up very little floor space and can be moved around easily.

In order for you to get an idea of how we use this space, here is a video of the children making a smoothie, setting the table, then sitting down to eat their breakfast.

Before we start, here are the ingredients we use in the smoothie. Putting out each ingredient in individual containers makes it possible for children to make this smoothie on their own.

 Here we go!

If you’re interested in making fresh sunflower seed milk, here’s a great video. It’s super easy. And instead of using Brazil nut, like he does in the video, I use cashews or sunflower seeds: http://livingmaxwell.com/how-to-make-nut-milk

Letting your baby choose her own clothing

Saturday, September 17th, 2011 2:42 pm | By Stephanie Woo

By 7-8 months, you can start letting your baby make some choices. Always give them TWO choices – no more than two! I let my girls choose between two outfits everyday after bath. Mackenzie hates pink/loves green and Brooke loves onesies. It’s amazing how CONSISTENT AND CERTAIN they are in their choices.

Look at the way she yanked that green onesie out of my hand! This baby knows what she wants!