Loading...Loading...
訂閱每週新聞

Posts Tagged ‘gross motor skills’

合作,帮助小孩自己做!

星期三, 十一月 14th, 2012 12:44 下午 | By Stephanie Woo

Daddy Helps Brooke

多数的成人都会帮小孩把事情做完,为什麽呢?因为帮她们做完,要比教她们如何做要容易的多。

就拿餐後清洁来距离说明,家长有两个选择:花30秒钟帮小孩把餐桌清洁好;或者让小孩自己清洁桌子。如果要小孩清洁,你要想想髒碗盘要放在哪里,小孩要如何擦桌子,清洁用的海绵要放在哪里,之後她们要如何清洁她们的手,这些细节都想清楚了,还要想想如何教给小孩,然後要不厌其烦的一次又一次的示範来强化。。。。。。

当然是成人自己清洁比较容易又省事,然而,这简单的选择会让你觉得就像是地鼠日,你就在扮演奴隶的角色。另外一个比较麻烦的方法,却能够给你的孩子有机会可以练习她们的动作技巧,发展注意细节的专注力,学习逻辑顺序,给小孩一种独立的感觉,让孩子可以开心,有安全感,又有自信。

所以,该怎麽样,你选择吧!

有些朋友很有勇气又有毅力,决定要选择第二条路,我倒是有个建议,餐後要教你的小孩清洁餐桌(不只是餐桌的清洁,是做所有事情的通则),要跟孩子一起合作,小孩通常是没有办法在一开始就全部自己来,那是可以预见的未来,但是对於小年龄的孩子来说,仍然是个挑战,所以我通常跟孩子说“我们一起来清洁吧!我把髒碗盘放在餐车里,你把勺子也收进餐车。”或者“我们一起来清洁,你把碗(我从桌上拿起碗)放进餐车。”然後我再把盘子递给她,然後是勺子等等。最主要的用意是希望小孩能够参与到清洁的过程中,即使最後你觉得多数的清洁是你做的,如果小孩有参与,那麽就是在正确的道路上了,一步一脚印,慢慢的小孩就全部都会了,某一些日子,小孩也会有退步的时候,有时候她们也会累,也会有情绪不好的时候,不要强迫小孩,不要因为小孩一时不愿意参与清洁就惩罚小孩,经常跟孩子说“我们一起来!”,即使那一天是你做完所有的清洁,明天,也许小孩的状况好一点了,她们就会多做一些!

对於小孩,我很能够同理,从妈妈怀抱里事事有人照顾的宝宝,转化成为一个拥有自我的“小”成人,是多麽大的变化!如果,你愿意跟小孩合作,在未来她们的和你的生活,都会更好!

我们安全经历了珊蒂飓风

星期五, 十一月 2nd, 2012 10:46 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

珊蒂飓风来了,虽然我们家没有停电,但是学校却关闭了三天,我们星期一这一天都没有离开家,到了星期二,风势减弱了,但是到处还是湿漉漉的,风还是吹着,温度也较低。那天早上,我正在清理厨房,抬头望去,看见B以及M都自己穿好鞋子外套,站在门边等着了,Mackenzie用力的拽门把,发出不开心的声音,她们真的很想出门!

于是,我们就整装出发了。

事实上,我喜欢让孩子们体验各种天气,每一天不论晴雨或下雪,我们都会出门散步两次,这是孩子们运动身体的好机会,研究也显示出运动较多的孩子在学校的表现较好,散步时,可以呼吸新鲜空气,并且有很多语言学习的机会!飓风之后,有好多的枝叶掉落,天上的云彩阴沈,水从建筑物的集水水管哗啦啦的流下来,所以有好多的学习机会。

幼儿其实挺有韧性的,因为外头到处是水,她们滑倒了几次,但她们马上又站起来,继续往前走,真希望有更多的孩子出来体验风暴以后的景象,不过今天早晨,我们家的孩子是唯一出来见识的。

星期四,学校又重新开放,真令人开心,我们度过了飓风天气!

不要硬逼宝宝站立

星期三, 八月 24th, 2011 8:42 上午 | By Stephanie Woo

宝宝都会很喜欢坐坐,站站。家长们也很喜欢把自己的宝宝放置在这种位置里,因爲他们会看起来很可爱,很开心。

可以从不同的视点看到周围的世界是爲什么宝宝这么喜欢站立的原因之一。不过如果他们还没准备好的话,我并不推荐家长们硬逼着自己的孩子站起来。理由有几个:

1. 如果硬逼着尚未准备好的宝宝站立的话,有可能会使到他们的腿变弓形,也会对他们正在发育的脊椎骨有害。坐姿也一样。如果您的宝宝坐着的时候会往前或往后倒下的话,就代表他们还不可以坐着,所以请不要让他们坐得太久。市场上有一些椅子(例如Bumbo椅)是为了帮助婴儿保持坐姿而设计的,不过请不要让您身体尚未准备好的孩子坐在这种椅子里。这会对他们的发育有害。

2. 握住孩子让他们站着,或者把他们放在一些会逼他们维持那种姿势的玩意儿对他们非常有害。靠着那些玩意儿成长的孩子们通常发育得比较慢,因爲他们根本没有动机学习怎么自己坐,站,爬等等宝宝需要学习的动作。更糟糕的是,他们学不到原因和结果的概念:“我这么做的话,就可以看到这样的东西!”现在变成他们不需要努力就可以从坐着或站着的观点看到周围的世界。这么一来,他们对自己身体和动作能力的了解将出现倾斜。

我们应该耐心地帮助他们了解动作的原因和结果。让他们自然地发展到能够自己坐着和站着的阶段。如果您有机会看到,他们终于能够自己做得到某某东西时所获得的喜乐和自信,相信您也会同意,这是我们能够献给他们的无价之宝之一。

Loading...Loading...
Discover the secret of childhood from 0-3 year old:

Posts Tagged ‘gross motor skills’

Collaborating With Your Child

Wednesday, November 14th, 2012 12:44 pm | By Stephanie Woo

Daddy Helps Brooke

Most adults just want to do things FOR the child. Why? It’s so much easier than teaching them to do it.

Let’s take cleaning up after meals for instance. You have two choices, you can clean the table for them, that takes about 30 seconds. OR you can have them do it. Then you have to figure out where to put the dirty dishes, how they will wipe the table, where to put the sponge, how they will clean their hands. And then once you’ve got the logistics down, you have to show them how to do it and then enforce it over and over and over and over and over…

One is clearly easier than the other. But one will make you feel like it’s Groundhog’s Day and you are playing the role of the slave, while the other gives your child the opportunity to practice motor skills, develop attention to detail, learn sequencing and give him a sense of independence that lead to happy, secure, confident children.

So you pick.

For those of you courageous and conscientious enough to take the second route, I have a piece of advice. When you are teaching your child to clean up after meals (this really applies to everything, but I’m just using this as an example), collaborate with them. Young children cannot do it all on their own all at once. They will be able to eventually, but it can be overwhelming at this age. So I’ll say, “Let’s clean up together. I’ll put the bowl and the plate  in the dishcart and you put the spoon in the dishcart.” OR “Let’s clean up together. You put this bowl (I’ll pick it up from the table) in the dishcart.” Then I’ll hand them the plate for them to put in the dishcart, the spoon, etc.  As long as they are doing something toward cleaning, that is what you’re looking for. Even if at the end, you feel you did most of the cleaning, if they participated, then you are on the right path. Gradually, over time, you can pull back and they can do more. There will be regression on bad days. If they are tired or cranky, don’t force it. Don’t punish them for not cleaning. Instead, use these words often, “Let’s do it together!” Even if you end up doing most of it that day, let it go. Tomorrow, when they are in a better place, they will do more of it.

I have a lot empathy for little ones. Transitioning from a baby in mama’s arms where everything is done to becoming your own little person – it’s a big transition. If you’re willing to collaborate with them, it’ll make their life –and yours – a little easier.

We Made It Through Hurricane Sandy

Friday, November 2nd, 2012 10:46 am | By Stephanie Woo

We were hit by Hurricane Sandy. We didn’t lose power or anything but school closed for three days. We were inside all day Monday. On Tuesday, the winds had died down somewhat but it was still pretty wet, windy and cold. That morning, I was cleaning in the kitchen when I looked over at the B and M – they had put on their jackets and shoes by themselves and were standing by the front door. Mackenzie was tugging on the door handle as hard as she can and whining. They were dying to get out.

So we did.

Actually, I love exposing the children to all sorts of weather. We go for walks twice a day – sun, rain or snow. It’s great for them to exercise their little bodies (studies show active children do better in school), breathe some fresh air and take advantage of the myriad language opportunities! Hurricane weather meant lots of fallen leaves and branches, overcast skies, big puddles and water dripping down pipes on the side of house. The whole thing turned out to be a great learning opportunity.

Toddlers can be so hardy. They slipped a few times because it was definitely wet and slippery out. But they stood up and kept on going. I wish there were more kids outside experiencing the after-effects of a storm, but we were the only ones out and about that morning.

Happily, school opened on Thursday. Phew, we made it!

Do not put your baby in a standing position

Wednesday, August 24th, 2011 8:42 am | By Stephanie Woo

Babies love to sit. They love to stand even more. Parents will put babies in those positions because they look adorable AND it seems to make the baby very happy.

Babies love to stand because they get to see the world from a completely different point of view. However, there are several reasons not to do this before they’re ready.

1. Babies who stand before they’re ready can be bow-legged. Putting them in the standing positions is also problematic for their developing spine. The same goes for sitting. When you put a baby in a sitting position, if they fall forwards or backwards, it means they are not ready to be sitting. Don’t let them stay in that position for long. Bumbo seats are designed to keep baby in sitting positions before they are ready, do not put your baby in one of those. It is detrimental to their development.

2. Holding your baby up to stand or putting them in contraptions that keep them in those positions, like the walkers, are very bad for your baby. Children who are put in those contraptions tend to move on to the next movement milestone (sitting, crawling, pulling up, walking) LATER because they don’t have the motivation to learn to do those things on their own. Even more importantly, they don’t develop the proper cause and effect, “When I do this, I get to see this.” Instead, they don’t need to do anything and they get to see the world from the point of a view of someone sitting or standing. It skews their understanding of their body and movement – which is something they spend so much time exploring and learning the first couple years of life.

So help them develop the proper cause and effect of movement.  Be patient with them. Allow them to reach the stage where they can pull up to stand on their own. The joy and confidence they develop when they can finally do it by themselves is a priceless gift you can give them.