Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

给你的幼儿最好的礼物

星期六, 五月 12th, 2012 2:38 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

今天早上,Mackenzie哭着黏在我的腿上,为了要使她分心,我拿了一个橘子给她剥,她马上停止哭泣,坐在她的椅子上开始剥起橘子来了,对于一个17个月大的孩子来说,那不是个简单的任务,她用了很大的力气来剥橘子皮,可以看见她的整个身体都颤抖了,身为一个母亲,我看她那么用力,我心都疼了,但是身为蒙特梭利人,我知道我不应该介入,所以我强忍住,保持安静。但是,一点一点的,她将整个橘子都剥好了,我以松了一口气的口吻告诉她“现在你可以吃橘子了!”Brooke走了过来,Mackenzie马上给了她已经剥了皮的橘子,然后又去找了一个没有剥过皮的橘子,继续剥另一个橘子。

就像我母亲Ms. Lam告诉我的一样,1岁半至3岁之间的孩子,不是因为奖赏而去做任何的事情,工作/活动的本身就是回馈,这句话很重要,”工作/活动本身就是回馈“,我们能够给幼儿最好的礼物是什么?观察她们喜欢做些什么事情,提供给她们,然后然她们自己做,不要去打扰或打断她们,她们在进行活动时,不要去跟她们说话,不要说”你好棒!“,不要试着给予她们不需要的帮助,或者随意的去纠正她们。孩子的工作/活动,也许是在楼梯爬上爬下,也许是水在两个容器里倒过来倒过去,或者是挖沙,或者是撕纸张,或者是躺着唱不断同一首歌,不管是什么,就让孩子工作/活动吧!对于家长而言,这多么的简单,但又是多么的难,但是,我保证,只要你能够给孩子这个礼物,就是帮助准备她面对以后的人生,过程中发展出来专注力,手眼协调,自律,这些都是你付钱也没有办法买到的礼物!

Brooke剥水煮蛋的蛋壳

星期六, 五月 5th, 2012 3:18 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

每个星期三的晚餐,我们都会吃卤鸡翅还有鸡蛋,是我们的上海美食,每次准备这一道餐点,孩子们就会帮忙剥蛋壳,’帮忙’意味着应该会帮助我节省时间,但是目前的情况却不是那样,她们的’帮忙’反而让我花了更长的时间,但是,我知道,现在让她们参与,就是对未来的一种投资,以後她们就能够自己来!她们之前已经练习了好几个星期,这一天16个月大的Brooke自己完整的剥了一颗蛋的蛋壳,幸运的妈妈我把她给拍下来了!最後,我还让她自己给吃掉了,平常我没让她们直接吃掉的!

她拿着蛋在桌上敲敲,把蛋壳给弄裂开,然後她就开始剥了!

她首先从顶端的蛋壳开始剥。

注意到她用她的拇指剥蛋壳,我可是示範了很多次!要能够用力适中,能够把蛋壳剥下来,又不能太过於用力,弄破了蛋白,手指的控制能力要很好!

她把蛋放在她的大腿上努力的剥蛋壳

我告诉她’Brooke,把蛋转过来,’这时候她好专心,我吓着了她,她真的跳了起来!当孩子很专心於探索时,千万不要打扰她!

好大一块蛋壳剥下来了。你是否注意到,旁边有很多蛋壳?接下来,要练习将剥下来的蛋壳放到碗里!

最後剩下的一点蛋壳

她剥下来了

都剥好了,一颗剥的很乾净的水煮蛋!

她把蛋剥成两半。我才不要蛋黄,谢了!

Brooke享受劳动的成果

我家的两个女儿很喜欢做这个活动,能不能剥的很好,跟蛋非常有关系,有一些很好剥,有一些剥起来就会很丑,有时候蛋壳就黏在膜上面,连成人要剥都不容易,但是,她们才不在乎是不是成功,她们就是喜欢剥鸡蛋!

更好的是,在剥完了以後,可以享受这些有机的Omga-3的水煮蛋!

擦窗行动!

星期一, 四月 30th, 2012 12:32 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

“擦窗”其实是一项非常适合在家里进行的蒙特梭利实际生活活动。来看看我们是如何实行的吧!

Mackenzie拿着的喷雾瓶里只含有水。虽然这喷雾瓶挤压的部分对小手来説有点大,我喜欢它松松的感觉。早期的时候,他们只要用双手就能把瓶中的水喷出来。我们的另一个较小又较紧的喷雾瓶,让他们花了好一会儿才掌握好技巧。

终于学会了“单手心经”!

正在使用橡胶刮刀把水分抹去。

最后,用块小布擦干。

擦窗这个活动对小孩子来説非常有吸引力。小孩子只要是跟水有关的工作,他们都会爱不释手。再加上喷雾瓶和橡胶刮刀等酷酷的工具,我看,要叫他们停下来比让他们开始还难吧!

自从孩子们开始这项活动后,我们的窗口没有变的特别清洁。但是让我开心不过的是每当我走出家门往后瞧时,看到他们的小小身影正在勤勉的擦窗户﹐我就感到欣慰。他们的热心工作态度实在是了不起呢!

为孩子们提供合适的材料是关键。购买工具之前,一定要考虑到大小,重量,以及感触。以下是我的工具详情:

橡胶刮刀:来自 Montessori Services公司。因爲够细,非常适合给小孩子握着使用。

喷雾瓶:在购买之前,别忘了先试一试哦!我这个是在一间本地的美容店购买的,但是这个的评价好像还蛮不错的﹐可供家长考虑。

布:他们还是婴儿时,我把这些软布当着手帕使用。现在他们的长度,宽度,和厚度都正好适合拿来做擦窗布!

盘子:只要找个又轻,大小刚好可以把所有工具一起放在上面的就行了。

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

The Best Gift You Can Give Your Toddler

Saturday, May 12th, 2012 2:38 pm | By Stephanie Woo

This morning, Mackenzie was crying and attached to my leg, so to distract her, I took out a mandarin orange for her to peel. She immediately stopped crying, sat down on her chair and began peeling. It’s not easy task for a 17 month old. She was using so much force pulling the skin off the orange that the rest of her body was shaking. Being a mom, my heart hurt watching her work so hard, but the Montessorian in me knew that I shouldn’t interfere, so I bit my tongue and kept quiet. Bit by bit, she peeled the entire thing by herself. I said to her, with relief in my voice, “Now you can eat it!” Brooke came over. Mackenzie immediately handed her the peeled orange and looked up at the bag of unpeeled orange, holding her hand out for another one to peel.

Just like my mother, Ms. Lam, told me, children around 1 1/2 – 3 years old, are not working for a reward of any kind. The reward is the work itself. This is so important: THE REWARD IS THE WORK ITSELF. What’s the biggest gift you can give your toddler? Watch what they’re interested in doing, give it to them, then leave them alone to do it for as long as they like without interrupting them! Don’t talk to them, don’t say, “good job,” don’t try to help them or correct them, do not even look at them. It might be climbing up and down the stairs, or pouring water from one thing into another, or digging sand, or ripping up a piece of paper, or lying there singing the same song over and over, it doesn’t matter what it is. Just let them work. This is so simple, yet so hard, for a parent to do. But I assure you it is the best gift you can give them to prepare them for the future. Concentration, coordination, self-discipline – you cannot pay enough money to give your child these things down the line!

 

This video was taken the week before…

Brooke Peels a Boiled Egg

Saturday, May 5th, 2012 3:18 pm | By Stephanie Woo

Every Wednesdays, we have soy-sauce braised chicken wings and eggs for dinner. It’s a delicious Shanghainese specialty. On those days, we boil many eggs and the girls help peel them. Well, ‘helping’ implies they save me time, but actually, right now, it takes more time to have them ‘help. ‘ BUT I know investing time now will pay off later when they can do it by themselves! We’ve been practicing for several weeks and luckily for Mama, I was able to capture the first time Brooke (16 months) peels an egg all by herself! I even let her eat it at the end, which I don’t always do.

She’s already broken the shell by tapping the eggs on the table. Here she is starting out.

She peels off the first couple cracked eggshells at the top.

Notice how she uses her thumb to peel away the shell. This took many demonstrations on Mama’s part! It takes a lot of control to be able to use ENOUGH strength to peel the shell but not TOO much strength so your thumb goes through the egg white.

She brings the egg to her lap to work on it.

She’s so concentrated at this point that when I said, “Brooke, turn the egg around,” she actually jumped. Don’t ever interrupt your child when they are engaged or concentrating!

A big piece comes off. Can you see how she just throws the egg shells everywhere as she’s peeling? We gotta work on getting it in the bowl!

The last little bit is left.

She takes it off.

All done. A clean egg!

She breaks the egg in half. No egg yolk for me, thank you!

Brooke enjoys the fruits of her labor.

This activity took a while for the twins to get the hang of. Whether they are successful or not depends a lot on the egg, some eggs are easy to peel and the shell comes off in chunks; some eggshell sticks to the egg and are difficult to peel even for an adult. I find bigger eggs are easier to peel than smaller eggs. However, they don’t care whether they are ‘successful’ or not – they just want to do it!

Even better than peeling is snacking on these organic, omega-3 eggs afterwards!

Window Cleaning

Monday, April 30th, 2012 12:32 pm | By Stephanie Woo

Window cleaning is a great Montessori Practical Life activity perfect for the home. Here’s how we do it–

Here is Mackenzie with her spray bottle – just water inside.  What I like about this bottle is, though the part you squeeze is wide for little hands, it is quite loose, so they were able to get water out of the bottle early on by using both hands. We have another spray bottle that is smaller and tighter and took much longer for them to master.

She can finally ‘one-hand’ it!

She uses a squeegee to wipe the water off the window

She finishes by wiping it with a small soft cloth.

Window cleaning is very attractive to young children because they love anything that involves water. Add the cool tools (spray bottle, squeegee) that go with it, and it’s a true winner that they are happy to do over and over again!

I can’t say our windows are any cleaner since they’ve started doing this activity, but my favorite part is leaving the house and then looking in to find their little silhouettes busy wiping down the window. It’s amazing to watch them work with such intensity!

The right material is key for your toddler, make sure you consider the size, weight and feel of each item before purchasing it. Here’s where I bought mine:

Squeegee: This one from Montessori Services is narrow enough for small hands to hold and maneuver

Spray bottle: Make sure you test it out before buying it. I bought mine at a local bath and beauty store, but this one seems to have gotten good reviews

Cloth: I used these as burp cloths when they were babies. Now they are the perfect length, width and thickness for window wiping!

Tray: This tray is light to carry and sized perfectly to hold everything together.