Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Posts Tagged ‘floor bed’

幼儿与睡觉时间

星期四, 十二月 13th, 2012 11:51 上午 | By Stephanie Woo
Toddler and Bedtime

过去两个月,要让23个月大的B以及M去睡觉,是段挺难的经历,在我关灯离开她们的房间之後,她俩轮流哭,妳们有其它人有这样的经历吗?我试了好多种方法,一个晚上又一个晚上,让她们留在她们的床上睡,而我在我的床睡。

我试了很多种方法:1 陪到她们睡著为止(很累人,而且让小孩养成习惯,是我最不喜欢的方法);2 让小孩自己哭到入睡(也是我比较不喜欢的方法,当我真的很累又没办法时用过,有时候真的有效果);3 就让她们在房间外面玩,让他们熬夜。

我将我试过并且有效的方法整理如下,过去两週,状况好多了,通常我关灯之後五分钟,我就可以离开她们的房间,她们会留在她们的房间里面,最後自己睡著,直到第二天早上7点。我还是持续的在寻找方法,以免有时候不管用。如果你有其它的方法,请留言给我。

  1. 妈妈跟爸爸都参与到小孩睡觉準备的过程。有无数的夜晚,小孩就是不让我离开她们的房间,并且她们会用哭来对付我,让她们不哭的其中一个方法就是跟她们说“爸爸等会会进来跟妳们道晚安,妳们要爸爸进来了吗?”通常她们会说好。不知为什麽,通常爸爸只要出现5分钟,就可以让她们睡著。也许,不是每个爸爸在小孩要睡觉的时候都有空这样做,但是,我很相信(我也这样说服我老公)爸爸们对於让小孩们睡著比妈妈还厉害,他现在也相信了。
  2. 给个“小儿按摩”。Brooke最近很需要抱,在观察Brooke一段时间之後,我有了这样的一个方法。你可以这样做:在关灯之後,将小孩紧紧抱在你的胸膛,用你的双手手掌摩擦小孩的背,腿,手臂,以及脚,轻柔坚定并且缓慢。尽量的让她靠近你,就像是婴儿按摩,不过对象是你家的幼儿,我家的两个孩子轮流,当我在为其中一个按摩的时候,我会跟另一个说“我正在抱你的姐姐/妹妹,请不要打扰我们”,Brooke以及Mackenzie都很喜欢,Mackenzie会用中文跟我说“Mackenzie要用力一点”,大约5-10分钟的肌肤亲密接触,她们会回到各自的枕头,跟我道晚安。最近的几个星期,这是最有效的方法,特别是我先生出差的那个星期,不知识小婴儿需要很多的肌肤接触,幼儿也是很需要de.
  3. 千万不要改变睡眠的流程。之前已经吃过饭,喝了奶,也读过故事了, 在晚上8:15-8:30之间,我们一定会去準备小孩要睡觉。白天的流程可能会有一些改变(我还是努力的维持下午一点的午睡时间),但是,晚上的睡觉时间是不会改变的,如果我和老公要出门,我们也会请保姆遵守同样的时间规律,有很多家庭在某些时候会放松(假日,生日,特别的日子,週末),但是幼儿很强烈的需要秩序以及固定流程,让小孩依照成人的时间来修改,只会让情况一团乱,让孩子没有办法自己去睡觉。
  4. 在睡觉之前的一个小时,跟小孩再一次说明她们睡觉之前的準备过程。当我在为小孩洗澡的时候,我会将整个流程再说一次“洗澡之後,妳们就要喝奶,妳们躺在床上之後,我就会给你们读故事,接著我就会关灯,妈妈就会离开妳们的房间,妳们就会自己睡著。”在关灯前的15分钟,我还会将流程再睡一次,这样的心里预备过程对每个人都很有帮助。
  5. 睡眠的自由与限制。当她们说“我还不想睡”,我就说“你还不需要睡,你得要待在房间里,但是你可以不要睡著。”我说的时候,是真心的。她们睡在地板床上,因此,她们有自由能够再房间里自由移动,一直到她们够累了,就会自己睡著。

我读了很多的部落格/博客上的文章,告诉家长要珍惜睡觉的时间,因为,小孩长大之後,她们不会喜欢你现在对待她的方式。我知道它们说的是真的,但是为了我现在自己的快乐以及心灵健康,我也需要有时间给自己,而自己的时间就是她们睡著之後的时间,如果你家现在有个幼儿,你应该懂得我说什麽,每个晚上当我有几个小时给我自己,并且可以好好睡一觉,第二天早上我们见到彼此的时候,我们都会开心一点!

地板床又一章-17个月

星期四, 五月 31st, 2012 3:07 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

现在Brooke跟Mackenzie已经17个月大,在此谈谈她们她们睡觉的状况,她们仍然睡在同样的地板床上,从她们大约4个月大就开始睡的床,参考她们卧室的视频。

我如何帮助小孩发展增进动作能力

星期三, 十月 12th, 2011 3:41 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

在公园里被放任的Brooke和Mackenzie会爬上长椅或别人的婴儿车。她们也喜欢一边顺着长椅或婴儿车走,一边一起玩。有时候母亲们会问我,爲什么B和M这么厉害,只有9个月就已经可以扶着东西走路了呢?

那就请恕我直説了哦!原因只有1个:每次都被放在高椅,婴儿车,学步车里的宝宝基本上就是缺乏练习!要让宝宝练习运动机能的话,可以考虑以下的蒙特梭利设置。要准备的物品包括宽宽的地上床垫,动作垫,镜子,还有矮柜。

行动垫

要放哪里都可以,不过一定要放在一个固定的地方,直到宝宝开始爬爲止。这将会是宝宝醒着的时候用来趴的地方。把他们放在这里后,就让他们自己自由发挥,别和他们説话还是玩耍。练习时间可以随着他们的年龄增长逐渐延长。

行动垫可以是:

  • 剪成两片的泡棉
  • 折叠的毯子或被子,下面放一片防滑垫
  • 用布盖着的地毯
  • 厚厚的瑜伽垫

垫子有缓冲用途,又可以预防孩子太过大力地把头撞在地上。虽説如此,它也必须够稳固。孩子往下推的时候,还是会需要一点阻力。他们在垫上睡着的话,赶紧把他们移到床上,不要让他们习惯睡在垫上。我们必须让他们了解到,一个地方和它的功能是有连接的。睡觉的地方就是睡觉的地方,而运动的地方就是运动的地方。请点这儿閲读更多。

 

4个月大的Mackenzie(左)和Brooke(右)在垫上闲晃。

镜子

把一面全身镜侧身放在垫的边缘的话可以协助孩子们发展他们的认知能力,也可以让他们看到自己在做什么。起初,他们可能会以爲镜子里有其他人。不过久而久之,他们就会开始明白其实那是他们的映像。这一刻值得期待哦!请观看5个月大的Brooke在镜子里玩耍的视频。

7个月大的Brooke和Mackenzie醒着时,差不多70%的时间会在床垫上探索他们的周围。这也会对于训练他们的精细/ 粗略运动技能有帮助。镜子在他们的后面。

 

矮柜

附近也可以放一个矮柜,把玩具都摆在上面。在他们还没开始把自己拉起来之前,您可以先用一个木制的鞋柜。无论如何,找来的架子一定要坚固,因爲当他们开始把自己拉起来的时候,将会很喜欢抓着这个架子拉。

我们10个月大宝宝们的玩具架。7个月大的宝宝只需要4,5样东西。更小的宝宝2,3样就够了。虽然宝宝不会自已整理东西,他们会渴望您在家里为他们制造的秩序,所以架子上的东西一定要放得整齐。

选东西放在架子上的时候,要记得宝宝很容易受到过度刺激。因此,东西只要适合宝宝的年龄就好,不需要给他们太多东西。一切都准备好之后,就等着看吧!宝宝会一点一点地移动到矮柜去,自己拿他们想玩的玩具。再次强调:虽然宝宝不会自已整理东西,他们会渴望您在家里为他们创造的秩序,所以记得一定要让架子上的东西保持整齐哦!每周更换不同的玩具的话会有助於保持他们的兴趣,提升注意力。

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Posts Tagged ‘floor bed’

Bedtime and Toddler

Thursday, December 13th, 2012 11:51 am | By Stephanie Woo
Toddler and Bedtime

Toddler and Bedtime

For the past two months, it’s been really hard to put B and M (23 months) down at bedtime. They take turns crying when I try to leave their room after lights-out. Anyone else experiencing this? I’ve had to try A LOT of different things to keep them in their bed and me in mine night after night.

Here are things I’ve tried that I don’t like: 1. stay till they fall asleep (exhausting, habit-forming and my least favorite of options), 2. cry it out (second least favorite option which I resort to when I’m absolutely exasperated, but it has worked on occasion) 3. let them stay up and play outside of their room.

Well, I also started compiling a list of things that HAS worked for us. Things have gotten better in the last two weeks. I can usually leave the room 5 minutes after lights out and they will stay in their room and fall asleep by themselves till the next morning at 7am. I’m also looking for more ideas in case these run out of steam! Please post yours in the comment area.

  1. Involve both Mom and Dad with bedtime. I cannot count the number of nights I just cannot extricate myself from a child’s hug and the only thing that would keep them from a meltdown when I try to leave is to say, “Daddy’s gonna come in to say good-night to you. Do you want to see Daddy?” That usually results in a yes. And somehow, Daddy only needs a 5-minute appearance to put them to sleep. Maybe not all Dads can do it in that time, but I’m completely convinced (and use it with my husband all the time) that Dads are better at bedtime than Moms. He believes it now, too.
  2. Give your child a “Toddler Massage.” I came up with this after observing Brooke, who has recently been asking to be held A LOT. So this what you do: after you turn off the lights, hold your child against your belly tightly. Using your whole palm, rub your child’s back, legs, arms and feet firmly, gently and slowly. Hold her as close to you as you can. It’s like an infant massage, except it’s for your toddler. I do it first to one child, then to the other. When I’m massaging one child, I’ll say to the other, “I’m holding your sister now, Please don’t interrupt us.” Both Brooke and Mackenzie love this. Mackenzie will say to me in Chinese, “Mackenzie wants tightly.”  After 5-10 minutes of this intense intimacy and skin contact, they’ll crawl back to their little pillows and say good-night to me. This has been the most successful thing I’ve tried in recent weeks, especially during the week my husband was on a business trip.  Not only do babies need a lot of skin contact, toddlers (and adults) need it, too.
  3. Never ever change the bedtime routine. We eat dinner, take bath, drink milk and do storytime. Then it’s lights out somewhere between 815-830. No exceptions. Daytime schedule may change (though I make every effort to honor the 1pm nap schedule as well), but this bedtime routine never ever changes. If my husband and I need to go out, we ask our nanny to follow this schedule. Many families will make an exception here and there (holidays, birthdays, special events, weekends), but a toddler’s need for order and routine is so intense that expecting him to accommodate to your schedule will just mess with his ability to fall asleep at bedtime on his own.
  4. Talk them through the bedtime routine an hour before bedtime. When we’re bathing, I’ll give them a rundown of what’s going to happen: “After we bathe, we’re going to have milk, then I’m going to read you a story in bed, and then we’ll turn out the lights. And then Mommy is going to go out and you will fall sleep by yourself.” And then I repeat the rundown again 15 minutes before lights out. Everyone benefits from a little mental preparation.
  5. Giving them freedom within limits around sleeping. When they say, “I don’t want to sleep,” I say, “You don’t have to sleep. You have to stay in your room during bedtime, but you don’t have to sleep.” And I mean it when I say this to them. The floor beds they sleep in give them the freedom to move around till they feel tired enough to fall asleep.

I’ve read many blog postings that tell parents to cherish this time, that after they grow older, they won’t want you the way they do now. I can imagine that being true, but for my sanity and happiness NOW, I also need time to myself. And that happens after they go to bed. If you have a toddler right now, I’m sure you can relate. When I can have a good few hours to myself at night and then a good night’s sleep, we are all much happier when we see each other the next morning!

Floor Bed Update – 17 months

Thursday, May 31st, 2012 3:07 pm | By Stephanie Woo

Now that Brooke and Mackenzie are 17 months, I decided to do an update on their sleeping situation. They are still sleeping on the same floor bed they’ve been sleeping on since they were four months old. Here’s a video of their bedroom:

How do I improve my child’s motor skills?

Wednesday, October 12th, 2011 3:41 pm | By Stephanie Woo

I’ve been letting Brooke and Mackenzie loose at the park. They love to pull up on the park benches and strollers (especially ones with dangling new toys that are not ours). They’ll walk along the bench or the stroller to play with toys and each other. Mothers with toddlers who are older but not yet walking have asked me, how come B and M were already cruising at 9 months old?

Babies who are held or placed in high chairs/strollers/walkers ALL THE TIME are often severely behind in their gross motor skills for one reason only – they haven’t had enough practice! Montessori has the perfect set-up for babies to practice their motor skills. Aside from the floor bed, which gives your baby ample freedom to move, the most important thing you can prepare for your baby is the movement mat, mirror and shelf.

Mackenzie doing tummy time on her mat at 2 months old

Movement Mat

The movement mat can be located anywhere in the house, but it needs to be in a consistent place for the baby until he starts to crawl. This is the place where the baby does tummy time while he is awake. This is a time for him to be on his own, without anyone talking or playing with him. Start with a little amount of time and increase that amount of time as he gets older.

The movement mat can be any of the following

  • A piece of foam that you cut to twin-size
  • A folded blanket or quilt (put a non-slip surface underneath) to make it flat
  • A piece of carpet with a sheet over it
  • A thick yoga mat

The general purpose of the mat is to give the child some cushion so he doesn’t bump his head too hard on the floor but at the same time, provides a surface firm enough so he can get some resistance when he pushes against it. If he falls asleep on the mat, move him to his bed. This is not the place to sleep. It’s important that he can make a connection between a place and its function: this place is for sleeping, this place is for moving. Read more about this here.

Mackenzie (left) and Brooke (right) at 4 months old hanging out together on their mat

Mirror

Place a full-length mirror turned on its side along the edge of the mat. The mirror is excellent for developing his cognitive skills. It also lets him see himself and what he is doing. At first, he will think the image in the mirror is a friend, but at some point, he will see you in the mirror and see you outside of the mirror and he will understand, that is a reflection. It’s a profound moment! Watch a video of Brooke playing in the mirror at 5 months old.

Brooke and Mackenzie at 7 months old. They spend 70% of their waking hours on their floor mat exploring their environment and practicing their gross/fine motor skills. The mirror is behind them.

Low Shelf

Also, place a low shelf nearby, where the child’s toys and materials can be kept. Before they start pulling up, you can use a wooden shoe shelf. Once they start pulling up, they will love to pull up on this shelf, so make sure you have something sturdy.

Toy shelf for our 10 month olds. A 7 month old should have just 4-5 things on the shelf. Younger babies should have 2-3. Always keep the toy shelf orderly, everything has its place. Babies cannot maintain the order, but they crave the order you create for them in the house.

The shelf should contain a few pieces of material that the child is using at the time. These materials need to be applicable for his age. Babies can be easily over-stimulated, so they should not have many things. Little by little, they will slide to the shelf and take what they want to play with. Always keep the toy shelf orderly, everything has its place. Babies cannot maintain the order, but they crave the order you create for them in the house. Do not put all their toys on the shelf, pick a few that will fit nicely on the shelf, then rotate them weekly.