Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Posts Tagged ‘self-feeding’

在巴尔的摩的家Part II:我们吃饭的地方

星期四, 十月 18th, 2012 9:22 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

继续看看我们具有蒙特梭利特色的新家,这里是我们吃饭的地方

  1. 这是我们从孩子们六个月大就开始使用的断奶桌,这桌子花了我们150美金,但是却非常的物超所值,超过其它我们给孩子们买的东西。我把之前带侧把手的椅子换成重量较轻的板条椅,这种板条椅,是玛利亚蒙特梭利亲自发明的。制作的材料是桦木,所以重量较轻,小孩们可以自己搬动,而且因为设计的好,整个椅子很稳固,同时我觉得这种椅子很好看。如果你也想要订制,可以发电子邮件给我,介绍给你在Denver帮我们制做椅子的木匠。
  2. 杯子和小水壶是桌子上的固定摆设,白天的时候,小孩要喝水时,就可以自己取用。
  3. 脏碗篮平常放在桌子的下方,用过餐之后,她们会把桌子清洁干净,并且将脏碗盘餐具放进篮子里。
  4. 这些是她们用的餐桌垫。我事先在一张纸上头画好盘子,碗,叉子以及刀子的线条,然后护贝。这是我学到的蒙特梭利小撇步,能够帮助孩子们很好的自己摆设餐桌,当她们在摆设餐桌时,她们还会指着叉子的线条,命名“叉子”,然后去旁边的餐车取一支叉子,接着指指盘子的线条,命名之后去取盘子。这些线条给孩子很好的指引,我极力推荐,况且制做简单,又非常便宜,点击视频,看看孩子们如何使用吧!
  5. 这是她们用的碗,盘,叉子以及勺子,这些物件都分别放在各自的容器里。
  6. 这些毛巾用来擦嘴,擦手,有时候水灑了也可以擦。我在毛巾上头缝了一个环,就容易吊挂起来,这是我在接受蒙特梭利培训时学到的,让我省了好多的擦手纸。
  7. 这是小篮子可以装两个海绵,小孩用来擦她们的餐垫,点击视频可以看她们如何做。
  8. 这个带轮子的餐车很轻,占用的空间也不大,可以随需要四处移动。

你可以参考以下的视频,看看我怎么规划的,好有个概念。视频中,孩子们在做水果奶昔,摆设餐桌,然后坐下来吃她们的早餐。

在我们开始之前,我先准备了制作水果奶昔需要的材料,每一样材料都分别放在各自的小容器里,让孩子有可能可以自己制作奶昔。

 

让我们开始动手吧!

如果你对于让孩子制作向日葵子奶昔,可以参考以下链接的影片,非常简单!我自己制作的时候,舍弃了巴西核桃不用,改用了腰果或向日葵子: http://livingmaxwell.com/how-to-make-nut-milk

自己盛饭菜

星期五, 四月 27th, 2012 1:20 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

最近我开始让女儿们自己盛饭菜。

两个月前去康乃狄克州(Connecticut)的一家蒙特梭利学校的幼儿群体环境(Infant Community)参观,那教室里的小孩年龄介於一岁半到两岁半之间,不但能够自己吃饭,同时还会从公碗盛饭菜。

每 天一起吃晚餐,是我们家都会做的事情,因此,教女儿们自己盛饭菜也是顺理成章。跟每个妈妈一样,我也会担心小孩饿肚子,所以我常会在她们的碗里堆满食物。 有时,我将菠菜和在Brooke的饭里,试图将菜藏起来,希望能够朦混过关,让她吃下去。当妈妈的偶尔做做梦也不为过。。。。。

眼看一碗碗没有吃完的饭菜就这样扔掉,我决定换个策略:我买了几个彩色大碗和餐具。很快的,她们就学会怎么做了。

今天的早餐是酸奶,梨子,和燕麦片。Mackenzie从酸奶开始。

 

我把燕麦片拿到她前面,好让她能够自己盛。

她再为自己盛一些梨

Brooke也顺便帮自己盛一点

再加一点燕麦片…

Mackenzie自助的份量绝对比妈妈通常盛的份量合理多了!这么一来,她能多拿一些她想要吃的﹐少拿一些不要的!

自从她们可以自由选择吃她们喜欢的食物和数量后,我们的食物浪费减少了很多。我还是不时会试图把菠菜藏在Brooke的碗里… 能怪我吗﹖

叮 咛#1:开始时,孩子会需要您的帮助。这项活动训练孩子的顺序感,识别能力((这个汤匙是我自己用的﹐那个汤匙是大家一起用的公匙),组织能力等。比如 説,B和M虽然能把食物从碗中盛出,他们还是需要大人帮忙把公碗一个个给她们,而且有时她们也会用公匙开始吃东西。因爲要学会这技巧需要时间,这期间内, 孩子们会需要您的无穷耐心。但请不要过渡的纠正他们﹐只要在旁协助就好。就算他们搞的一塌糊涂﹐也别太干涉﹐这是他们学习的方法!

#2:孩子们的个人碗碟和餐具应该和公碗公匙用不同的顔色和形状。当他们能在视觉上作区别,他们更容易掌握概念。

为孩子们提供合适的材料是关键。购买工具前,一定要考虑到大小,重量,以及感触。以下是我的工具详情:

公用大腕:

 

这碗颜色鲜豔(不花哨但又容易和个人的白色餐具做识别),质素高级,大小刚好, 又有各式各样的顔色供您做选择。

个人碗:

 

我们家给孩子用的碗都是用玻璃制的Corelle白色甜品碗。虽説是玻璃,但是Corelle的产品特色就是不容易破碎。还有﹐孩子因为身材比较矮 小﹐所以如果碗太过深的话,他们会看不到自己碗中的食物。幼儿通常知道他们想要什么,但是可能还不够运动机能把他们看中的东西拿起来。他们已经很努力了﹐ 如果再加上过于深的碗挡住他们的目光,那对他们可是难上加难。这些Corelle碗够浅,所以他们看得到自己到底在吃什么。这个碗我们有12个。每一批应 该有6个。

公匙:

我们家的公匙顶部有个白色手柄,是从本地一家专门卖厨具的店里购买的﹐蛮像这些我在綫上找到的汤匙。顶部的白色手柄容易和普通汤匙做区分。

汤匙:

我们家给孩子用的都是IKEA的汤匙。大小非常适合他们。但我不建议给12个月以下的小寳寳使用因为对他们来说应该稍微太大了。

Mackenzie自己剥香蕉

星期四, 四月 12th, 2012 10:58 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

这个年龄的小孩要同时用两只手一起做一件事是非常有挑战性的。你可考虑教孩子剥香蕉皮。一手握着香蕉,一手把皮剥掉,一直到可以看到等待着自己的美味奖 赏…确实很有魅力吧?对孩子们来説,真正的收获其实是剥皮的动作本身。而妈妈可放心孩子就快要学会自己准备营养好吃的点心了!

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Posts Tagged ‘self-feeding’

Our Montessori Home In Baltimore Part II: Where We Eat

Thursday, October 18th, 2012 9:22 am | By Stephanie Woo

To continue the tour of our new Montessori home, here is where we eat.

1. This is the same weaning table we’ve had since they were 6 months old – we’ve gotten more use out of the $150 table than anything else we’ve ever bought for the kids. However, I replaced the heavy armchairs with light slatted chairs. These chairs were designed by Maria Montessori herself. They are made of birch wood, so they are lightweight enough for children to carry, but the design makes them extremely sturdy. I also find them to be beautiful to look at. Email me if you want the name of the carpenter in Denver who made these for me.

2. The cups and pitcher are permanent fixtures on this table. This is where the children get a drink of water during the day.

3. When not in use, we keep this dirty dish basket under the table. After meals, they clean up their own table and put their dishes in here.

4. These are their placemats. I’ve pre-drawn outlines of plate, bowl, fork and knife on a piece of paper, then laminated it. This great Montessori trick makes it so easy for little ones to set their own table. When they’re setting the table, you’ll see them point at the outline of the fork and say, “Fork,” then go to the cart to get a fork, and then point of the outline of the plate and say, “Plate,” then get one, etc. It’s like a great little cheat-sheet! I highly-recommend it. Takes about 5 minutes to make and costs very little. You can see how the children use it in the video below.

5. Here are their bowls, plates, fork and spoon. I keep the fork and spoon in separate containers.

6. These towels are used for their mouth, hands and for wiping up spills. The little hoops I’ve sewn onto the towel makes it really easy for them to hang on hooks. This tip I learned in my Montesorri training has saved me thousands of paper towels.

7. This little basket holds two sponges, which they use for wiping their mat. You can see them using it in this video here

8. This rolling cart is light, takes up very little floor space and can be moved around easily.

In order for you to get an idea of how we use this space, here is a video of the children making a smoothie, setting the table, then sitting down to eat their breakfast.

Before we start, here are the ingredients we use in the smoothie. Putting out each ingredient in individual containers makes it possible for children to make this smoothie on their own.

 Here we go!

If you’re interested in making fresh sunflower seed milk, here’s a great video. It’s super easy. And instead of using Brazil nut, like he does in the video, I use cashews or sunflower seeds: http://livingmaxwell.com/how-to-make-nut-milk

Eating ‘Family-Style’

Friday, April 27th, 2012 1:20 pm | By Stephanie Woo

I have moved away from putting food in a bowl and handing it to my kids to eat. Instead, I decided to teach them to eat “family-style.” I was inspired by the Montessori classroom I visited in CT, where the children sat around a table and served themselves out of a serving bowl.

It also makes sense for our home because we eat dinner together every night. Being a Chinese mother, I can’t help myself, I want to make sure they eat, so I may be guilty of overfilling their bowls, JUST IN CASE they are super hungry (or my cooking is super delicious) and they want to eat all of it. Sometimes it’s wishful thinking, like when I try to hide the small mountain of sauteed spinach underneath the rice in Brooke’s bowl. But sometimes Mama can dream…

After seeing too much food in the trash, I decided to change tactics. I bought several colored serving bowls and serving utensils. They caught on quickly —

Breakfast is yogurt, pear and oatmeal. Mackenzie starts with the yogurt.

 

I helped her move the bowls around, so she can reach the oatmeal.

Here she is scooping up the pears

Brooke also helps herself to some pear

and some oatmeal…

This is what Mackenzie’s bowl looks like after she serves herself. Much more reasonable amount than what Mom usually puts in there! Plus, she can always serve herself more of something she wants – in her case, that would be more yogurt, which ranks as one of her favorite foods!

I’m happy to report that we are wasting much less food now that they are allowed to eat what they want and the amount they want. Alright, I still try to sneak spinach into Brooke’s bowl, but can you blame me?

Tip #1: Your child will need some help with this at the beginning. This activity touches on several different skills, including sequencing, distinguishing (this spoon is for serving, this spoon is for eating) and organizing. For example, B and M have the motor skills to scoop, but they need my help offering them the bowls one after another and they sometimes try to eat from the serving spoons. So be patient with them, this skill may take some time to master.

#2: Make sure your serving bowls and utensils have a different color and shape from their bowls and utensils. When they can distinguish the sets visually, it really helps them grasp the concept.

#3: This is also the perfect time to teach table manners, “May I offer you some more pear?” “I see you would like some more yogurt?”

The right material is key for your toddler, make sure you consider the size, weight and feel of each item before purchasing it. Here’s where I bought mine:

Serving Bowls:

These bowls are brightly-colored (but not gawdily-colored AND easily distinguishable from the white bowls they eat out of), high-quality and just the right size as children’s serving bowls. They come in many different appealing colors.

Bowls:

The white bowls my children eat out of are Corelle dessert bowls. They’re made of glass, but with all things Corelle, do not break easily.  Toddlers are short (or vertically-challenged, if you like), so if the bowls that are tall and deep, they cannot see what’s inside their bowl when they are trying to scoop. Babies and toddlers generally know what they want, but they don’t have the motor skills to pick up exactly what they want yet. They are already working hard on their motor skills, so don’t make it any harder by blocking their view! These bowls are shallow so they can easily see what they are eating. We have 12 of these. I think each order comes with 6. I love these and cannot get enough of them!

Serving Spoons:

The serving spoons I bought at my local kitchen store (called ‘Vintage Spoons’) have a white handle at the top. They look a lot like this one I found online. The white handle at the top makes them easily distinguishable from the regular spoon.

Spoons:

Our spoons come from IKEA. They are the perfect size for toddlers, but in my opinion, a little too big for babies under 12 months.

Mackenzie Peels a Banana By Herself

Thursday, April 12th, 2012 10:58 pm | By Stephanie Woo

It’s a challenge for children at this age to work with both hands at the same time. Peeling a banana is an excellent way to let them practice holding with one hand and peeling with another. And there’s a delicious reward at the end of it! Even though the real reward for the child is the act of peeling itself, it’s reassuring for Moms to know that your kids can soon reach for a wholesome and nutritious snack anytime they want!