Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Posts Tagged ‘sensorial perceptions’

(English) We Started Gardening! Part II

星期二, 四月 16th, 2013 7:09 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

我们开始种植!(一)

星期四, 四月 11th, 2013 11:59 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

我在城市里长大,小时候,我成长的环境,是台北市的公寓,长大之後,我在纽约住了有20年,所以如果有人开始跟我讨论种植,蟲子,泥土或者是任何跟大自然有关的事情,我都会试著改变话题。

如今,我搬到了波特兰,我决定要入乡随俗,几乎这里所有的人都有个花园,如果你不跟著一起堆肥,养一些蟲子,吃一些自己花园种植的产品,那麽就会受到质疑,难道你不关心环境吗?

因此,我们开始钻研,跟当地人讨论,找来很多Youtube视频,终於我们决定要试试看“自己种植”。

首先,我们去到了有名的波特兰苗圃,买了一些整株或者是苗,只要移植到家里的花园中,就可以等著收穫水果以及蔬菜。我坐在那里想像著有满园子我想吃的食物。後来,长出了草莓,青江菜,菠菜,红萝蔔,青葱以及大白菜。但我真的想吃的是西瓜,无花果,奇异果,还有巧克力蛋糕,但是,Mark认为我们应该要从基本的开始,有时候,他真的是比较保守!

当然,我们也让现在已经两岁4个月的两个女儿参与,我说我们指的是我的老公Mark,我就是跟著在後面拍照。

开始种植之前,一定要先有可以把植物种进去的地方,Mark决定要製作我们自己的种植槽,他去了一趟Home Depot,带了一些雪松木板回来,然後就开始工作了,每次他做事情,都会想办法让小孩参与,这里的照片是小孩们帮忙拿螺丝钉放到洞里头,他负责将轮子锁上。

B将螺丝钉放到洞里头

B固定螺丝钉的位置

爸爸使用电钻将螺丝钉锁牢

种植槽完工

接下来,我们穿上雨鞋,拿著我们的桶子以及铲子,往我家後面的山上去。顺便一提,我们试著要在苗圃买培养土,他们却没得卖!这让我有点不习惯,在纽约什麽都有得买。後来,我们决定要自己去挖土。

B,M还有爸爸在山里挖土

B觉得差不多了,她说“髒,Brooke想回家了。”就这样,她拿著水桶跟铲子自己回家去了。

爸爸跟M继续下去,M正用著在店里可以找到最小的铲子,小但是很好用!

待续。。。。。。

您的孩子知道’郁金香’和’猩猩’的分别吗?

星期五, 四月 20th, 2012 4:19 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

B和M最近学习速度快到我都差一点追不上。我常常求助於我的蒙特梭利朋友们,看看他们有什么建议。

0-6嵗是孩子们学习语言能力的敏 感期。就几个月前,我说的话,她们似乎都聼不懂。但是突然,她们不但懂中文又懂英文,还知道家中哪里可以找到“犀牛”,“郁金香”,“卷尺”和“奇异果” 呢。我也不晓得是怎么发生的!如果我说:“去拿你的鞋子。”“把碗给爸爸。”“去拿纸把这里擦擦。”“请你帮我剥香蕉﹐然后把它放进搅拌机里。” 她们都聼得懂!一切发生的简直像是爆发性地快似的!

我最近去探访一个蒙特梭利教室时,看到孩子们对语言的工作那么的喜爱。因此,我决定在家里试试看。以下这个做法能够让您的孩子在多接触语言的同时,也会提升他们的感官学习。

买几个篮子,里面放5-6件东西﹐可分为以下类别:

家庭用品:鱼尾夹,铅笔盒,钥匙,尺,卷尺等。

出门前预备品:墨镜,钱包,地铁卡,手镯,项链,手錶,围巾等。

动物:这些动物是从一间叫做Schleich的公司购买的。他们的动物玩具是根据真实动物而设计的。因为孩子的东西越基于真实越好﹐所以我非常喜欢他们的玩具。

这几个篮子是经过一个月慢慢的一个个给孩子的。您可以使用以下方式把篮子介绍给他们:

  1. 首先,准备好篮子,放在他们的玩具架子上。
  2. 他们第一次看到篮子时,一定会冲过去看里头有什么东西。你可以说,“你想看看里面有什么吗?我来拿给你们看吧!”
  3. 用双手把篮子拿起来,找个干净的地方坐下。如果旁边乱七八糟或有其他的玩具﹐他们容易分心。之后,邀请他们坐在您的旁边。
  4. 如果他们因爲太兴奋而一直伸手要抓里面的东西,告诉他们,“现在是轮到我。等我看好了才轮到你。”
  5. 把东西从右到左一件件摆出来(因为将来写字是从右到左﹐所以现在让他们习惯这个顺序)。一边摆一边说出物品的名称。
  6. 全部摆出来后﹐再一件件放回篮子。放回时记得也说出物件的名称。
  7. 重复1-2次。
  8. 之后,让他们试一试。他们开始做这个工作后﹐你就不要干涉他们,完全让他们自己探索。
  9. 接下来的几天,你可以再和他们做几次这个工作。
  10. 请注意:篮子要放在一个他们可以随时随地都拿得到的地方。

我的孩子特别喜欢这些篮子理的东西﹐对它们是爱不释手。甚至他们的小朋友来我们家也很喜欢。去餐厅吃饭时,我们总是会带其中一个篮子去,以防他们用餐前后需要一些娱乐的时候,让他们有东西做。

Mackenzie在翻看她的“钱包”

当你在选择里面要放什么的时候:

如 果能给孩子实际的物件,就别用复制品。他们可能会把香蕉摔到那可怜的东西遍体鳞伤,而您的墨镜可能也会增加一点刮伤。不过,那又有何妨呢?一根香蕉只是几 块钱的东西,给予他们的感官经验会远比区区的塑胶复制品丰富多了。真实的芒果可以激发他们的五感,塑胶的反而只能摆着好看。家中买水果回来后,不妨让孩子 们有机会触摸以及了解它们。同样,习惯使用实际银器,玻璃杯和碗碟的孩子们会学习怎样小心的用它们。只用塑胶餐具的孩子们反而对它们的意识比较浅。 Brooke在13个月的时候打破了个玻璃杯。虽然大家都吓到,把东西扫起来,用吸尘机清理后,就没事了。从那时起,无论是把玻璃拿到桌子去用,还是拿到 水槽里去洗,她处理玻璃时都会小心翼翼。自从那时,就再也没有玻璃被弄破了!

只用真实水果的水果课!就连我们的小小来访者Nola也非常喜欢触摸那酪梨呢!

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Posts Tagged ‘sensorial perceptions’

We Started Gardening! Part II

Tuesday, April 16th, 2013 7:09 pm | By Stephanie Woo

M and Dad are back from the mountains. First they have to mix the dirt they dug up from the mountains with store-bought organic soil to create the optimal soil mixture. M helps Dad cut open the package of store-bought soil with her Muji scissors.

M scoops in soil from the bag, while Dad dumps in dirt from the mountain. 

M crawls into the bucket to help mix the dirt and soil.

Dad dumps the soil mixture into the trough. M helps to smooth it out.

We’ve been collecting vegetable scraps for two days. They add it to the soil as worm food. It’s raining and M looks pooped in this picture, but trust me, in real life, she’s still going!

Dad adds the worms to the soil. Apparently, these red wrigglers help produce the best planting soil. We think we might even start a worm farm! Dad covers up the worms and food with another layer of soil. The worms need one week to do their magic before we start planting. 

The next day, we add more worms. Even B can’t resist getting involved – once you get past the ‘ewww’ factor, they are really fun. Even I’m hooked!

If you’re looking for a reason to plant with your children, consider these benefits:

  1. Sensorial exploration (wet, cold soil and wriggly worms)
  2. Gross motor skill development (treading wet mountainous soil while carrying a pail and shovel)
  3. Fine motor skill development (cutting, scooping, mixing, spreading vegetable scraps, picking up small worms)
  4. Appreciation for nature/cycle of life (composting, preparing the soil, planting)
  5. Language development (‘gardening trough,’ ‘composting,’ ‘prepping the garden bed,’ ‘red wrigglers,’ ‘starter plants,’ ‘clay soil’ vs ‘sandy soil’ – even I had to learn these!)

But my favorite part of this whole process is watching how much effort M puts into it. She uses her whole body to dig, transfer, mix and pat. There’s nothing better than watching young children use maximum effort to engage in tasks they’re interested in. And after a few hours of work like this, M (who usually hates napping) is out like a light-bulb at nap time and stays asleep for THREE straight hours! 

More gardening posts to come!

We Started Gardening! Part I

Thursday, April 11th, 2013 11:59 pm | By Stephanie Woo

I’m a city girl. As a child, I grew up in a condo building in Taipei. As an adult, for 20 years, I lived in New York City. So if you ever tried to talk to me about gardening, worms, dirt and nature in general, I would’ve tried to change the subject on you. 

Well, now that I live in Portland, I’ve decided to do “as the Romans.” Almost everyone here has a garden. If you are not composting, raising a worm farm and eating dinner out of your garden, then seriously, don’t you care about the environment?? 

So, after much research, discussion with seasoned locals and Youtube videos, we decided to give this ‘grow your own food’ a shot. 

First, we went to the famous Portland Nursery and bought a whole bunch of ‘starters,’ or baby plants. You just have to transplant them into your garden and they’ll grow into fruits and vegetables! I sat there envisioning a garden full of food I’d want to eat. We ended up settling on some strawberries, bok choy, spinach, carrots, scallions and napa cabbage. I really would have preferred some watermelons, figs, kiwi and chocolate cake, but apparently Mark thinks we should start with the basics. He’s soo conservative sometimes. 

Of course we decided to involve B and M (now 2 years, 4 months) in the process. And when I say ‘we,’ I mean my husband, Mark. I followed everyone around and took pictures. 

So before you plant, you need something to plant in. Mark decides to build our own gardening troughs. After a trip to Home Depot, he showed up with all these cedar planks and got to work. Whenever he builds things, he thinks of ways for the children to help. Here he is screwing in castor wheels and the girls are helping fetch the screw and lining them up in the hole.

B lines up the screw

 

B holds the screw in place

 

Dad uses an electric drill to screw in the screws

 

The finished gardening trough!

Next, we put on our rain boots, grab our pail and shovel, then go for a short 30-second hike into the mountains (right behind our house). Oh, by the way, we tried to buy dirt at the nursery, but they didn’t have any to sell! I’m not used to that. I’m used to New Yorkers who will selling you anything you ask for. Oh well. We decide we’ll go digging for our own.

B, M and Dad digging for dirt in the mountains

 

B had enough. She said, “Dirty. Brooke wants to go home.” Just like that, she picks up her pail and goes home.

 

Dad and M keep going. M is using the smallest shovel you’ll ever find in the stores. Small yet mighty effective!

To be continued…

Does Your Toddler Know a ‘Tulip’ from a ‘Chimpanzee?’

Friday, April 20th, 2012 4:19 pm | By Stephanie Woo

B and M are learning so fast these days I have a hard time keeping up with them. I’m often turning to my Montessori training and community to see what else I can give them to keep up with their growth.

Children are in a sensitive period for language from 0-6. I don’t know how it happened: just a few months ago, they hardly showed any signs of understanding what I was saying, and all of a sudden, not only do they understand both English and Chinese, they know where to find the “rhinoceros,” “toothbrush,” “tulips,” “measuring tape” and “kiwi” in the house. They can follow commands like, “Please get your shoes,” “Bring the bowl to Daddy,” “Please get some tissues and wipe up this spill,” “Peel the banana and put it in the mixing bowl.” All of this happened so fast I think it’s fair to call it an EXPLOSION!

When I visited a Montessori classroom, I was very inspired by the way the children loved and absorbed the language material. I’ve adapted my own version. Here is a great way to give your toddler more language while enhancing their sensorial learning.

Get a couple baskets/containers and fill them with items from several different categories. Here are some examples:

Household items – you can include things like binder clips, pencil case, a set of keys, ruler, measuring tape

Items you need before you go out – include items like sunglasses, wallet, metrocard, bracelet, necklace, watch, scarf, etc.

Animals – I bought mine from a company called Schleich. Their animal figurines are based on real animals. They are awesome.

I added these baskets one by one over several weeks. This is how you can present it to them:

  1. First, prepare the basket and put in on their shelf the night before.
  2. When they first see the new basket, they would invariably rush to see what’s inside. Say, “Do you want to see what’s inside? Let me show you!”
  3. Pick up the basket with BOTH hands, decide where to sit, then clear everything out of the way, so the area is clean from other distractions. Then, invite them to sit down next to you.
  4. Roll out a small rug on which to place the items. Begin to take out each item, naming them as you lay them out from left to right. (Left to right gets them used to the direction we read and write in the English language)
  5. If they try to reach out to grab it because they’re so excited, say, “It’s my turn right now. When I am done, I will let you have a turn.”
  6. After you lay them all out, put each item back one by one into the basket, again naming them as you put them back.
  7. Repeat this 2-3 times.
  8. When you are done, let them have a turn. Then LEAVE THEM ALONE without interrupting them. Let them further discover the items on their own.
  9. Repeat this 2-3 times over the next couple days or as often as you feel they need.
  10. Note: Keep this basket in a place that is easily accessible to them at all times.

These baskets are very popular with our kids, as well as all the kids who come to visit us. We always take one of these baskets with us to restaurants in case we need something to entertain them before and after meals. And it keeps them hooked.

Mackenzie is going through her “purse” and trying on the various items

When you are choosing what to give them

If you can give them the real thing, don’t use a replica. Yes they will throw the banana a few times till it gets bruised and the sunglass lens will get a little scratched, but so what? Real items are more interesting and offer them so much more sensorial learning than plastic replicas. A real mango can be experienced with all five senses, a plastic one only looks good. While you’re waiting for the fruits to ripen, put it to good use by letting the children have a chance to explore them! In a similar way, children who are allowed to use real silverware, glass cups and bowls learn to be careful with them, whereas children who use plastics all the time have much less awareness. When Brooke was 13 months, she broke a glass. It was a scare, but we swept, vaccummed and everything ended up being fine. Since then, she always handles the glass with care, whether she is bringing it to the table to use or bringing it to the sink to be washed. We’ve never had a second broken glass since!

A fruit lesson – all real fruits! Even Nola, our little visitor, loved touching the avocado!